Fresh OS9 Install won't boot.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by markjs, May 24, 2007.

1. markjs macrumors member

I am brand new to Mac and I have an ancient iMac, 333/32 with and additional 128 MB of Ram and an upgraded hard drive. The trouble is ever since I removed the hard drive that came with it (a useless 4.3 gigger), It will only boot with the OS9 CD in the drive, yet I see all the files on the drive since the install. Why is my hard drive not bootable and why is my iMac now booting to CD by default? HELP! (I ind myself so lost when I am a PC guru LOL)

2. California macrumors 68040

California

I forget how to do anything in OS 9. Did you format the new hd?

3. gr8tfly macrumors 603

gr8tfly

Was the harddrive partitioned from OS-9? If not, you might not have installed the OS-9 drivers. There's an option in OS-X Disk Utility to install them when you partition the drive.

If you just copied the System Folder to the new drive (rather than new install), you might need to "bless it". Usually just opening, then closing the folder will do it. (edit: missed title "Fresh install", so it's this is probably not the problem)

It might not be booting to the CD by default, it's just not finding any other valid System Folder to boot to. When you are booted to the CD, run the Startup Disk Control Panel to change the default boot drive.

If it is set to CD as default, and you do have a valid bootable HD, you can select the boot volume by holding down the Option key on startup. It will then present you with a button for each bootable volume it finds.

Hope some of this info helps.

4. markjs thread starter macrumors member

I am trying a new harddrive. This one had known bad sectors. I tried all your suggestions and no go, will report back when this is solved.

5. markjs thread starter macrumors member

This time fresh hard drive I know was good and same damn problem!

6. California macrumors 68040

California