Gonna sell everything to save for a new MBP -- but which one?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by iMpathetic, Apr 6, 2009.

1. iMpathetic macrumors 68030

iMpathetic

Hey everyone.

Long story short, I have this Hackintosh (in my sig). I love it and it's a very powerful computer, but the truth is I bought it on little more than a whim and when you're 15 and pretty much unable to work, that's a VERY big mistake.

What I really needed was a laptop to replace my beloved but beleaguered iBook G4.

Anyway, I think that what I'm going to do is sell everything, work all summer, and try to buy a MacBook Pro. I really want the 17" model because of its long battery life (verrry important for me), high-res screen (not really IMPORTANT, seeing as I'm not a designer, but still great) and size. Yes, size is a pro for me, strange as it may seem. I remember ever since I was 10 drooling over my dad's 17" Toshiba, one of the first laptops to imitate the Big Al.

The problem is, I don't know if I'm an idiot to spend a ton of time (and sweat and pain) trying to afford the creme de la creme at age 15, when I don't need it. I could pick a 15" up for $1000 less... :/

What do you guys think?

2. Ryuukumori macrumors 6502

Do you really wanna MBP? What would you really be doing on it to make such good use of it?

If I were you, since you're 15, I'd go for a little adventure.

I'm 18 and going to college next fall, and just going with the upper-end MB. I don't really need the power in a notebook. With some of that extra money (comparing to your case, close to $1200 difference between the 17" and the high end MB), that's GREAT for a Core i7 custom build desktop with a 22" monitor, backlit gaming keyboard, mouse, and logitec 5.1 surround sound!