iPad Pro Has anyone tried using Ethernet on iPad Pro?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by richwoodrocket, May 25, 2016.

  1. ecschwarz macrumors 65816

    ecschwarz

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    #26
    Yep - after doing that an Ethernet item appears in Settings.
     
  2. USAFA2008 Suspended

    USAFA2008

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    #27
    Thanks I will be sure to pick up the items the next time I am near an Apple Store.
     
  3. sparksd macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Location:
    Seattle WA
    #28
    I bought a RAVPower FileHub for providing access to a connected USB HDD but it also has an Ethernet port that can be used to create a local wireless network when only Ethernet is available. I've had more than a few instances traveling where this has saved me.
     
  4. ecschwarz macrumors 65816

    ecschwarz

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    #29
    Keep in mind that if you're using just about any ethernet adapter other than that Belkin one, most will need the USB Camera Kit and power connected, as iOS devices don't seem to provide enough power for most USB ethernet adapters on their own (as mentioned earlier in this thread).
     
  5. USAFA2008 Suspended

    USAFA2008

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    #30
    I must have missed that. The Lightning to USB 3 Camera Adapter should work with the Apple USB Ethernet Adapter correct?
     
  6. ecschwarz macrumors 65816

    ecschwarz

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    #31
    It should work, although you'll need to connect the iPad's power adapter (Lightning cable) to the Lightning to USB 3 Camera Adapter's female port. Unless something has changed, other than the Belkin USB 2 (10/100) Ethernet adapter, most other Ethernet adapters need more power than the iPad's Lightning port can provide. Apple uses their Camera Adapters and Ethernet Adapters with power in their stores (pic further up the thread):

     
  7. USAFA2008 Suspended

    USAFA2008

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    #32
    Thanks I missed the lightening port on the Lightning to USB 3 Camera Adapter. I saw the picture but didn't realize the thumbnail would enlarge.
    Now it makes sense thanks!
    Can you do an iCloud backup or restore with the Ethernet Cable?
     
  8. RumorConsumer macrumors 6502a

    RumorConsumer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    #33
    Yeah for sure. those processes arent aware of what your internet medium is.
     
  9. Perene macrumors 6502a

    Perene

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Location:
    Netherealm
    #34
    I noticed looking at these sources:

    http://createhealthyhomes.com/safercomputers.php



    That nowadays we just need these two devices:

    1) Lightning to USB 3 Camera Adapter

    https://www.apple.com/shop/product/...271c92caa3011df43cea64632370b15a7efa6a1760152

    2) Apple USB Ethernet Adapter

    https://www.apple.com/shop/product/...271c92caa3011df43cea64632370b15a7efa6a1760152

    In order to make that possible.

    So we may turn AIRPLANE MODE on and disable the wi-fi/bluetooth, then an ethernet cable is attached to the Apple USB Ethernet Adapter, with the latter plugged into the Lightning to USB 3 Camera Adapter.

    Next thing we need to do is to connect a 2nd cable into the Lightning to USB 3 Camera Adapter, and then this cable goes to the Apple 12W USB Power Adapter

    I wonder if we can also connect the fast charger (29W) into the Lightning to USB 3 Camera Adapter...

    I have 30 m (or 98 ft) of CAT-6 cable available here... so I can easily use this, plus another extension to take the USB Power Adapter far away from the wall socket.

    Is this going to work with the IPP 10.5 and iOS 10.3.2? What about the last iOS 11? I haven't left iOS 10 in my IPP 10.5, only in the 9.7 which I already sold to another person.
     
  10. Richdmoore macrumors 68000

    Richdmoore

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Location:
    Troutdale, OR
    #35
    One small thing I discovered on iOS 10 (I think, might have been iOS 9) is that WiFi calling on other devices is disabled in airplane mode. I could not get my iPad to ring or make calls, even with the Ethernet connected unless I turned off airplane mode.

    Even with airplane mode off, all the data went through the Ethernet when plugged in, so there is no need for the extra step to disable cell/WiFi except for testing purposes.

    I have not restested with the latest iOS version.
     
  11. darkarn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Location:
    Singapore
    #36
    It will work with iOS 11, am using such a setup now. I used an USB PD powerbank with this and managed to get it to charge faster than normal adapters
     
  12. Perene macrumors 6502a

    Perene

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Location:
    Netherealm
    #37
    I need some help deciding what to buy.

    First of all, I only have an iPAD Pro 10.5. It came with a 12W adapter, then I bought these two, for fast charge:

    https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1128929-REG/apple_mj262ll_a_29w_usb_c_power_adapter.html

    https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1241871-REG/apple_mkq42am_a_lightning_to_usb_type_c.html

    The thing is:

    - My local Apple Store only sells this:

    https://www.apple.com/br/shop/product/MC359BZ/B/fonte-de-alimentação-usb-de-10w-para-ipad-apple?afid=p238|sIlWP6DwL-dc_mtid_1870765e38482_pcrid_43074644450_&cid=aos-br-kwgo-pla-btb--slid--product-MC359BZ/B-BR

    Which is the 10W version... so I was thinking of buying this and another USB Type-C Male Cable (6.6' / 2 m):

    https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1241871-REG/apple_mkq42am_a_lightning_to_usb_type_c.html

    Will this cable work with the 10W charger?

    2) And: can I use both the 12W and 29W chargers with the Lightning to USB 3 Camera Adapter???????

    Besides all that I only have one more question:

    - My router is gigabit. Since my PC does not have wi-fi capabilities it has to use an ethernet cable. Currently my ISP modem is also connected to this Archer C8 wi-fi router.

    And the ethernet cable from the PC is directly connected to the Archer.

    When I try to upload files from the PC to the iPAD (the latter using wi-fi) I get max 60 MB/s speeds. Gigabit, of course.

    If I connect the PC into the LAN port from the ISP modem I only get 12 MB/s, since the modem is not gigabit.

    Fair enough... the problem is the following:

    - If I use these adapters to only connect the iPAD using ethernet cable I will be forced to connect this cable into the ISP modem, not the Archer. That's because the router will be moved to another location from my house. (My bedroom will only have the modem)

    So that means I'll have to use wi-fi when I want to receive things at 60 MB/s? If that's what I'll end up having to do I am fine.

    Please check this thread to understand how both the modem and router are configured:
    https://forums.macrumors.com/thread...t-speeds-sharing-files.2106186/#post-25824377

    In theory the PC (using a CAT-6 ethernet cable) will attempt to transfer files (upload them) to the iPAD at 60 MB/s, but the iPAD using another CAT-6 cable (this time connected to the modem, not the Archer) will not be able to receive at 60 MB/s, but 12 instead.

    This is what I think it's going to happen.
     
  13. darkarn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Location:
    Singapore
    #38
    1. The cables will work. To be exact, they are the only cables in the market that will work.

    2. The 10W, 12W, 29W chargers will work with the Lightning to USB 3 adapter but only the 29W will fast charge. This means that over time, the 29W charger will keep it fully charged while the rest won't

    3. Sending things to and back your PC to your iPad is dependent on the quality of your local network. So the best way is to find a way to get both the PC and iPad to connect to the Archer with wire. If not, stick with your usual method (i.e. use the iPad wirelessly with the Archer)

    4. Note that for connecting to the Internet, your ISP modem is the bottleneck. If your Internet plan is more than 100 Mbps up or down, see if you can get a Gigabit modem. Non-Gigabit modems are a rarity nowadays.
     
  14. Perene macrumors 6502a

    Perene

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Location:
    Netherealm
    #39
    I found a VDSL2 modem, it will replace my current one that I measured and it is limited to 12 MB/s upload speeds inside my network, even with CAT-6 Ethernet cables, instead of 60 MB/s I get with the Archer C8. This is the one:

    https://www.tp-link.com/uk/products/details/Archer-VR900.html

    However I still have a few questions... is it true FaceTime and 2 or 3 Apple apps don't work if airplane mode is active and we are using the Ethernet cable? I heard of this bug, no idea if Apple have fixed over time...

    I also wonder if we can just buy this product
    https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1241871-REG/apple_mkq42am_a_lightning_to_usb_type_c.html

    And use it in any power adapter, like the 12W / 10W. Or if it's just going to work with the 29W one.

    Can you also tell if that annoying pop up from iOS (that can't be disabled, by the way) warning us that we need to disable airplane mode or use wifi is still present when we open certain apps?

    For example, this one always triggers this pop up when I open it https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/nplayer-lite/id1078835991?mt=8
     
  15. darkarn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Location:
    Singapore
    #40
    1. Yes, that Archer VR900 does have Gigabit ports, meaning that if you connect both the PC and iPad with cables to the router, it should give you similar or better speed than your Archer C8.

    2. I have not heard of that bug, sorry.

    3. As mentioned earlier, the Apple Lightning to USB Type C cable will work with any power adapter as long you can plug it into the adapter (i.e. the adapter must have a female USB C). The 29W adapter (https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1128929-REG/apple_mj262ll_a_29w_usb_c_power_adapter.html) will give fast charging while the others you mentioned won't (and don't have female USB C port if I am not wrong)

    4. I have not seen that pop up either, sorry.
     
  16. Richdmoore macrumors 68000

    Richdmoore

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Location:
    Troutdale, OR
    #41
    I would recommend leaving airplane mode off when using Ethernet, it will route the internet through the Ethernet rather than cell/WiFi either way in my testing.
     
  17. Perene, Apr 10, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2018

    Perene macrumors 6502a

    Perene

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Location:
    Netherealm
    #42
    Not a good idea if the goal is to reduce EMF radiation.

    Anyway, I received both adapters today. My device: iPAD Pro 10.5, using iOS 10.3.2. And I also have long CAT-6 cables and cord extensions for the USB power adapters.

    The products:

    USB Ethernet Adapter

    Lightning to USB 3 Camera Adapter

    A few more images...

    https://imgur.com/a/st2uG

    Some things I noticed:

    - If Airplane Mode is active we can't use FaceTime. Even with Ethernet working. This is a bug that I have no idea if has been fixed by Apple.

    - Even with Ethernet working we ALWAYS see the annoying warning that we need to turn wi-fi on, and then we need to hit OK for that dreadful pop-up to vanish. After we start using the app with the internet then it stops displaying that.

    And why do I say this is awful? Because if I want to use AIRPLANE MODE I don't need to see this warning everytime I open an app that uses the internet or let that same app inactive for a while and then resume using. I think that shows how lazy Apple is, it's incredible how a company that achieved so much can let something so stupid still there. That reminds me of this other issue that took years for them to solve:
    https://mashable.com/2017/06/08/ios-11-update-volume-change/

    For the record: I am not against the existence of that warning. What I don't understand is why we can't turn it off for good.

    - As expected we can't use these two without charging the Lightning to USB 3 Camera Adapter with the 12W or 29W USB Power Adapter (haven't tested the old 10W model, my IPP 10.5 only came with the 12W). Both 12 and 29W work.

    If we try to use without the USB Power Adapter it won't work and say "there's not enough power".

    What I didn't expect was that the iPAD's battery is being charged while we use this ethernet connection. You can see this to be the case in that last picture from IMGUR.

    - Also in the IMGUR link I uploaded proof that we can't get past 12 MB/s even if we use CAT-6 ethernet cables. 12 MB/s is what I always get (at best) while using, for example, a device that isn't gigabit. When we use one that has this feature then (in my case) the max upload speed is 60 MB/s.

    What I did was to connect a CAT-6 cable to my wi-fi router, Archer C8, which is gigabit. Then this cable to the Apple adapter. My PC was also using another CAT-6 cable. Didn't work.

    So that means if I want to upload at gigabit speeds in my own network (or stream, for example) I can't rely on this ethernet connection. And will need to use wi-fi. :oops:

    Unless someone here can recommend me another USB adapter better than this one.

    (I know we can deduce this from the USB adapter specs. Still it's not mentioned by anyone with emphasis.
     
  18. darkarn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Location:
    Singapore
    #43
    Erm, that Apple USB Ethernet adapter is 10/100. See if you can return it.

    To get Gigabit speeds, get the Anker Ethernet adapter that some of us are using.
     
  19. Perene, Apr 13, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2018

    Perene macrumors 6502a

    Perene

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Location:
    Netherealm
    #44
    That's interesting: I tried both Skype and Google Hangouts (apps for the iPAD). Both were only able to RECEIVE calls (I mean, warn us that someone is calling) when wi-fi was enabled.

    If I turn AIRPLANE MODE on and disable wi-fi (for this idea concerning EMF radiation) none of these apps will warn me there's a call: FaceTime, Skype or Hangouts.

    However Skype and Hangouts are perfectly able to give (send) a call to another person that use those services, and establish a connection. FaceTime is also unable to do this, so it's 100% useless with this idea.

    Do any of you know why with Airplane mode ON (and wi-fi disabled) we cannot receive calls? That doesn't make any sense because the internet is still working, through the Ethernet cable.

    Are you sure this is going to work with my IPP 10.5 using iOS 10.3.2? I am asking because some users were adamant that unless we get original Apple adapters there's no guarantee. I was told even Amazon isn't reliable for this:

    https://9to5mac.com/2016/10/19/amazon-fake-apple-chargers-cables/

    P.S. Found in Amazon:
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00NOP70EC/ref=ask_ql_qh_dp_hza

    I'll give it a try next time I order something from there.
     
  20. darkarn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Location:
    Singapore
    #45
    Use this instead: https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00PC0H9IE/ref=dp_ob_neva_mobile

    Also yeah, I have used this Anker ethernet adapter and the Apple one (which I returned). Both work with my iPad Pro 2
     
  21. Perene, Apr 15, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2018

    Perene macrumors 6502a

    Perene

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Location:
    Netherealm
    #46
    I ordered this Anker product mentioned in the last post. Will receive it in a near future. Did a few more tests, and noticed the following:

    - When the iPAD is using the ethernet cable (with the adapters) + Airplane mode is ON (and wi-fi/BT disabled):

    The app Telegram:
    https://itunes.apple.com/br/app/telegram-messenger/id686449807?mt=8

    Also doesn't work (to warn us about incoming calls), however it will work if we open the app once. Skype won't warn us even if we open the app (it's only useful to make calls, not to receive). SKYPE will warn there's a call but only if we are already using the app and the warning can only be seen in the chat box from the user who is making the call. That means a call from SKYPE in this scenario won't be noticed at all.

    So this is my advice: install Telegram if the goal is to receive calls. I am not sure if we need to activate this feature:

    https://www.imore.com/how-to-manage-background-app-refresh-iphone-ipad

    To help with things. I only know that TELEGRAM (once we open the app) will start receiving calls and warn us about it. I have also configured TELEGRAM in "Notifications" (iOS internal settings) to display these warnings.

    I wonder if there's another app that can do the same, without requiring us to open them for the 1st time. That way when someone gives us a call in this messaging the app would warn us promptly.

    I doubt it because the way iOS works it's like it doesn't matter if we use an ethernet cable and have a working internet connection, it still thinks somehow we are disconnected, thanks to airplane mode ON.

    That's why I always say whoever developed iOS was either very stupid or did those things on purpose.
     
  22. ACST Suspended

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    #47
    Or is just not gonna develop an option used by 0.00000000000000001ish% of the users which only gonna cause more problems, because for every 1 problem in software you solve you create a dozen others.
     
  23. Perene, Apr 15, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2018

    Perene macrumors 6502a

    Perene

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Location:
    Netherealm
    #48
    Just because wi-fi is available everywhere doesn't mean Apple devices shouldn't be changed to support ethernet cables. Based on everything I described it's very clear that Apple did a lousy job by adding an option (Ethernet) and at the same time not removing this warning or making all apps work as intended.

    If I want to use ETHERNET then I don't need apps to break (like FaceTime, the only messaging app that doesn't work) because wi-fi is offline or not working... And if I want to use AIRPLANE MODE I don't need to be reminded 500 times a day that I need to turn this option OFF to continue using the internet in some app.

    I would expect such things from cheap products... developed by monkeys. Not by the "soon to be first trillion-dollar company" that charges a LOT OF MONEY for everything they create.

    This is really, really pathetic, to say the least. :D

    Can we expect something good from them when they took a decade to fix this s.hit?

    [​IMG]

    And now I discover they don't even sell Ethernet adapters with gigabit speeds... o_O
     
  24. Richdmoore macrumors 68000

    Richdmoore

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Location:
    Troutdale, OR
    #49
    I was at an Apple store the other day with my wife's iPhone getting the battery replaced, when I overheard another conversation between an Apple genius and a customer.

    The customer was trying to make an iCloud backup on an iPhone before handing their phone in for service, but it was going to take 3 hours to back up all the data via WiFi. The genius offered to hook it up to an internet cable (Ethernet) to see if the backup would take less time.

    I imagine that this is one of the primary uses of the Ethernet system in iOS, to allow faster iCloud backups or restores in heavy congested WiFi areas, such as Apple stores ironically.

    Leaving airplane mode off and hooking up via Ethernet forces everything to route via Ethernet, as far as I could tell when I tested it under iOS 10.

    I would conduct your own tests to see if you iPad is communicating via Ethernet or WiFi when hooked up to both systems. No need to complicate your setup with turning airplane mode on to force traffic to route to ethernet, assuming your tests mirror mine and everything works.

    You complaints to Apple probably won’t be useful here, as we are all just Apple users. There is a feedback link Apple uses if you want to let them know about your issues with Ethernet and airplane mode.

    https://www.apple.com/feedback/
     
  25. darkarn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Location:
    Singapore
    #50
    I can help answer this part: For Internet connectivity, iOS devices will connect via all ways possible, be it Ethernet and/or Wifi.

    On the other hand, tvOS devices will connect by only one method. If both are available, Ethernet will take precedence.

    Both types of devices will always be connectable via Bluetooth if enabled.

    So, to force the iPad to use Ethernet only, simply switch off your Wifi.
     

Share This Page