Handoff working?

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by funkdoc23, Jun 2, 2014.

  1. funkdoc23 macrumors regular

    funkdoc23

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #1
    Has anyone gotten the handoff new feature to work so far?
     
  2. hurleyint1386 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #2
    Looking to find this out. I'm running 10.10 and iOS 8 and I'm not sure how to hand-off. Couldn't find specific release notes about what isn't in it yet
     
  3. NotAdvisable macrumors regular

    NotAdvisable

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    #3
    Have you guys updated your iWork suit to the betas? (Assuming your trying to use Handoff with iWork)
    Also, is there a possibility it's only for Bluetooth LE?
     
  4. Magnum Opus macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    #4
    It's working fine between my iPhone and iPad, but I can't quite manage it with my MacBook
     
  5. bansh macrumors member

    bansh

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Location:
    Frankfurt
    #5
    Strange.. i can t get it to work. Have you done anything special? Tried it with BT and without...
     
  6. Magnum Opus macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    #6
    Not that I'm aware of.. which apps did you try? I tried Mail and Safari, both of those worked.
     
  7. bansh macrumors member

    bansh

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Location:
    Frankfurt
    #7
    Tried Safari and Messages for now.. but nothing. Both Devices have the same iCloud Account. I just opened Safari on my iPad, then switched to my iphone but Safari does show nothing at all.
     
  8. Magnum Opus macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    #8
    Make sure you also load a webpage, it only shows up when you've loaded a webpage.

    Both of my devices have bluetooth on, and are connected to the same WiFi network, so check that too.
     
  9. bansh macrumors member

    bansh

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Location:
    Frankfurt
    #9
    The icon on my lockscreen just shows the app symbol for the appstore. Weird :)
     
  10. bolen macrumors 6502

    bolen

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #10
    Unfortunately I imagine that it's only for Macs with Bluetooth LE (4.0).. how else would they do it? Too bad for me as the owner of two non-BTLE-Macs.. Time to upgrade? :eek::apple:
     
  11. Antoni Nygaard macrumors 6502a

    Antoni Nygaard

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Location:
    Denmark
    #11
    I thought it worked over Wifi, i mean they said if you left it in another room it will still work. i long is the range on bluetooth?
     
  12. NotAdvisable macrumors regular

    NotAdvisable

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    #12
    For those having issues: double check Handoff is enabled!

    Settings > General > "Allow Handoff..."

    [​IMG]
     
  13. bansh macrumors member

    bansh

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Location:
    Frankfurt
  14. Adam's Apple macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    #14
    Having the same issue I have it enabled on my 2012 iMac but nothing is showing up all devices using the same iCloud account and on their same wireless has anyone got this working?
     
  15. Afbar1114 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
  16. NotAdvisable macrumors regular

    NotAdvisable

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    #16
    This is really puzzling; all I had to do was enable the option in Settings > General and it worked immediately afterwards.

    Given, all my devices are compatible with Bluetooth LE.
     
  17. Afbar1114, Jun 3, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2014

    Afbar1114 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    #17
    I am thinking thats the key here is bluetooth LE. I am going to see if it works on my iPad rMini

    ETA: But i can't get it to work on my iPad either. I am starting to wonder if there are different beta versions out there.
     
  18. oftheheavens, Jun 3, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2014

    oftheheavens macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    cherry point
    #18
    mine doesn't even connect via bluetooth

    EDIT: left it alone for a while and now magically bluetooth is connected.

    EDIT2: spoke to soon
     
  19. SuperRob macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    #19
    Every supported Mac and/or iOS device has Bluetooth LE. And yes, that's what Handoff is using.
     
  20. VolceOntra macrumors 6502

    VolceOntra

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    #20

    So would this work with USB Bluetooth LE dongles? Hmm....anyone has one that can try it?
     
  21. Afbar1114 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    #21

    It doesn't work between my iPad and iPhone so I'm not sure that's it yet.
     
  22. SuperRob macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    #22
    What would be the point of that? The OS can only be loaded on supported devices (unless you're talking about a hackintosh setup), and those supported devices wouldn't need a dongle.

    Yes, it is. It's a beta, it'll be buggy for a bit.
     
  23. kakemann macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    #23
    Handoff is enabled on my mac. But I can't get it to work. I tried to compose a new email on my iPhone and see if i could pick it up on my mac, as demonstrated, but nope.

    iPhone 5 running iOS 8 and MBPr running OS X 10.10 ofc.
     
  24. VolceOntra macrumors 6502

    VolceOntra

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    #24
    Well if it requires Bluetooth LE, then there are a lot of Macs that support 10.10 but don't have Bluetooth LE.
     
  25. eagandale4114 macrumors 65816

    eagandale4114

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    #25
    I don't think handoff is fully ready on Yosemite yet.
     

Share This Page