How much ram to get for new iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by mayhone1, Dec 8, 2011.

  1. mayhone1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #1
    I may be getting a new iMac soon and I was just wondering how much Memory should I get for it that will be good for the life of this computer, to handle things. :apple:
     
  2. iMarvin macrumors 6502

    iMarvin

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Location:
    On the internet!
    #2
    Get the 4GB from apple and add either 2 sticks of 4GB to get the total of 12GB or replace all of them for 16GB of ram. :)
     
  3. Markc1024 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    #3
    8gb seems to be a good choice that will last you - at least from what I can tell. Still room to grow should you need it.

    Mark
     
  4. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #4
    What things do you need to handle?
     
  5. philipma1957, Dec 8, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2011

    philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #5
    theSeb is asking an important question. also never let apple give you the ram they overcharge like mad. the 2011 iMac can use as much as 32gb ram or as little as 2gb.


    here is a price chart correct as of the 8th of dec

    so stay with

    stock 4gb cost 0

    go to 8gb cost 25 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231215 1 set

    go to 12gb cost 40 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231342 1 set

    go to 16gb cost 80 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231342 2 sets

    go to 20gb cost 200 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820233217 1 set

    go to 32gb cost 400 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820233217 2 sets


    this is the price chart for today. Most users can do 8gb and be fine.

    so you can spend 0 to 400 most users should think 8gb 12gb or 16gb
     
  6. Sandman1969 macrumors 6502a

    Sandman1969

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    #6
    Just ordered our 2 iMacs with the base 4GB. Debating on what I order for the memory.

    Was thinking give myself 16GB and put my 2 2GB's in the wifes to give her 8GB. Though may just do 12GB each. I think that will be plenty for both of us.

    Then when the 8GB chips drop in price I can bump both of ours up to 24GB.

    However, how much you need really comes down to what you plan on doing with the iMac.
    I know I am constantly bouncing against the current 4GB setup I have now, so 12GB should give plenty of breathing room.
     
  7. flynz4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #7
    I think that going to 16GB and shelving the stock 4GB (in case you need to bring it in for AC support) is the sweet spot.

    /Jim
     
  8. Sandman1969 macrumors 6502a

    Sandman1969

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    #8
    Yeah hard to argue with 16GB for under $100. Who would have thought that a few years ago. :eek:
     
  9. flynz4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #9
    I recently bought three 16GB kits for 3 iMacs. 48GB for under $300. Amazing!

    /Jim
     
  10. deepakvrao macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Location:
    India
    #10
    How many slots does the imac have?Looked again at their website and I think it's not mentioned?
     
  11. flynz4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #11
    4 slots total... filled in sets of two.

    /Jim
     
  12. robbie12345, Dec 8, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2011

    robbie12345 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #12
    just remember 12gb and 24gb get rid of the dual channel memory aspect and make th ram run at 1000mhz or something like that
     
  13. shortcut3d macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #13
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    It only removes the dual channel which is less than 10% performance drop max. The benefits of extra memory would out weigh the bandwidth gain.
     
  14. Sandman1969 macrumors 6502a

    Sandman1969

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    #14
    Do you have any link with additional information on that? I was thinking of doing 12GB for both of us.
    I thought there are two banks (2 slots each) and since each bank has the same module size in them dual channel would work.

    If that is the case I will just put the 16GB in mine and she can have the 8GB, until I upgrade her to 16GB.
     
  15. KylePowers macrumors 68000

    KylePowers

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    #15
    I'm at 12. I don't think I've ever even gotten close to maxing it out.
     
  16. alksion macrumors 68000

    alksion

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles County
    #16
    I have 16GB and have gotten to maxing out to around 14GB with:

    - Huge Premiere Pro file open
    - Photoshop open with many documents
    - Two After Effect Compositions
    - Adobe Encore
    - iTunes playing music while editing
    - Chrome opened with a few tabs

    Honestly though, the Premiere file was taking a huge chunk that even I couldn't
    believe it. So, yes, I don't always utilize all 16GB 100% of the time, but it is nice to know you have it if and when (in my cases) you need it.
     
  17. Michael383 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    #17
    If you want to handle most anything on your iMac for the life of your computer I'd recommend 16GB.
     
  18. UHFrank macrumors member

    UHFrank

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #18
    I too am getting a new iMac like the OP. Im getting additional ram as well, my question is, should i turn the imac on and set it up or can i install the ram right out the box with out turning it on first? thanks guys
     
  19. flynz4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #19
    it really doesn't matter. I just upgraded a new system, and I did it right out of the box. It was easier to do while most of the protective wrapping was still on the monitor and it was laying flat.

    I also upgraded a second system that has been running for two years, and I tipped it back fully, but a thin book under the front of the base base to tilt it back some more... had someone hold the top to make sure that it didn't fall backwards, and worked on it at the front of the desk.

    Both approaches were pretty easy... but doing it straight out of the box was even easier.

    /Jim
     
  20. SupBrahh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    #20
    I have 12GB and it's perfect for me. I have a lot of office apps and tabs open at the same time and it seems to switch between apps a lot smother now compared to 4GB.
     
  21. Akack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    #21
    Add 2x4gb to your existing 2x2gb, thus 12 gb ram total. If you need more ram, remove the 2x2gb and add more.
     
  22. iMikeT macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Location:
    California
  23. Stingray454 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    #23
    I had 8Gb in my iMac (used as workstation). It worked fine, but sometimes with lots of apps running I did notice some swapping. I upgraded to 16Gb, and it's much better now - however, I run iStatMenus to monitor memory usage, and even with tons of things running (like VMWare, word, excel, flash, photoshop, a 3d game, mail and lots of other things) I have never been above about 10Gb memory usage.. So in retrospect, 12Gb would probably have been enough. That said, memory is very cheap, so little reason to stop at 12 :)
     
  24. doktordoris macrumors 6502a

    doktordoris

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #24
    i bought apples madly expensive ram, so i didn't end up with 2 2gig dims that i didn't want. Whereas if you buy an imac with 8gig apple give you 2 4 gig dims, so when upgrading to 16g no dims are wasted.
     
  25. flynz4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #25
    The problem is that you spend an extra $200 for that upgrade from Apple.

    Doing what you propose, you spend $200 + $40 = $240 for 16GB. If you upgrade to 16GB and discard the the original RAM, you pay $0 + $80 = $80 for 20GB of total RAM, of which you could use only 16GB. It gives you 4GB to sell on eBay if you have the time or inclination to get a small portion of that $80 back.

    /Jim
     

Share This Page