H&R Block vs Turbo Tax

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by thatoneguy82, Feb 2, 2012.

  1. thatoneguy82 macrumors 68000

    thatoneguy82

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    Beach Cities, CA
    #1
    I've been using H&R Block for the past 2 years to file my taxes. This year, it has given me so many problems. My federal return keeps getting rejected, I have tried 3 times. I have checked and verified every single data and all is correct. Checked what can be e-file and what cannot but still rejected. But, I just don't know what H&R block actually sends. So, after the third time, I grew tired of it and tried TurboTax online. I entered my exact same information that I entered into H&R Block the first time, no changes or omissions at all. The state was accepted first (never w/ H&R block) and then federal (never w/ H&R block). Both taxes were accepted within in 30 minutes of e-filing, whereas H&R block would be rejected around 4-6 hours.

    The error message is useless as I cannot understand it and I've googled everywhere I can and scoured the IRS website. "32-FD-10"

    Anyone else having rejection problems w/ H&R block?
     
  2. eternlgladiator macrumors 68000

    eternlgladiator

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    Twin Cities
    #2
    I've used HR block for a few years now and tried to help my fiancé with hers the other night and it wouldn't accept her education credit information no matter what we tried. I haven't had a chance to try my stuff yet but it wasn't exactly a good sign. I personally hate filing taxes and the system is so monotonous and full of loopholes that its hard to know if you're doing things right.
     
  3. thatoneguy82 thread starter macrumors 68000

    thatoneguy82

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    Beach Cities, CA
    #3
    This year H&R block made me wait almost a week to file due to an update that they were working on and also because their CA state return wasn't ready yet. But, none of that did me any good. I really don't know what happened this year. I'm just glad Amazon has a good return policy.
     
  4. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #4
    I used H&R Block without any problems but my tax return is pretty simple.
     
  5. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    I made the switch to H&R Block TaxCut a few years ago. Both it and Turbo Tax have quirks that have persisted for years, but I've always found workarounds for these minor bugs.

    I've never had trouble submitting a completed return. If it happens again I'd recommend talking to their customer service about the problem.
     
  6. thatoneguy82 thread starter macrumors 68000

    thatoneguy82

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    Beach Cities, CA
    #6
    For some reason H&R Block keeps sending forms that aren't suppose to be sent that doesn't allow my return to be accepted electronically, even if it has no data. I can't figure out how stop it from doing that, even if I delete. I really can't confirm if it didn't send it. I've tried doing my taxes from scratch twice and fill out information only applicable to me, but still the same results. However, TurboTax only sent the needed forms with the data. Both state & federal were accepted within 30 minutes.
     
  7. thatoneguy82 thread starter macrumors 68000

    thatoneguy82

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    Beach Cities, CA
    #7
    Quick question regarding the H&R Block tax software, the Deluxe version I believe. It came with a code that was good for 5 federal e-files. I used it one, well "three" times for each rejected return, but it wasn't really used at all since the taxes weren't accepted at all. I'm in the processing of returning it to Amazon, it let me create the label and paperwork to send and get a refund. Of course I would put the card back in there that contains the key code. I just find this interesting that it seems like Amazon doesn't have a policy regarding this. If I wanted to be bad, I could write down the code and make a copy of the disc and return it. Is there anyway for them to actually figure out if the code has been used?

    I did this since the TurboTax e-File Federal return is the same price of the H&R Block software, so just wanted to use that money on this one.
     
  8. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #8
    TT let's you efile a federal return free. For state there is a charge
     
  9. thatoneguy82 thread starter macrumors 68000

    thatoneguy82

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    Beach Cities, CA
    #9
    I believe that's for the 1040EZ. Mine are more complicated. Also, I just checked the turbo tax website and I don't see a free e-file for federal, unless i missed it.
     
  10. wonderspark macrumors 68030

    wonderspark

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #10
    I used Kiplinger/H&R for a decade, and then last year tried TurboTax for the first time. I thought they were equally good, and had no problems itemizing with either brand. I'll do TurboTax again this year, just because I used it last year. It's nice to import last year's data, so it looks like I'll use it for the next several years for no reason other than that.
     
  11. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #11
    I use Turbo Tax for years and I'm happy with them. I'm not married to them, if they tried to charge me for any subsequent returns like they did before, I'd not use them.
     
  12. malman89 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Location:
    Michigan
    #12
    I was really bored and interested in the two, so I used both (though have yet to file) the other night. I've only used H&R Block for the previous 3 years for my college work study income taxes (hey, one year I got $9,000 -- not bad).

    I tried the "Deluxe" TurboTax - with a whopping $39.95 federal fee and state not free. The detail was impressive to the point of almost annoying, but at the time I felt it was great because it was making sure I didn't miss a thing.

    Except my taxes are still relatively simple. Now I'm no one's dependent and can capitalize on my own tuition/loan interest deductions and I had a pretty hefty amount of medical bills (but just under the amount to start getting deductions), so I figured maybe go with the more detail.

    Did the simplest, basic H&R Block free federal filing. Same refund result, just a good deal less detail. So much less I almost felt bad about the lack of detail in comparison. Maybe if I get really bored, I'd compare the free H&R Block federal filing to the free TurboTax Federal :p I've got to wait/look into my 2011 1098-T anyway.
     
  13. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #13
    That's the issue, without itemizing and finding deductions, any product will work nearly the same. Heck before I had to itemize, I did it by hand for free.
     
  14. ejb190 macrumors 65816

    ejb190

    #14
    I have used TaxAct Online for a number of years and have been really happy with it. Not using it this year - my wife started a business, so I'm working with an accountant. The LLC stuff is a bit beyond me.

    TaxAct was comprehensive to the point of being annoying, to paraphrase malman89. But I have never had any problems with it, it worked well, and it's another option aside from Turbo Tax and H&R Block.
     
  15. acidfast7 macrumors 65816

    acidfast7

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Location:
    EU
    #15
    I've found that most software is useless as I earned more than the allow Foreign Income Exclusion Limit and need to file Form 1116 (in addition to the standard form, 2555). Actually, I'm very tempted to renounce the US citizenship so I don't have to pay taxes both abroad and home and claim ancestry over here.
     
  16. thatoneguy82 thread starter macrumors 68000

    thatoneguy82

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    Beach Cities, CA
    #16
    Seems like the consensus is that H&R Block and TurboTax is pretty much the same. I just don't know why my Federal tax was rejected three times and my State was never sent because of this. I looked over the data, started from scratch, etc. When I tried TurboTax and entered the same information as I did to H&R Block with no changes at all, it was accepted. I'm no longer confident to use H&R because of this. I do several of my friend's taxes for a favor and find it fun sometimes when I see the refund numbers go up. Of course, I only do it if they have simple taxes with just a W2 and no other income. I'm scared that if I use H&R for theirs, albeit simple, it will be rejected like mine was. I don't want to re-enter theirs twice to TurboTax.
     
  17. ss06470 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    #17
    Turbotax unfixable

    When I tried to import 2010 info into 2011 Turbotax totally screwed up. Data got entered into the 2011 return. Spent 3 hours with their support person. He was nice but couldn't fix it. He escalated it to the next level, said they'd get back to me. They didn't so I contacted them and there was no record of my problem. So worked with someone else who also escalated and after a week they didn't get back to me. When I called they could find my records but no one had worked on the problem. Got escalated to a supervisor who simply told me he had no solution and not to import from 2010. I'l be trying H&R Blcok
     
  18. truelies macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    #18
    Mine's also got rejected. I used H&R block for four years, this is the first time. It says " wait an update of form until first week of March, then resubmit" on reject report. Let's see if they can fix sth.
     
  19. puma1552 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    #19
    i fill out a paper 1040. got used to doin them by hand when i lived abroad and found it to be really easy even with a complicated return.

    TT, which i used to use, can take its $65 per year and stick it where the sun dont shine. If your return is simple, dont waste your money. Even if it's a bit complex the 1040 and any schedules have cery explicit instructions.
     
  20. jdechko macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    #20
    Last year I used TurboTax online to do my taxes. I started with them this year and got to the point where they wanted $60 or $70 (my wife started a direct sales business in 2012). So I copied all of the info down from the Turbo Tax forms and I went to Free Fillable Forms (linked from the IRS website) and submitted my taxes that way. Essentially it's the same as a paper/ pdf form.
     
  21. pimentoLoaf macrumors 68000

    pimentoLoaf

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Location:
    The SimCity Deli
    #21
    Nice thing about TurboTax is that, if something really is wonky compared to what you put into it, for a nominal fee an accountant with some firm will represent your return (protecting Intuit & you) when the IRS wants an audit.

    I've used TT for years, mostly because of using Quicken since it was invented on an Apple IIe & IBM PC (but that's because my brother was one of the original programmers -- employee #4 -- and I got a copy for free. Talk about locking-in a customer!) and the fact Quicken seamlessly shoves data into TT (because it's made by the same people). I tried H&R one year, but printed out the forms for mail in. No difficulties except it didn't have the TT interface.

    I always print-out what the programs generate, to see what's going on. If I can't figure it out, I can usually figure things out by asking around. Have yet to call an accountant, but of late with the new laws (especially involving investments), it's in the back of my mind to do so.
     
  22. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #22
    TurboTax is free for the first year you use them if you are filing a 1040EZ. However, if you are doing something that requires more than the 1040EZ, obviously there will be a charge. The 2nd year and after there will also be a charge of $39.99

    I know cause I use them all the time (3 years so far) and I have never had my filings for either state or federal be rejected.
     
  23. jdechko macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    #23
    Actually, I'm pretty sure Form 1040EZ is always free on TurboTax.com, because it's definitely the easiest form to fill out. But as you add complexity, such as running your own business, the forms get more complex, and it would be about $75 to do it.
     
  24. malman89 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Location:
    Michigan
    #24
    ^ This. Every (major at least) online tax provider offers free Federal 1040EZ, but never free state (and state typically costs $29.95+).

    I went through a program with the State of Michigan who offered free federal 1040EZ and free state tax if you met one of three qualifiers (one being federal AGI). I qualified and got to use a version of Turbo Tax called Turbo Tax Freedom or whatever. It was the same thing, just a little less flashy (I actually had started a regular Turbo Tax and had to restart).

    I got the free federal, free Michigan, and then only had to pay $15 for my Illinois state return. I figured why bother doing that one by hand when I got the other two free.
     
  25. bradl macrumors 68040

    bradl

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #25
    For the past 5 years, I've gone with H&R Block's software, back when it was called TaxCut. Since I run a home-based business plus work, I've gone with that vs. taking them to a preparer who doesn't know what I'm talking about. H&R Block's platform has worked for me without any problems....

    Until now.

    Not that the software has any problems, but that the Home and Business versions of it are not made for Macs. They are PC Only. And since I just converted everything non-gaming (read: Flightsim) I have over to Mac, that isn't going to fly (pun intended). So this year, I'm going TurboTax Home and Business. Theirs is made for OS X, while their PC-only variant is the Corporate version, which I don't need H&R Block doesn't have any intention to make a Mac-compatible version of their Home+Business package, so I'm SOL there.

    My tradeoffs:
    • OS Compatibility. Already mentioned. Want H&R Block? use it on a PC or a VM running Windows.
    • I give up the ability to talk to a certified tax preparer. There is a forum for TurboTax users.
    • as well as all of the previous years files now being incompatible*. H&R Block, I believe can read TurboTax files, but not vice versa.
    • Price. TurboTax Home+Business was $10 cheaper than H&R Block Home+Business.

    Other than that, it appears YMMV. I'm starting my taxes this week, so I'll see what else there may be that is different.

    BL.

    * If you save your tax return as PDF, TurboTax can import in your previous year's tax info, without having to input anything manually.
     

Share This Page