Help Installing Windows 10 on Mac Pro 5,1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by spartan2381, Jul 24, 2017.

  1. spartan2381 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    #1
    I have been browsing and reading multiple threads on how to get Windows 10 installed on a Mac Pro 5,1. From what I have gathered it seems that Windows 10 should be installed in EFI mode to gain the best performance. Can anyone give me the proper steps to get Windows 10 up and running since bootcamp does not support Windows 10. My setup is below.

    Mac Pro 5,1
    1TB SSD - macOS Sierra installed
    480GB SSD - This will be dedicated to Windows 10
     
  2. Freakshow69 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2016
    #2
    --- Post Merged, Jul 24, 2017 ---
    This is what I did... download a copy of Windows 10 from Microsoft, put it on a zip drive and used bootcamp to install. I used a separate hard drive just for bootcamp/Windows. You can find instructions online. It takes about an hour maybe longer to complete the install. To go back and forth, from Windows to Mac, there is an option on the bottom right corner to reboot into Mac. In Mac you just have to select the start up disk to go into Windows.
     
  3. spartan2381 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    #3
    So nothing special needed like editing plist files for bootcamp to support Windows 10 when running Mac Pro 5, 1?
     
  4. Freakshow69 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2016
    #4
    Not for me, no. I have the mid-2012, 2x 3.46 6 core, running 10.11.6... just haven't gotten around to updating. Good luck!
     
  5. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    Use a disc is the easiest way to do that it. Bootcamp assistant still able to install Windows 10. The only step require work around is after Windows installation, you need to use command prompt to install bootcamp driver. This is the easiest way to do it, but in lagacy mode AFAIK.
     
  6. Squuiid macrumors 6502a

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #6
    Yes, burn the Windows ISO to DVD, don't use a flash drive.
    Then, hold down OPTION key when you boot and select the DVD called EFI.
    This will setup Windows 10 in UEFI mode offering the best performance.
     
  7. saulinpa macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    #7
    Wasn't there also some issue that your Windows drive should be in bay 1? Or was that for something else?
     
  8. Auggie macrumors regular

    Auggie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    #8
    It doesn't matter which bay to install Windows 10, but I had to completely remove all other drives.
     
  9. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #9
    I my case, I can keep all other drives (both OSX and data) connected, they won't affect the installation.

    And the Windows drive can be at any bay (including the optical bay).
     
  10. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #10
    UEFI install doesn't make a noticable performance difference. The CPUs are too old to let any 'new' components shine.
     
  11. Squuiid macrumors 6502a

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #11
    Not true. UEFI mode enables AHCI on drives without having to hack it in by force.
    AHCI has a significant impact on performance.
     
  12. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #12
    Unless your general workflow can utilise QD32, otherwise, the real world difference is not significant.

    4K random read / write won't be affect. That's the main reason to use SSD. TRIM won't be affected.

    Sequential speed may able to go up about 20%. But if that's really important, using a cMP is already the wrong decision.

    For HDD, doesn't really matter IMO.
     
  13. Squuiid macrumors 6502a

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #13
    You're missing the obvious one, CPU usage when accessing the disk in ATA mode can be huge, sometimes maxing out an X5690 core.
     
  14. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #14
    I have tested this and found the difference negligible. I posted results here when Win 10 came out when I was first person to install it on cMP.

    Even my workstation PC runs in legacy mode and every component benchmark hits the manufacturer specification.
     
  15. spartan2381 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    #15
    I have Windows 10 installed on its own SSD drive. What version of the Bootcamp drivers should I be using?
     
  16. saulinpa macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
  17. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #17
    5.1.5621
     
  18. spartan2381 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    #18
    @h9826790 - Will give it a try. Any recommendation on HFS+ driver?
    --- Post Merged, Aug 25, 2017 ---
    @saulinpa - Thank you!
     
  19. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #19
    Paragon HFS+

    Also, if you have Magic Mouse / BT 4.0 card etc. you need to manually extract the AppleBluetoothInstaller64.exe from the 5.1.5640 drivers. Otherwise, the card won't work, or the mouse won't scroll.

    For bootcamp driver installation under Windows 10, I think you need to run the bootcamp.msi from command prompt (as admin). From memory, the setup.exe won't work properly.
     
  20. spartan2381 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    #20
    @h9826790 - I do have the Magic Mouse and BT 4.0 card. I'll download the 5.1.5640 drivers per your recommendation and see how it goes. Thanks for the help.
     
  21. karsten macrumors 6502a

    karsten

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #21
    i did the plist bootcamp hack to get it to let me install win10 but then it was smooth after that. this on 4,1->5,1 sierra latest
     
  22. Blackey Cole macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    #22
    Zip drive or thumb drive I haven't seen a Zip drive in a decade
     
  23. H2SO4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #23
    How do you figure out if you already have an install in UEFI mode? Was a while ago now but I'm sure I installed on an old Windows box, updated it fully and installed the bootcamp drivers and then just moved that to my Mac. If I can get better performance I might reinstall.
     
  24. Squuiid macrumors 6502a

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #24
    C'mon man. Surely you've used Google before?
    Top hit:
    https://blogs.technet.microsoft.com...ow-to-check-in-windows-if-you-are-using-uefi/

    Start->Run->msinfo32
     
  25. H2SO4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #25

Share This Page