Hard Drive brands in New Mac Pros?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by kirkbross, Jan 22, 2008.

  1. kirkbross macrumors 6502a

    kirkbross

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #1
    Does anyone know what exact hard drive (brand / models) are shipping with the new Penryn Mac Pros?

    Also, is it possible two people could end up with two different brands of hard drive depending on the manufacture date of the MP?
     
  2. rockinrocker macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
  3. stukey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    #3
    the standard 320gb drive that shipped here in the UK with my quad core mac shows in the system profiler as:

    wdc wd3200AAJS-41VWA0

    I checked the Western digital website and wd3200AAJS shows up as a WD Caviar SE model.
     
  4. kirkbross thread starter macrumors 6502a

    kirkbross

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #4
    Awesome.
    Do you happen to know the part number (if it's visible, something like ST3320620AS). I'm trying to figure out if they have 8 or 16MB cache.
     
  5. fs454 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles / Boston
    #5
    wdc wd3200AAJS-41VWA0

    Same as the above poster who had WD.

    Maybe some of the sleep/wake/HDD speed issues are related to a certain brand?

    I'm having no problems with mine.
     
  6. kirkbross thread starter macrumors 6502a

    kirkbross

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6
    Also, did you upgrade or get a stock 320GB?
     
  7. sweedigel macrumors member

    sweedigel

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    france
  8. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #8
    Same Western Digital here. Only an 8MB cache. Surprised by that.
     
  9. Wild-Bill macrumors 68030

    Wild-Bill

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    bleep
    #9
    Apple's putting cheapo 8-meg cache drives in for the 320's, it seems. Not surprising at all though. I wonder if the 500 gigs they ship are also cheapo 8 meg cahce drives as well.

    Not really bummed about it, since the 320 mine will eventually ship with is going to be relegated to backup functions.
     
  10. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #10
    # 320GB Serial ATA 3Gb/s, 7200 rpm, 8MB cache
    # 500GB Serial ATA 3Gb/s, 7200 rpm, 16MB cache
    # 750GB Serial ATA 3Gb/s, 7200 rpm, 16MB cache
    # 1TB Serial ATA 3Gb/s, 7200 rpm, 32MB cache
    # 300GB Serial Attached SCSI 3Gb/s, 15,000 rpm, 16MB cache
     
  11. mrcandy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, AB Canada
    #11
    Mine is a 320GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 w/ 8MB cache.
     
  12. awad macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #12
    ST3500630AS P:

    Capacity: 465.76 GB
    Model: ST3500630AS P
    Revision: 3.BTH
    Serial Number: 9QG58GDR
    Native Command Queuing: Yes
    Queue Depth: 32
    Removable Media: No
    Detachable Drive: No
    BSD Name: disk0
    Bay Name: "Bay 1"
    Mac OS 9 Drivers: No
    Partition Map Type: GPT (GUID Partition Table)
    S.M.A.R.T. status: Verified
     
  13. BajaBurrito macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    #13
    For the curious, my new Mac Pro with the 1 TB drive upgrade option just arrived. The drive model is a Hitachi Deskstar 7K1000 (HDS721010KLA330).

    Looks like Apple doesn't want to leave any of the drive manufacturers out of the fun!
     
  14. benpatient macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    #14
    you mean the fun of selling off their old hard drives for a discount?

    yeah.

    nice to see what buying a "premium product" gets you.
     
  15. MacRoom macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #15
    I Suggest Ordering The Minimal and Pulling It Before Turning It On

    Then put in what you know and reinstall everything from the enclosed DVDs. I bought Four 1TB Seagate drives with 32MB caches at Fry's last weekend for only $270 each. Just save the 320 for when you resell it. Keep it virgin.
     
  16. schreck macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Location:
    New England
    #16
    Capacity: 465.76 GB
    Model: WDC WD5000AAKS-41YGA0

    Let's add another Western Digital.
     
  17. kirkbross thread starter macrumors 6502a

    kirkbross

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #17
    Is it possible to use the "restore" discs to install a full, fresh OS on a new drive without ever booting the stock drive? Seems like you would need to boot and do an install from the existing OS, if not only to get the DVD drive open.
     
  18. mward333 macrumors 6502a

    mward333

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    #18
    I've got four of the Seagate 1 TB drives in my Mac Pro too. Great advice from MacRoom--that's what I did too.
     
  19. aibo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Southern California
    #19
    I'm gonna let the slow 320GB tide me over until a new Raptor is released -- or at least until WD updates the Caviar with a 32MB cache. The Seagate drives with 32MB cache are actually slower than the 16MB WD Caviars from the reviews I've read.
     
  20. kirkbross thread starter macrumors 6502a

    kirkbross

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #20
    I just bought two 150GB Raptors- haven't got my new MP yet but I'm hoping they will rock.

    Is WD expected to release a new Raptor soon?
     
  21. musicforme macrumors member

    musicforme

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #21
    Thanks for posting this info. I prefer to add the same drive 1 TB model that Apple chooses for factory installs.
     
  22. darthraige macrumors 68000

    darthraige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Coruscant, but Boston will do.
    #22
    Mine came with a Western Digital in the first MacPro, and the second MacPro shipped with the following... An Intel drive?

    Edit - NEVERMIND, just found out it's a Seagate. :)

    Intel ESB2 AHCI:

    Vendor: Intel
    Product: ESB2 AHCI
    Speed: 3.0 Gigabit
    Description: AHCI Version 1.10 Supported

    ST3320820AS_P:

    Capacity: 298.09 GB
    Model: ST3320820AS_P
    Revision: 3.BQE
     
  23. Random Chaos macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #23
    Hold down mouse button to open the optical drive during boot.
     
  24. aibo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Southern California
    #24
    it was last updated in early 2006 so its due... especially since modern high-capacity SATA/300 7200rpm drives have begun to keep pace with it.
     
  25. CalfCanuck macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    #25
    So is my new MP.

    I have 2 x 1TB Barracuda 7200.11's arriving tomorrow.
     

Share This Page