HD4000 driver hack for custom VRAM size

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by kpkp, Apr 21, 2013.

  1. FORGQTTEN macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    #76
    And theoretically putting in 160 to get 4gb of vram should have worked too. I'll test the 120 once I get a new hard drive to put time machine into.
     
  2. vista980622 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    #77
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=19506282

    ----------

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=19506282

    ----------

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=19506282

    ----------

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=19506282
     
  3. kpkp thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    #78
    No 160 could never work and neither could 120.... C0 is a different story.
     
  4. FORGQTTEN macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    #79
    If you don't mind me asking what is C0?
     
  5. kpkp thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    #80
    Hex for 12 0.
     
  6. FORGQTTEN macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    #81
    Yeah I'm sorry I'm not tech savvy and therefore have no idea what you mean by that.
     
  7. Charadis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    #82
    I

    He is translating hexadecimal to decimal values. Basically, there are 16 values for hex: 0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,A,B,C,D,E,F. You can read hex in pairs of values. As long as the decimal value is < 10, you read it numerically. However, you match up values 10 - 15 with each letter thereafter, ie, 10 = A, 11 = B...16 = F.....etc.

    So hex C0 translates to 12 0, and 9B is 9 11. From these values, you can translate to binary. Ie, 12 0 is 1100 0000, and 9 11 is 1001 1011. Hope that clears it up. :) Sent from my iPad.
     
  8. FORGQTTEN macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    #83
    Yeah I'm still clueless, sorry so exactly what would I have to do to obtain 3gb of vram? Like what value should I change from "sudo perl -pi -e 's|\x00.{1}\x10\x07\x00\x00\x10\x07|\x00\x??\x10\x07\x00\x00\x10\x07|g' ~/Desktop/AppleIntelFramebufferCapri.kext/Contents/MacOS/AppleIntelFramebufferCapri" to get the 3gb?
     
  9. ewbte macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    #84
    Hey kpkp, how do you think is it possible to force fps cap by the same way? For example I want to cap it at 30.

    Seriously, there is still no solution for macs.

    ps. I'm on hd4000 too
     
  10. Gu1k macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
  11. kpkp thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    #86


    Idk if you are the author of the video, but he makes a crucial mistake... Saves the kext to Downloads and then uses the script without changing the target directory.

    Code:
    ~/[B]Desktop[/B]/AppleIntelFramebufferCapri.kext/Contents/MacOS/AppleIntelFramebufferCapri 
     
  12. and1tennis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    #87
    I have no idea but you're probably right. I'm wondering if using this hack will actually allow for a better system, graphically speaking, or if it will cause harm to computer. Also, will it heat it up?
     
  13. and1tennis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
  14. and1tennis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    #89
    Valid in yosemite 10.10.1?

    @gu1k:

    I have heard that in the beta builds of yosemite this works. No word if it works in current builds. Can anyone try this out?
     
  15. and1tennis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    #90
    I can confirm that this hack works on macbook pro mid 2012 running yosemite 10.10.1... and it works really well... I have 2gb of ram allocated to my vram and it improved my frame rate in Counter Strike Source from around 30 to 60 fps!!! Incredible...

    I copied the kext to desktop

    Ran the terminal command to patch the kext

    Installed with kext wizard

    Repaired permissions from within kext wizard

    "Intel HD Graphics 4000 2048 MB"

    Rebooted and it worked... Im not sure if its just me... but it may have made the color on my display a little cooler/bluer... I don't know if this is actually true... anyways, this is freaking awesome!!!
     
  16. anonymous4a macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    #91
    sorry what is the point of this on Yosemite ? How does it improve the usage ? I'm on MacBook 2012 retina .
     
  17. dafttitan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2015
    #92
    Hello,

    I did exactly the same on "Mac mini (Late 2012)" and I get "Display 7 MB" at 10.10.1.

    May anyone help me?

    Original AppleIntelFramebufferCapri: View attachment AppleIntelFramebufferCapri.kext.zip
    Modified AppleIntelFramebufferCapri: View attachment Modified_AppleIntelFramebufferCapri.kext.zip

    Thanks,
     
  18. and1tennis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
  19. whoatemycookie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    #94
    Yeah, I can cofirm that this hack dosen't work with mac mini. I've tried on 2 different ones (late 2012 and 2014), both have their ram maxed out and running Yosemite 10.10.2.
     
  20. whoatemycookie, Mar 9, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2015

    whoatemycookie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    #95
    Scratch my above post. I've managed to get this hack working on a mac mini late 2012 (Yosemite 10.10.2).
    After doing a clean install of the operating system the hack works with the instructions written by kpkp in the first post.
    I will post below the screen shot.

    For the record, I've tried upping the value of vram to 3gb, trying with C0 and 120, but didnt worked. No problem at booting, only displaying in system information :"display 7mb" and the computer was working very slowly (like I didnt had installed the graphics driver).

    After installing diablo III and league of legends, I can say with great regret that upping the vram on this dosen't improve FPS or game play in any way.
    Sad but true!

    Thank you kpkp for trying.;)

    Have a nice day.
     

    Attached Files:

  21. Slasher115 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    #96
    I tried this with yosemite 10.10.3 and my hd 4000 went to 3MBs, now if im trying to hack it to 2048 will i have to have the 16GBs of ram installed?
     
  22. thedoger82 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    #97
    Hi kpkp, today i bought a mbp 13 mid 2012 motherboard and i swap it for my older mpb late 2011 (16gb ram), and everything is working, i didnt format or reinstall OsX, i bought it only cos of the vram of this mbp mid 2012, with yosemite and mavericks the vram is 1gb, but on mountain lion is only 512mb, so i tried your tutorial and it didnt work, i follow your steps, back up the kext file, use the script in terminal replacing [??] (i used first 80 and then 40)
    then install with kextwizard, rebuild cache and repair permissions also with kextwizard. but nothing no 2gb or 1gb, i dont think im doing something wrong. could it be the swap of motherboards (i dont think so)?

    Thanks for your help and this script!!!
     
  23. nsadeh macrumors newbie

    nsadeh

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    #98
    I have the same Model as you, but when I did all of this and rebooted, I lost all my VRAM - I only have Screen 3MB now and it's impossible to do anything. I had to use recovery to get it back to where it was. Can you help me?
     
  24. justperry macrumors G4

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    Home is everywhere and nowhere.
    #99
    Boot into safe mode and put the original Kext back to the Extension Folder.
    If you didn't back up the Kext you can find it when you download the OS (X) version you have and use Pacifist to copy the Kext back to the Extension Folder.
     
  25. nsadeh macrumors newbie

    nsadeh

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    #100

    It's easy enough to restore the kext files, I just want to find a way to make this hack work. Maybe I'm asking for two much VRAM (I have 8 system RAM) - if I do 60, will it do 1.5 GB rather than 2 GB as I have been trying until now?
     

Share This Page