HDMI CEC Setup with LG Simplelink

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by carfreak12321, Nov 1, 2015.

  1. carfreak12321 macrumors regular

    carfreak12321

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #1
    Has anyone had any luck setting up the CEC features on the Apple TV with LG Simplelink(that's the brand name for lg's CEC feature)

    I've been fiddling with my setting on an LB5900 but to no avail.
    I can't adjust volume via CEC or turn the tv on/off.
     
  2. nojkepop macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    #2
    I have an older model 47LV5400 and it works fine. At first I only thought the volume control was working but the Apple TV will now turn on the TV and switch to the right input if you wake the Apple TV. I also just tested it and if you hold the TV icon the Apple TV will ask if you want to put the device to sleep which will turn off other connected devices. I didn't configured anything for this to work and my TV definitely has Simplelink.
     
  3. StevenWalker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
  4. StevenWalker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    #4
    btw: you have to turn on the tv... set the input to play tv.... then plug the ATV into the TV... switch/power on the ATV.... now change the input device on the LG from your TV, to the HDMI port your ATV is connected to.... it will pause for 20 secs or so as it detects the ATV and syncs with it... after that, its all done and works perfect
     
  5. azukre macrumors member

    azukre

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    #5
    I've LB-6500. I just enabled the simplelink and it worked right away. Does anyone know if HDMI-CEC requires specific HDMI cable?
     
  6. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #6
    I have the LGea9800 and it works just fine. Any HDMI cable should work.
     
  7. carfreak12321 thread starter macrumors regular

    carfreak12321

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #7
    I tried this and it still doesn't seem to be working right.

    In the Simplelink menus everything is shades and not clickable

    And on the Apple TV the only volume control option is via ir not over the hdmi port.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Mac... nificent macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    #8
    Not all HDMI cables support all HDMI features. An older or cheaper HDMI version 1.1 cable will not support the newer and higher-end HDMI version 2.0 features.
     
  9. carfreak12321 thread starter macrumors regular

    carfreak12321

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #9
    I'm using an hdmi 1.4 cable
     
  10. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #10
    That is all you need is a 1.4 cable. 2.0 is for 4K.

    Have you changed the input? I bet not all are HDMI 1.4. Try HDMI input 1 on your TV.
     
  11. carfreak12321 thread starter macrumors regular

    carfreak12321

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #11
    Just tried switching to hdmi 1 and still no luck. I also removed anything else attached to the tv and the simplelink menu still shows up shaded and the CEC features not working.
     
  12. carfreak12321 thread starter macrumors regular

    carfreak12321

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #12
    These are the settings that show up on the Apple TV
     

    Attached Files:

  13. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #13
    If someone does not help you before I get home, I will look and see what my settings are on both the appleTV and my LG TV. It will not be until 5:30 EST though.
     
  14. carfreak12321 thread starter macrumors regular

    carfreak12321

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #14
    Thank you very much
     
  15. carfreak12321 thread starter macrumors regular

    carfreak12321

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #15
    I called apple yesterday and they just sent me to a support page that didn't really help. And called lg today and they said that it's probably a comparability issue...
    But I'm not buying that since the tv is fairly new and you guys said yours has been working.

    Do you think I need to restore the Apple TV and reset it up. Because when I first setup the Apple TV I had simple link off
     
  16. ke-iron macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    #16
    Try resetting your tv and Apple TV. It's weird that it's not working on your tv but it works on my Samsung tv that doesn't even support it and has no option in the menu. I'm amazed my ps4 cannot power on my tv but the Apple TV can power my tv on and off. I was completely blown away by this, I'm truly impressed.
     
  17. Mac... nificent macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    #17


    Not true.

    2.0 supports additional CEC features, and 1.4/1.4a supports 4K.
     
  18. Scoop24 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Location:
    New York
    #18
    I didn't even enabled it . It worked right out the box
     
  19. carfreak12321 thread starter macrumors regular

    carfreak12321

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #19
    Turned everything on and off.
    Changed to a different hdmi cable.

    Just reset all the settings and setup up the entire Apple TV again still it doesn't work.
    Damn now I have to log into everything again haha
     
  20. shk718 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #20
    i'm not sure if i'm right or wrong but, I wonder if connecting 1 device that doesn't have HDMI-CEC stops the system from working. My set up was working fine then I hooked up my cable box and everything stopped. I unhooked it and everything worked fine. That was my final clue to get rid of Time Warner cable once and for all.

    One issue i have is the Apple remote turns on my LG 65EF9500 fine - but doesn't turn it off (it, however, does turn off everything else). Haven't been able to figure that one out yet.
     
  21. carfreak12321 thread starter macrumors regular

    carfreak12321

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #21
    I tried unplugging everything except the Apple TV and it didn't help.

    Also have you been able to control the volume on your tv via CEC rather than IR using the Siri remote?
     
  22. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #22
    I mostly meant it does not need to be 2.0.

    2.0 also has security features that 4K requires for a lot of content.
     
  23. shk718 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #23
    I am able to control the volume using CEC i have my apple tv plugged into my receiver (which is in charge of the volume) and my receiver plugged into the TV.
     
  24. carfreak12321 thread starter macrumors regular

    carfreak12321

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #24
    Okay thanks.

    I'm not sure why it hasn't been working out of the box for me. And support hasn't been very helpful (both Apple and lg)
    Was really hoping I could get it to work then I could basically never have to use my tv remote.
     
  25. ke-iron macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    #25
    You also reset the tv? Hmm. First try exchanging the Apple TV. It's brand new and under exchange policy. If it still doesn't work then we know the problem is the tv.
     

Share This Page