How do I downgrade from iOS 5 to 4.3.3 WITHOUT SHSH Blobs?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by TheNew6uy, Nov 21, 2011.

  1. TheNew6uy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    #1
    Alright, before you reply going "OMG YOU CAN'T DO IT WITHOUT SHSH BLOBS", just "hear" me out.

    I've done a tethered jail break on my iPhone shortly before iOS 5 was released. I never had to download TinyUmbrella or need any SHSHs. I reverted to normal because I was very annoyed with tethered. Now, I decided I wanted to jail break again but do untethered. I have run into many problems. One is the requirement for SHSH blobs. I didn't even know they existed until now (I also figured they were some form of verification hash which I ended up being correct about).

    So I then proceeded to Google if there's a workaround. I have seen a few tutorials claiming you can without SHSHs but have proven unsuccessful. I have gotten Error 20 and Error 3194 from iTunes in the process.

    Here were the sites I was talking about (claiming no SHSH required).

    http://gdeluxe.com/downgrade-ios-5-0-to-4-3-3-without-shsh-blobs-saved/ (quite poorly written IMO. Very unclear in many areas).

    http://www.limera1n.cc/2011/08/downgrade-435-to-433-without-shsh-blobs.html

    So, from any of you here, is it possible to downgrade without SHSH blobs? Or am I screwed?
     
  2. headcase macrumors 6502

    headcase

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #2
    I suggesy you run TinyUmbrella, to confirm what saved blobs you may or may not have on your phone. And if no 4.x blobs reside, then time to forget moving back to an older release, move on to 5.0.1 now, and hope for a jailbreak for that 5.x release.
     
  3. TheNew6uy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    #3
    Well... as of right now... iTunes refuses to restore my phone to 5.0.1. Gives me 3194 error (that's after hitting restore (no shift) and letting it erase and restore). Now what?

    Update: Using TinyUmbrella no SHSHs are saved. Also, when simply clicking restore, iTunes doesn't download anything, it simply extracts. I tried using TinyUmbrella to see if that would work. That results in an Error Code 11.
     
  4. ClutchThese macrumors 65816

    ClutchThese

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA
    #4
    You need to edit your hosts file. located in etc/hosts


    Comment out the gs.apple.com line. You will then be able to restore.
     
  5. TheNew6uy, Nov 21, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2011

    TheNew6uy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    #5
    Oh the magic.

    If the picture didn't explain what I just went through, I had already edited the hosts file after the first error. Figured it was still pointing to Cydia servers. I simply removed the entries and tried again. This time, I took an original copy of the HOST file. Now it gives me something about iTunes servers not being available. YES, I'm connected to the Internet XD

    Now, I had been noticing my iPhone randomly connecting and disconnecting (going in and out of recovery mode) every 10-15 minutes or so (I'm honestly not sure on the time periods between the reconnections). This time, I heard the device disconnect noise (while making the original picture) and BAM BSoD. It was 0x000000D1 USBPORT.SYS. I assume it has everything to do with my iPhone (MAYBE my front USB port but I doubt it). I'll use a different USB port just in case.


    Update: Error 3194 again. That's with the original hosts file.
     

    Attached Files:

    • omg.jpg
      omg.jpg
      File size:
      963.7 KB
      Views:
      1,023
  6. TheNew6uy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    #6
    Downloading 5.0.1 (using openIPSW) right now. Will try to Shift+Restore instead. Maybe that will work.

    If not... does that mean I'm screwed? Is my iPhone "dead"?
     
  7. FrancoisC macrumors 6502

    FrancoisC

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    #7
    Can you try from another OS/PC?

    Last time I had BSOD on my old Windows PC was related to defective RAM...

    Just do a quick memtest check, just in case.
     
  8. TheNew6uy, Nov 21, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2011

    TheNew6uy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    #8
    I guess I could, but I really doubt it has anything to do with memory. I haven't had an issue until I messed with jail breaking. Besides, the BSoD would have been more relevant to memory (as I'm writing this, my iPhone went in and out of recovery mode. iTunes just popped up saying that my iPhone is in recovery mode). You know? Like it was referring to my USB port. It also happened right as my iPhone randomly disconnected. I really suspect it was due to my iPhone.

    I have a second installation of XP on this computer (explains where I got a fresh hosts file from). I can try it from there. For now, I'll wait until my iOS 5 download is done, and see if that works.

    Update: HOLD UP. I think I got it. I put it in pwned DFU mode and restored like normal (no Shift+Restore). Now it's preparing the iPhone for restoration and has a progress bar that's moving on the iPhone screen. Looks fixed to me :D
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    You can never downgrade without blobs period.
    Not possible.
     
  10. TheNew6uy, Nov 21, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2011

    TheNew6uy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    #10
    Not true. I've downgraded without blobs. Referring to my OP, I did it in the past when I did my first jail break. I never read anything or heard anything about blobs.

    Here's a post where someone did do it (it is referring to iOS 5 beta but it could work with iOS 5 RC. Someone on here referred someone else who asked a very similar question to mine to ANOTHER post here on macrumors).

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1206886

    Update: Phone is restoring from backup (MONTH OLD. fail on my part). Looks like I'm good to go. Hopefully we'll see a jail break for iOS 5 soon.
     
  11. gngan macrumors 68000

    gngan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    MacWorld
    #11
    You were able to downgrade without blobs because it was still in beta stage. That is when Apple is still signing 4.3.5 to general public. If Apple isn't signing anymore, which is NOW then you can't downgrade without blobs.
     
  12. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #12
    You simply cannot downgrade to any version of iOS that Apple is not currently signing without saved SHSH BLOBs. Can't be done. What you did while Apple was still signing 4.3.5 is irrelevant now that it no longer is doing so.
     
  13. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #13
    What is this today with Newbies trying to correct veterans here. :rolleyes: honestly if you are correct just go ahead and do it (school us) . since people here don't know what they are talking about..


    Why would the Dev-Team bring up Shsh blobs for 3GS-I4 to begin with! if you don't need them to downgrade? :confused:
     
  14. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #14
    Yeah.....Not sure what happen. Apple Juice & I even got insulted by JD about this issue. He keeps insisted that he successfully downgrade to 4.3.3 without blobs :D
     
  15. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #16
    Yep, you're clueless.
    Im not even gonna bother. Yes, you can do it, just keep trying.
    It will work:D
     
  16. TheNew6uy, Nov 21, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 22, 2011

    TheNew6uy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    #17
    How would you know if what I downgraded to was in beta stage. It was NOT in a beta stage.



    Do people not like being corrected here? All I said is I did downgrade without SHSH blobs. I looked up a tutorial and followed it. There was never a mentioning about SHSH blobs. This was shortly before iOS 5 came out (I wasn't even aware it was being released). I never came about and accused someone of not knowing what they're talking about or trying to prove a point (I guess I am now but originally not). It's you guys who came out and make the claim that 100%, impossible, without a doubt inconceivable to downgrade without blobs. I simply said that I did downgrade successfully without ever using a blob. Wouldn't I know something so simple?

    ----------

    How, so? I'm willing to try another tutorial. I realize my chances are not very good. I really want a jail break so I'll do it. What's to lose? It's just like "We told you because we're the supposed experts so you shouldn't try anything else until we say so". Lol. Sorry, I'm going to try something that a somewhat reputable site claims to work. It's worth a shot.


    Gee, that's helpful. I haven't been told that enough. Aren't you users supposed to be helpful to the community? Don't you read all the posts before saying something?



    Huh, lol. See, that's what I was talking about. I just registered here today. I ask a question and mention downgrading without blobs (not even knowing that was something thought to be an impossibility) and then get told "NOPE YOU NEVER DID THAT. WE'RE GOD SO WE KNOW EVERYTHING". Honestly, that's pretty much it. I mean how else would you know mine didn't work? It'd be retarded of me to claim something so trivial worked if it didn't.


    It's nice of you to inform me it's irrelevant. The fact is, everyone here tried to make it relevant to start an argument. I simply gave you guys a background story of my situation. Yet, we're picking out the irrelevant information and trying to analyze it.

    Well, I guess I'll have to wait until there's an iOS 5 jail break (if it ever happens). There is one more tutorial I'm going to try. Other than that, I guess blobs are going to stop me from JBing.
     
  17. Xb0xGuru macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #18
    Regardless of whether you were AWARE of SHSH blobs, they were there nonetheless. It's by some miracle you were able to downgrade before as what's obvious from your post is you didn't really have a clue what you were doing. It's not a dig or a poke - ignorance in how it all works is perfectly normal unless you have your finger on the pulse. So let's concede it worked and by whatever means you were able to downgrade previously.

    Ignorance however is no excuse for being argumentative. You've posted on a forum and have admitted to knowing nothing about the process and asked the question of downgrading from iOS 5 to iOS 4.3.3 without blobs. The answer was given (a resounding 'no' looking at the replies), yet you're still looking to argue the point.

    Listen: The guys on here know their stuff. If the likes of AppleJuiced et al are saying it can't be done, there's a 99.9% chance they are right. In this instance, they are 100% correct.

    Apple are no longer signing 4.3.3 (and haven't been for a LONG time), so unless you have a copy of your phone's SHSH blobs for 4.3.3 either locally or on Cydia's server, it ain't gonna happen.
     
  18. gngan macrumors 68000

    gngan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    MacWorld
    #19
    When you say you tether jailbreak, what firmware were you on? When you downgrade, what firmware did you downgrade to?

    What iPhone do you have?
     
  19. TheNew6uy, Nov 22, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 22, 2011

    TheNew6uy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    #20
    I clearly remember saying that I accept their answer. That's why I came here in the first place. However, it seems that many of them have become offended because I wish to try a final tutorial that might make things work. I'm simply trying for the heck of it. I have never doubted once that SHSH blobs are required. I only mentioned I did it by pure luck or whatever. It just "worked".


    ----------

    iPhone 4. Erhm, firmware? Are we talking about iOS 5? Like is that considered the firmware? All I can say is that I was on 5.0.1 and wanted to go to something JBable. I just chose 4.3.3. I'm now looking into 4.3.5.
     
  20. TheNew6uy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    #21
    I guess the only other question I have is does TinyUmbrella save iOS 5 blobs? I've been trying... and I've been getting 4.3.5 blobs.....
     
  21. moargolems macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Location:
    Finland
  22. gngan macrumors 68000

    gngan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    MacWorld
    #23
    iOS is a firmware. In OP, you said you JB shortly before iOS5. So what firmware was it on? Then you said you revert to normal without blobs. What firmware did you revert to?
     
  23. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #24
    Ok let's try this. Since you have done it. There must be away. How ever we lack the knowledge and skill here. So google is your friend. Keep searching and trying tutorials. Never give up your dream. When you find it come back and tell us please. We need to learn more. I'm sure the Dev-team will be interested as well. Good luck and happy journey's.
     
  24. TheNew6uy, Nov 22, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 22, 2011

    TheNew6uy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    #25

    Since I've done it.... means I know everything.... It's like the fact that I've done something deemed impossible, it's offended you in every way possible. Last time: I did it, I have no idea how I did it, it doesn't look like it will happen again (SINCE IT DIDN'T WORK THIS TIME THAT'S WHY I'M HERE).

    Why don't you be like gngan and talk to me normally instead of this condescending BS. When I brought up the fact I JBed without blobs, you needed to bring out "I'm smart. I know more than you. See? Look at how smart I am. You're automatically wrong because I know all things." Does it look like I care? I never questioned anyone's knowledge on the subject. It's why I'm here now- to get help! We're already passed that it's not possible to downgrade like I did in the past.
     

Share This Page