GUIDE: HDMI Audio

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by andrejkw, Nov 30, 2012.

  1. v3rlon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Location:
    Earth (usually)
    #601
    Can confirm on a flashed 2009 Mac Pro running High Sierra up to date and AMD R9280.
    1. DP Audio does NOT work without the Kext.
    2. You MUST fully disable SIP to install kext. Partial disable did not cut it.
    3. With fully disabled SIP, it worked and I now get audio from LG 34UM95 over DP.

    Now to reenable SIP and play more
     
  2. H2SO4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #602
    Just to clarify. This is a thread about HDMI, but your answer is specific to display port yes?
    If so exactly which kext are you talking about please?
     
  3. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #603
    HDMI and DP audio using the same driver. As long as HDMI audio work, DP Audio should also work.
     
  4. v3rlon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Location:
    Earth (usually)
    #604
    I am using the one referenced in the very first post in this thread, then relinked later because the original download link was broken. HDMI Audio 1.1 is what enables Audio over DP also. Very technically, the same kext enables the same card and the same monitor to have audio over HDMI where it would before. I just have to use the other cable and the other input.

    This is covered in the thread. While I would normally let you slide on a TL;DR over a 25 page thread, you DID have to read through a few posts to find the new link. That should have been covered.
     
  5. H2SO4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #605
    Lovely, thanks.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 28, 2017 ---
    Yep, but as I said - just wanted to be clear.
     
  6. v3rlon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Location:
    Earth (usually)
    #606
    And the latest OS update reset it back to no DP/HDMI audio. This provided me with some excellent learning opportunities (I now know profanity in FOUR languages!).
    First, to disable SIP, be sure to do the command-R reboot, not the Option reboot (takes you to the web recovery = wrong answer)
    --rookie mistake, I know
    Second, you cannot shortcut the process.
    1. Reboot to recovery, terminal, disable SIP
    2. Reboot to regular, run HDMI Audio 1.1 as instructed
    3. Reboot to regular
    4. Reboot to terminal to ENABLE SIP - assuming you run with that.
    5. Reboot to regular.

    If anyone knows a shorter way, I'm glad to listen. I tried skipping step 3 and found that HDMI audio was only available with SIP Disabled. I had to redo the process from step 1 to get audio AND SIP working at the same time.

    Did that guy working on getting a signed version of HDMI audio ever make any progress?
     
  7. NC_Bulldog macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    #607
    I have a MacPro5,1 (flashed) running macOS 10.13.1 in which I replaced the original graphics card with the Mac version of the NVIDIA Quadro 4000 which has a DisplayPort output. I was disappointed to find it wasn't providing audio to my LG Ultrawide monitor.

    I found this thread and installed the HDMIAudio 1.1 kext. I'm now getting audio through the DP!

    Unfortunately it is only working with SIP disabled. Following an earlier poster's suggestion with rebooting after installing HDMIAudio 1.1 with SIP disabled, then re-enabling SIP, does not work for me. It fails to load the unsigned kext. Perhaps some security changes have been made recently by Apple to prevent the unsigned kext from loading?

    As soon as SIP is disabled, the kext is loaded and DP audio returns.

    I'll risk running this Mac with SIP disabled so I can have audio to the monitor.
     
  8. owbp macrumors 6502a

    owbp

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #608
    There is literary no risk, don't worry about it that much.
    You can, just as easily, harm your Mac with SIP enabled if you have habit clicking all the banners in your browser and installing every app you can find
    Just pay attention when and why are you filling out your sudo pass and all will be ok.

    On the topic,
    I don't have R9 280X anymore, so i didn't test it with 10.13.1, but with High Sierra GM I found out that if i enable HDMI Audio with GTX 680 and then put R9 instead i don't have to enable it again, i can turn on SIP and everything will still work. The same wasn't true if i put GTX 680 after R9 280X. In that case, i have to do it all again (disable SIP and reinstall kext).

    The only thing i didn't test is if it will be disabled after more than few reboots.
     
  9. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #609
    Pretty sure you can just disable the kext signing part, but not the whole SIP. I can’t remember the command because I never use it. But google is your friend.

    Anyway, I always keep SIP off. It won’t help anything for me, but just create more trouble. Also, there are plenty Mac users out there have a broken MacOS and they don’t even know what SIP is (never disabled).
     
  10. owbp macrumors 6502a

    owbp

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #610
    Yep, he can but i've never done it. As you were saying in some topic, cMP is becoming more and more like a Hackintosh, so you loose a lot of functions if SIP is enabled.

    Anyway, here are specific commands
    Screen Shot 2017-10-20 at 2.51.44 PM.png
     
  11. eyeangle macrumors regular

    eyeangle

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #611
    Can somebody help me out, I installed the kext file and followed the instructions carefully but I'm still not seeing HDMI audio in audio system preferences. My graphics card is a Radeon RX 560, running 10.13.2, Monitor PB278Q.
     
  12. H2SO4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #612
    So. All I did was.......
    Reboot into recovery and turn SIP off.
    Reboot to the desktop.
    Open the correct system folder and manually copy the kext there.
    Use Kext Utility to repair permissions.
    Reboot. Option click the volume icon in the side bar and it now says LG Ultrawide.
     
  13. slamjack, Jan 16, 2018
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2018

    slamjack macrumors newbie

    slamjack

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    #613
    I can confirm that there is no sound on RX580 Pulse 8gb (native model, plug & play High Sierra) in Mac Pro 5.1 through display port.
     
  14. suderman macrumors newbie

    suderman

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    #614
    This used to work for me, even on High Sierra. But it's been gone for a few months I can't figure out why. The strange thing is that the HDMIAudio kext appears to be loaded, but there is no HDMI device to select for output.

    I'm running 10.13.3 (SIP disabled) on a 4,1 -> 5,1 Mac Pro with a MacVidCards GTX 780 native driver.

    Does anyone have any idea what's going on?
    hdmiaudio-hs.png
     
  15. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #615
    So far, the only way to make it work in High Sierra with my Nvidia card is by using Clover. But I don't think it's a "solution" for most Mac user.

    https://forums.macrumors.com/thread...-output-protocol.2089181/page-2#post-25543504
     
  16. hnr2802 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #616
    Hi, noticed that 10.13.4 beta now correctly display Polaris GPU in the OS. I still haven't update to this version. Just wondering does it fix the HDMI audio or do still need to install the kext fix?
     
  17. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #617
    Apple intentionally block that. I don’t think they will “fix” it. The HDMIAudio was actually working natively during the 10.13.0 beta, but they then disable it on the later beta (until now).
     
  18. slamjack macrumors newbie

    slamjack

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
  19. haralds macrumors 6502a

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #619
    It looks like the HDMIAudio.kext stopped working in the latest 10.13.3 with supplemental. Loads with no error, but no results using a Gigabyte HD 7970.
    Bummer...
     
  20. ben4096 macrumors newbie

    ben4096

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    #620
    To me HDMIAudio is back with the 10.13.3 Supplemental Update.
    Just as for everyone here it was not working anymore since the 10.13.3
    I just install the Supplemental then the latest Nvidia driver 387.10.10.10.25.158, restart. And the miracle happened.
    Really I have no idea why or how...
    Sorry the proof screenshot is in french, I didn't bother to restart to change the langage. hdmiaudio.jpeg
     
  21. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #621
    It seems your screen capture shows that the HDMIAudio 1.1 extension is not loaded. I can see that the HDMI audio is working, but I doubt if solely due to that particular driver.
     
  22. ben4096 macrumors newbie

    ben4096

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    #622
    You’re right. That’s all weird since I didn’t install anything but the suplemental and the latest nvidia. Could it be the nvidia that now support audio output ?
     
  23. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #623
    I actually opened a ticket in Nvidia support. And this is their official reply.

    Screen Shot 2018-02-28 at 21.28.48.jpg

    So, the chance of the latest web driver activate HDMI audio is zero (at this moment).
     
  24. ben4096 macrumors newbie

    ben4096

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    #624
    Thanks for the info.
    I’ll try to understand what’s going on with my Config. If there’s anything you want me to check just let me know.
     
  25. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #625
    I really hope that you can figure out what's happening as well, but I have absolutely no idea how to start.

    Anyway, I would like to confirm your SIP still enabled at this moment.
     

Share This Page