How can I open exe. files?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by tncdel, Feb 12, 2009.

  1. tncdel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #1
    Whenever I get an exe. file I've been just deleting them, because my computer [a G4 PowerPC with OS X 10.4.11 Tiger] can't open such files.

    For example, on a movie download site, a free torrent downloader was offered, and it said for PC or Mac. Yet whenafter I downloaded it to my desktop, I found an exe. file. And such files are of no use to me, since my computer can't open them with QuickTime Player or anything else it has.

    Please tell me how to open exe. files, or how to convert them to something else that my computer can open.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    .exe files are Windows executables. They will not run on Mac OS X and they can't be "converted" to anything that will run on Mac OS X. Many times, such .exe files are Windows trojans or viruses, so Windows users should be careful what they download and execute.
     
  3. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #3
    Be thankful you can't, as you probably would've got a virus for downloading random crap on a Windows computer. .exe only run in Windows.
     
  4. mynamesreallong macrumors member

    mynamesreallong

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Location:
    Las Vegas, IL
    #4
    Its a Windows Executable file. And wont open in osx. Its not a media file that can be converted.
     
  5. mynamesreallong macrumors member

    mynamesreallong

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Location:
    Las Vegas, IL
  6. Sirobin macrumors 6502

    Sirobin

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Location:
    California
  7. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #7
    The OP isn't trying to run them in Windows on the Mac. They're trying to run them on Mac OS X, which won't work.
     
  8. tncdel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #8
    that's what I figured

    That's what I figured too. But what puzzled me was why the site said that the torrent download program could be used on Mac too. Wonder what they were thinking. Check this out to see what I mean please [thank you]:
     
  9. Shadow%20Mac macrumors demi-god

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #9
    Darwine

    There Is Darwine.

    Or VirtualBox....

    both free. though virtual box requires your own copy of Windows
     
  10. tncdel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #10
    P.s.

    I went back and found that I had clicked on the wrong side of the download link. But that the right side is for Mac. But NOT FOR MINE. Only OS X 10.5 Intel. I'm using 10.4.11 Tiger. So it's no good to me.

    Thanks for reclarifying about exe. files. Was hoping that they could be converted. Someone told me that there is software that can convert exe. and windows media files to mpg.s or other type that can run on my computer.

    If not, then I'll have to wait till I can afford a new Mac that can run PC programs.
     
  11. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #11
    Even an Intel Mac with Leopard can't run PC programs (.exe files). The only way to run any .exe on a Mac is by either launching Windows through Boot Camp, or running Windows virtualization through VMware Fusion or Parallels or something similar. Native Mac OS X does not run .exe files, and they can't be converted to anything that would run on Mac OS X.
     
  12. illegallydead macrumors 6502a

    illegallydead

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado!!!
    #12
    There are plenty of applications out there that can convert Windows MEDIA files, such as .wma and .wmv
    Also, there is no such thing as a "mpg.s"
    There is NOTHING, I repeat, NOTHING, that will "convert" the executables for Windows to the "Mac equivalent". They are completely different operating environments. There are ways to run .exe files as mentioned before, but nothing like what you are talking.

    If you are waiting for a Mac that can "run PC programs" like you are saying, and the only reason you are giving is because "For example, on a movie download site, a free torrent downloader was offered..." then it is obvious you have more dollars than sense. There are PLENTY of free torrent applications for your Mac. (try Transmission, to name just one) And if you automatically click on whatever a shady sight like that offers you, perhaps it is good that you have a Mac because if you had done that in PC land you would be in spyware, trojan, virus, and malware hell right now. Look before you leap man!
     
  13. chrismacguy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #13
    There is a way to get .exe files to run, but it envolves extra software. I personally use CrossOver for Mac Professional to run all of my Windows executables, this shouldnt require a Windows liscence (although its helpful and not every executable will run)
     
  14. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #14
    I don't know where you have been in the last weeks, but the news is: There are no viruses for Macs, but there are Trojans - people download some software that claims to to something, but in reality attacks your computer. All it needs is a stupid user who downloads the software and tells the operating system TWICE that he wants to run software downloaded from a random website, particularly some dodgy website offering porn or illegal software/music/video downloads.

    Now compare this with your situation.
     
  15. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #15
    Not to mention an Intel Mac that the OP doesn't have in the case of VirtualBox.....;)
     
  16. opeter macrumors 65816

    opeter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Slovenia, EU
    #16
    You all forget CrossOver... it will directly run .exe files after double-click. It's another question if it will really work, becuase some Windows appz don't want to run this way.
     
  17. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #17
    I don't think anyone is forgetting about CrossOver really-- but the OP does not have an Intel Mac as CrossOver requires so it is worthless to him/her.
     
  18. opeter macrumors 65816

    opeter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Slovenia, EU
    #18
    Ups, my bad. :eek: Didn't read he has a G4 Mac... i would like to apologise.
     
  19. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #19
    No big deal- just wanted to clear that up in case anyone was hoping that it would work on their PowerPC Mac! ;)
     
  20. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #20
    There really is no way on a PPC, other than VirtualPC.
     
  21. tncdel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
  22. tncdel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #22
    video files

    I tried using the above file converter trying to convert a windows media file to an mpg.mpeg file, but it didn't work. Apparently, if it does anything, it only converts audio files, not video files.

    Anyone know a converter to convert windows media files videos to mpg.mpeg files?
     
  23. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #23
    Yeah, kinda said so right in the description:
     
  24. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #24
    You don't need to convert WMV files - install flip4mac.
     
  25. illegallydead macrumors 6502a

    illegallydead

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado!!!
    #25
    If you DO need to convert .wmv files to .mpeg .mp4 etc. then try something like Handbrake. I haven't had to use it in a while, but that should work pretty nicely for you...
     

Share This Page