Hisense TV no HDR

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Paul H, Oct 3, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Paul H macrumors newbie

    Paul H

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2016
    #1
    i just purchased a Hisense 55 inch 4K TV and I can’t get the Apple TV to accept that it has HDR. The model number of the TV is 55H6D. I think I covered all of the bases. Bought a Monster 2.0 HDMI cable made for 4k sets. I did a firmware upgrade on the TV when I first installed it. I turned on the 2.0 mode on the TV for the HDMI ports and I made sure to plug in to the HDMI ports that support 4K.

    When I go on the Apple TV and try to turn on HDR the Apple TV does it test and I get a message on TV that I have a weak signal. Then some colorful images come up on screen and finally the Apple TV reports that HDR was not working and that I may need to change my color settings to get it to work....

    Anything else I can try. I have new cables coming from Amazon tomorrow and will try them. Returning the Monster cable. $40 is nuts for a cable. I am also running the public beta of TV OS.

    Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. Paul H thread starter macrumors newbie

    Paul H

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2016
    #2
    I’ve tried a few different HDMI cables and still cannot get HDR to stick. I have enhanced HDMI turned on, tried changing the color settings. Etc. Nothing works.
     
  3. tjwilliams25 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Location:
    Montana
    #3
    It sounds like you may be having the same problem that I had with my first 4k tv. It was from LG and supported the wide color gamut that HDR does, but it didn't support the brightness control metadata or go to 1000 lumens. So, even though a tv supports wide color that has to be turned on in the settings, it may not be fully HDR capable.
     
  4. Paul H thread starter macrumors newbie

    Paul H

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2016
    #4
    If that is the reason does that mean I won’t be able to get it to work?
     
  5. Che Castro macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    #5
    I have a hisense tv and got the update for HDR , turned 2.0 on

    And works fine , Apple TV detects HDR

    I’m using an amazonbasics hdmi cable, the latest one
     
  6. Paul H thread starter macrumors newbie

    Paul H

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2016
    #6
    I ordered a Roku Premiere+ which arrived today. Will be interested to see if HDR works.
     
  7. sukidabe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    #7
    Double check with your owners manual. The 6 in the model number seems to indicate a 1080p tv. the hisence 4k tvs have a 7 or 8 in its place. If it supports HDR, then you'll need to output the atv to 1080. Hopefully I'm wrong.
     
  8. Paul H thread starter macrumors newbie

    Paul H

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2016
    #8
    It’s a 4K TV. I get 4K content fine. Just not HDR. Soon I will know if it’s just an Apple TV issue.
     
  9. Paul H thread starter macrumors newbie

    Paul H

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2016
    #9
    So I hooked up the Roku Premier+ and it connected to TV fine... 4k at 60 FPS and 4K HDR at 30 FPS.
    Now how to get Apple TV to see the HDR... do I set it manually at 30 FPS?
     
  10. tjwilliams25 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Location:
    Montana
    #10
    I would say that your TV only supports HDR in 30fps. The Apple TV should automatically set it to that when you connect it, but you can also set it manually in the video settings menu.
     
  11. Paul H thread starter macrumors newbie

    Paul H

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2016
    #11
    Thanks, I will give that a shot and report back. I am Apple all of way but the Roku Preimier has its merits. Connected and tuned to HDR instantly. Shame I can’t get to my iTunes movies with it.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 12, 2017 ---
    HDR is working with the setting at 30fps but everyth8ng gas a darker look to it. Is this normal? It’s not horrible and maybe I am not used to it?
     
  12. AL2TEACH macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, CO.
    #12
    It's normal. The newer more expensive tv's have better panels. Anyway, make sure your tv is in movie mode, backlight and contrast should be maxed.
     
  13. Paul H thread starter macrumors newbie

    Paul H

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2016
    #13
    I did change the mode and it does look much better. Tried watching football last night but it looked grainy and not good. Not sure if it was NBC’s issue though since I was streaming it.
     
  14. AL2TEACH macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, CO.
    #14
    Like tj stated, the Apple tv has to be in your HDMI 2.0 input. Heck, I even spent the 30 bucks to get the Belkin cable @ the Apple store just avoid any possible problems.
    your tv supports HDR@60Hz 10 panel so switch it there on the Roku and it should work
     
  15. mano911 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    #15
    You guys are amazing! That's the answer! On my hisense TV, HDMI ports 3 and 4 are HDMI 2.0. You might be plugging your Apple TV into HDMI port 1 or 2. They're on the side, and easier to reach, but they're not HDMI 2.0, and don't support 4K. Give it a shot. As soon as i plugged it into the right port, the Apple TV switched to 4K HDR 60 hz.
     

Share This Page