Hmm.. so will 2.1 be available at 12:01 am?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by duelingdragons, Sep 11, 2008.

1. duelingdragons macrumors 65816

Before people freak out and say "JUST WAIT", this is an innocent speculation question...

I am leaving for Europe in the morning, but would like to update the firmware before I leave for this supposed battery life boost...

What's the history like w/ firmware updates? I'm new to the iPhone scene so I'm not all too familiar.

2. stockcerts macrumors 65816

I'm hoping someone finds the link on Apple's servers and posts it here! :D

3. sibruk macrumors 6502a

I'm actually surprised it hasn't been made live yet. It would have spared the load on the servers if they had released it slightly ahead of schedule.

But coming back to your question... 12:01 in which time zone?!

4. BaldiMac macrumors 604

BaldiMac

It is not likely to be available at 12:01am EST. It would still be Thursday in Cupertino.

Without looking anything up, it seems software updates are usually released late in the afternoon.

5. fishmd macrumors 68000

fishmd

Previously they have been released in the afternoons. I can't remember what time for sure. I think last one was like around 5PM EST. I hope this one will be midnight, but who knows for sure. I am thinking later on in the day though.

6. bradl macrumors 68040

bradl

Actually, I think this is a good question, and brings up what Apple's strategy is/should be for rolling this out. For the last 2 releases I've been aware of (new to the iPhone scene myself), it was more along the lines of "BLAM! it's there, go get it!".