GUIDE: HDMI Audio

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by andrejkw, Nov 30, 2012.

  1. STek ZeNIO, Mar 14, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2017

    STek ZeNIO macrumors newbie

    STek ZeNIO

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2017
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #551
    OP from Post#1 has helped many many ppl for many years to come. It works like a magic! with many Nvidia GPU series. As the OP stated that the script works as well for AMD graphic cards, I'm just wondering if there is a way to tweak HDMIAudio-1.1.kext for AMD Radeon RX480? I have tried it but ended up with no success so far. Perhaps some more inputs, anyone? Or is it even possible at this moment?
     
  2. Villageguy86 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #552
    Obligatory Thanks to the OP, its 2017 and still, thanks much.
     
  3. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #553
    Did you disable SIP?
     
  4. STek ZeNIO, Mar 30, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2017

    STek ZeNIO macrumors newbie

    STek ZeNIO

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2017
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #554
    For RX480, yes with SIP disabled all the way. Prob due to different audio codec in Polaris? No positive sign anyhwere thus far.

    Update (3/30/2017): After updated to 10.12.4 and HDMI Audio kext installed, I can see DP and HDMI on sound panel! There is audio passing thru now but the audio is quite distorted as if cheap tape recorder is being slow-played. No audio at all on DP without HDMI plugged in.
     
  5. H2SO4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #555
    How’d you mean, “”without HDMI plugged in”? An HDMI device plugged in and powered on?
     
  6. STek ZeNIO, Mar 31, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2017

    STek ZeNIO macrumors newbie

    STek ZeNIO

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2017
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #556
    Plugging HDMI in activates the audio pass-thru on both DP and HDMI. No audio passing thru only with DP. Perhaps HDMIAudio.kext script creator could make it possible with a lil tweak. If audio can fully pass thru in cMP bootcamp, in Sierra I don't see why not. Play the audio test sample here - the message to Apple on behalf of cMP owners ;) Can you tell what song is it? YouTube is the source, captured by smartphone.
     
  7. H2SO4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #557
    Have heard it before but don't know what it is, sounds kind of Black Eye Peas like.
     
  8. STek ZeNIO, Apr 1, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2017

    STek ZeNIO macrumors newbie

    STek ZeNIO

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2017
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #558
    You are absolutely right Bud! :) In fact the name of the song is what matters. Nowadays Apple seems not to come up to par for the audio/video content creators (far from lowest expectation).
     
  9. wk390107 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    #559
    Does anyone have an updated download link?

    nevermind found it in an earlier post.
     
  10. anshar666 macrumors newbie

    anshar666

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    #560
    I have a 2006 Mac Pro with a amd video card on OS X 10.11.6. I was getting no audio from hdmi. I installed the 1.1 kext. The sound is working now But no controls. I can turn the sound up and down with whatever app I'm using. Is there a way to get the control panel working right so I can use the normal keyboard up and down volumes. Thanks.
     
  11. DearthnVader macrumors regular

    DearthnVader

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Location:
    Red Springs, NC
    #561
    OS X does not support volume control of digital audio source, you must use the external device's volume control.
     
  12. anshar666 macrumors newbie

    anshar666

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    #562

    Ok I didn't know this. There's no way to get around this?

    Thanks for the info.
     
  13. DearthnVader macrumors regular

    DearthnVader

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Location:
    Red Springs, NC
    #563
    None that I know of, Windows supports Volume control over HDMI, but I think it's just adjusting the ?preamp?.

    Maxing out the preamp, when your TV or Receiver is at full volume is a great way to blow your speakers or monitors, likely why OS X doesn't support it.
     
  14. jelockwood macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    #564
    Apple take the point of view that the digital audio signal should be passed unaltered to the output device e.g. TV and for the output device which does the final conversion to analogue i.e. actual sound waves to also handle altering the volume. This is because in order to alter the volume the analogue wave form has to be altered. If it was done at the computer end then first the original digital signal would have to be converted to analogue, then altered, then converted back to digital, then sent to the TV and then converted to analogue again.

    There is a standard for allowing a device e.g. a Mac to tell the TV etc. to alter the volume by sending a signal down the HDMI cable, this is called CEC aka Consumer Electronics Control. This has to be implemented in hardware and unfortunately at the moment no Macs have built-in support for this. (The Apple TV4 does.)

    There is however a gadget which plugs in to both the USB port and HDMI port and 'inserts' CEC commands. It is controlled via software commands sent via the USB. You need software that knows to talk to this device. I believe Plex and KodiTV have built-in support but general Mac use does not.

    See https://www.pulse-eight.com/p/104/usb-hdmi-cec-adapter

    I have however just discovered a new program for the Mac which appears to add general volume control support and does work with the above device.

    See http://couch-slouch.com/compatibility/

    In theory the above hardware and software should allow the standard volume control on the Mac to control the volume on a TV.
     
  15. owbp macrumors 6502a

    owbp

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #565
    Just want to confirm that HDMIAudio with GTX980 (in my case MSI Gaming 4G) works only when using DP to HDMI adapter (cheap, generic one). With HDMI output it was no go - I've tested it in 10.11.6 and 10.12.4.
     
  16. jelockwood macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    #566
    Yes I experienced this on my GTX-680 as well, it seems common that Nvidia cards still do not do audio in OS X even with the Audio Kext included in this thread.

    Note: Audio does work in Windows via Boot Camp.

    My AMD Radeon HD 7950 does do audio via HDMI in OS X with this Audio Kext.
     
  17. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #567
    OSX doesn't support that natively, but can easily work around by installing sound flower.

    That's a very dated apps, but still working on 10.12.4. It can even control the volume of the optical output in MacOS.

    Just install sound flower, make it the default output. And inside sound flower, select the digital output you want.

    You can even setup multi output, and control all volume output at the same time by a single input under MacOS (e.g. Via the stock keyboard volume control key).
     
  18. cdf macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    #568
    I can confirm HDMI audio for a flashed GTX 750 Ti (on my cMP 5.1 with 10.12.5 and current web driver). Audio through DP is another story: the display is detected as an output device, but there is no sound. Has anybody every encountered a situation like this and managed to fix it?
     
  19. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #569
    SIP disabled?
     
  20. cdf macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    #570
    Enabled, but without kext. Same behavior if completely disabled.
     
  21. cdf, Jun 5, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2017

    cdf macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    #571
    Well, for some reason, after using the headphone jack of my cMP, and trying the audio through DP again, it starting working. I can now confirm both HDMI and DP audio on a flashed GTX 750 Ti!

    Edit: Actually, what makes DP audio work is sleeping the machine at least once after booting up or rebooting. I've reproduced this several times now.
     
  22. Squuiid macrumors 6502a

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #572
    Has anyone spotted any changes in High Sierra which would impact audio over HDMI/DP?
     
  23. dschmittler macrumors newbie

    dschmittler

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Location:
    Detroit
    #573
    just installed high sierra and no dp audio on 4870
     
  24. Thecoretechreview macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    #574
    I am on 10.12.6 and had lost audio over display port with a MVC gtx 980..... I had reset PRAM and needed to disable SIP again before it would work.

    Worked perfect now, well that is with apples clunky lack of volume control....
     
  25. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #575
    For anyone running the cMP like a half Hackintosh. I personally suggest leave SIP off. Which prevent lots of troubles.
    --- Post Merged, Jul 29, 2017 ---
    The stock Apple 4870? And are you with the 5,1?
     

Share This Page