Handoff.....

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by gpspad, Sep 17, 2014.

  1. gpspad macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    #1
    Got ios8 handoff to work, really cool.

    Does this only work with apple apps?

    Is there a list of apps it works with?
     
  2. Brian Y macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    #3
    Right now, it's just Apple's apps.

    There is an API which has to be used on both iOS and Mac apps.
     
  3. Chaztrip macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Location:
    West Des Moines
    #4
    Can you use it between just iphone and iPad? I can't seem to get it to do anything. Have it all enabled.
     
  4. djmodifyd macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    #5
    This is what I did to get it working. Make sure Bluetooth is turned on all devices. Make sure all devices are signed into the same iCloud account and then turn off and turn back on your devices.

    Right now this only works between iOS devices and less you have the developer release of the new OS X for Mac. The phone call handoff setting he is under face time settings on the iPad I had to turn off and turn back on FaceTime for the setting to appear
     
  5. eoblaed macrumors 65816

    eoblaed

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    #6
    I've done all that. Still doesn't work between my 5S and my iPad Air.

    My 5S can't seem to get the Health App kick started either. Going to do a restore from backup and see if that helps.
     
  6. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #7
    Yes, you can handoff webpages, pictures and email etc. (although I can't get handing off email to work). When I am in an email on the phone, I don't see any option to handoff to the iPad Air. If I press on the email nothing happens. I don't see any icon at the bottom left corner of the screen. I don't see any share icon etc.
     
  7. Chaztrip macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Location:
    West Des Moines
    #8
    Ok 2 cool things. I got it working and the first time I post on this forum someone from my city answers my post. LOL.
     
  8. lukin99 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
  9. HoosBruce macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    #10
    So it's a no go for the Public beta of Yosemite? That would explain a lot haha
     
  10. noty macrumors member

    noty

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    #11
    I don't even see the handoff option on my iPad 3. I have it enabled on my iPhone 5. How do I get it working on my iPad 3?
     
  11. djmodifyd macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    #12
    Ha!

    Glad you got it working. Just realized my location is a bit old, Des moines is a couple cities ago....Im up north now!
     
  12. Mtmspa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    #13
    Same here, no option for handoff on my iPad 3.
     
  13. bizzy045 macrumors 6502

    bizzy045

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    #14
    i can get handoff to work in all the apps they list except keynote, numbers, and pages..anyone able to get these to work?
     
  14. zackattack784 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    #15
    I got handoff to work but it doesn't really work with the messages app. The option appears to handoff but the text I was composing on one device doesn't appear on the other device. It just brings up the person I was messaging but it's blank. Anyone else experiencing this?
     
  15. Mtmspa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    #16
    Are any of you that have it working using a iPad 3?
     
  16. AppleChic76 macrumors 6502

    AppleChic76

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    #17
    Ohhhhhhh. Because I was sure wondering why it's not working. LOL
     
  17. bizzy045 macrumors 6502

    bizzy045

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    #18
    I am just using it between my iPad air and my 5s. Still can't get any of the iWork apps to work (keynote, numbers, pages)..getting pretty frustrating. if anyone has got these apps to work using handoff, please let me know. thanks.
     
  18. zackattack784 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    #19
    Just tried with pages. No go :(.
     
  19. Mtmspa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    #20
    So you have a handoff option on the Air?
     
  20. zackattack784 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    #21
    Yes. The iPad Air has it.
     
  21. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #22
    That feature has been turned off during beta testing, and will be enabled with a future iOS 8 release in October. That is from Apple and the release notes for Yosemite DP 8.
     
  22. Mtmspa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    #23
    sucks if the 3 doesn't support it.

    ----------

    Supposed to be able to do ipad and iphone handoff now.
     
  23. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #24
    The feature was previously working. Apple turned it off for all betas. I used it a little in a previous DP build and it worked very well.
     
  24. bizzy045 macrumors 6502

    bizzy045

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    #25
    Yes.
     

Share This Page