How safe is ebay for buying a powerpc

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by macmee, Jan 16, 2017.

  1. macmee Suspended

    macmee

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    Ok sorry for so many threads. I've never used ebay for buying towers, and powerpcs are quite old so I'm worried about them breaking during shipping or something.

    I'm trying to win an emac on ebay and the seller told me it's in working order. In the seller's "ask a question" page it says they don't accept returns.

    So now, since the seller messaged me saying it's working, if they ship the mac to me and it doesn't turn on or is broken in an obvious way (like the CRT is dead), in that case would ebay force the seller to process a return since its damaged?

    I am worried that the seller would blame UPS and that UPS would say I couldn't prove anything so I'd just be out my money.

    I was also wondering how shipping goes with G5s because some are water cooled, right? What would happen if you bought one from ebay and it had leaked during shipping?
     
  2. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #2
    I've had mixed luck with shipping CRTs.

    The last one had internal damage that wasn't there before being shipped. It was a private sale, and was about $100 all in(price+shipping). The seller and I worked together with UPS on it-he sent "before" photos and I sent photos of the packaging and the damage. A week later. UPS sent the seller a check for the full amount(I think it was $106 total) which he promptly forwarded to me. I'd had the monitor shipped to work, and about two weeks later our regular driver asked for it. I boxed it up in the shipping box, handed it to him, and that was the end of that. UPS had the monitor, and neither the seller nor I were out any money.

    In my case, the specific problem was that the CRT had a big green patch in the corner due-presumably-to losing an alignment magnet. It worked, but to me was unusable.

    The LCS on the G5 is a self contained unit. I've bought both LCS G5s and complete "processor units"(LCSs with the processors installed, which are about an 8" cube) and never had an issue with shipping. Just be aware that shippers can wreak havok on a poorly packed G5-there have been plenty of threads here about that.
     
  3. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #4
    Personally, unless the seller is a commercial unit using appropriate packaging I would only bid on items I was prepared to collect.

    I bought a G5 from a refurbisher and it arrived badly dented with broken handles from rough handling during shipping, despite generous if unorthodox (8 old CD drive units used as padding) packaging.

    I agreed an exchange and returned the G5 in person. At the seller's premises there was a tower of damaged G5s stacked on their sides from floor to ceiling. All returns from damage in transit.

    The only other tower I bought arrived intact but DOA. Since then, I do my own shipping.
     
  4. macmee thread starter Suspended

    macmee

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    well - I lost the G3 iMac auction but won a quad core G5.

    I really want one and hope soooooooo badly that it comes in tact

    if not I guess I might stand to lose a little bit of cash :(
     
  5. Septembersrain Contributor

    Septembersrain

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    How much did you end up paying?
     
  6. macmee, Jan 16, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2017

    macmee thread starter Suspended

    macmee

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    155 USD

    Best case: it works fine

    Worst case: I will gut it and make a sick hackintosh out of it

    edit: o it says "Global Shipping Program" on the listing and I also paid with paypal so I also think I'm doubly insured, and the seller messaged me saying it's working so if I get a broken mac in the mail I'm probably safe anyway.
     
  7. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #8
    Quad. Nice!

    I've got one of my own on the way some time soon. Be interesting in seeing how much faster it is than my current G5.
     
  8. Septembersrain Contributor

    Septembersrain

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Location:
    Texas
    #9
    Wow! That's affordable! I've never owned any Mac computers. Can you send me a link with specs? Are these the ones that can be modded?
     
  9. macmee, Jan 16, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2017

    macmee thread starter Suspended

    macmee

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #10
    I have been so desperate to get my hands on a quad so I'm really excited :D congrats on yours as well!
    --- Post Merged, Jan 16, 2017 ---
    http://www.ebay.ca/itm/182418702364

    You can't upgrade the processors in them but you can put an SSD in them, 16GB of RAM and a better graphics card.

    I think I got a good deal on this listing because the specs say it's a dual core (but the title & pictures show a quad, and I contacted the seller and it is in fact a quad). Also the listing description is more like a disclaimer but I spoke to the seller directly and it's in good working condition.

    Nevertheless I am also going to attempt to win another quad too just to make sure I do get a working one.
     
  10. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #11
    The G5 Quad is the last model of G5. It's got two Dual Core 2.5 processors (hence Quad). It's liquid cooled and can have a max of 16GB ram.

    Like any other Mac you can add cards, make additions (adding drives), etc. But 'modding' would mean gutting it as a Mac and putting a PC's guts in there.

    Which wouldn't make any sense (except as if macmee notes it arrives DOA) as the 2.0 Dual Core, the 2.3 Dual Core and the Quad all share the exact same case. If you're going to gut it, better to buy a dead 2.0 DC.

    PS. The Quads can hold their own in todays computing environment but it's the last PowerPC Mac that can. And as a PowerPC Mac it's limited to Leopard 10.5.8 and everything that limitation means.
     
  11. Septembersrain Contributor

    Septembersrain

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Location:
    Texas
    #12
    If you get two working ones, I'm totally up to buying one from you!

    Thank you for this explanation. I'm only used to having PCs. I'm new to Mac anything. It doesn't have to be the fastest as honestly, I'm still trekking on a 5 year old HP laptop. I just want to try MacOS and add as much RAM as I can and maybe an SSD (I've never owned a computer with one yet, it'll be an experience).
     
  12. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #13
    It's good you're hanging out here (I see you in the iPhone forum a lot) and asking questions. But your enjoyment will be based on your usage and expectations.

    You have a five year old HP laptop, but it can still run Windows 10. The youngest PowerPC Mac is 11 years old and can only run Leopard max.

    If you're looking to experience MacOS versus OS X then you'll probably be wanting to spend money on a later model Mac Pro or MacBook Pro.

    Apple switched to Intel chips in 2006. Some of the first Intel Macs are limited to OS X 10.6.8 Snow Leopard because Lion and above requires a Core Duo. So, if Intel is your path you probably want to avoid the early (2006) Intel Macs.

    But if PowerPC is something that interests you then your experience will become a series of workarounds and optimizing. Which can be fun - but can also be extremely frustrating.

    Not trying to discourage you from PowerPC, just trying to let you know what you can expect. If that's not something you want to deal with then visiting here may just be a nice experience for you but not something to take seriously.
     
  13. appleish19, Jan 16, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2017

    appleish19 macrumors regular

    appleish19

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    #14
    I've had three eMacs and three Power Mac G5 shipped from eBay all but one of the Power Mac G5's were packaged in a way that they arrived without damage the other G5 well.... let's just say the handles were flatted against the bottom of the case :eek:.

    I've had good luck by contacting the seller before they ship and asking them to make sure they package well and that I'm really looking forward to getting the computer. Also by mentioning you're a collector I've had people reply oh I'll make sure I package it extra well for you :)
    --- Post Merged, Jan 16, 2017 ---
    Definitely a quad with a good video card in it and a decent amount of ram is it still a completely capable computer. I'm a undergraduate biology student and I use it for all kinds of things along with my MacBook Pro.

    In fact I use all of my power PC stuff regularly. I'll alternate between taking notes on my iPad Pro or my PowerBook G4 12 inch
     
  14. Septembersrain Contributor

    Septembersrain

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Location:
    Texas
    #15
    Good point. However, I would have preferred to keep Windows XP or 7 but when I just went to try out Windows 10 and wanted to revert, I ended up just leaving it. I do like to explore and learn.

    The software isn't such a big deal as I'm definitely not a power user. Safari, maybe a few emails. I really use my phone for everything. I think the aspect that appeals is getting into the hardware part. I haven't built or modded a computer in almost 8 years. It would be a nice hobby again.

    I'm also not really well funded, so it would be a long drawn out project that I can't afford to put a lot upfront for. So on that aspect, is the PowerPC more in line? What is the going rate for Mac Pros?
     
  15. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #16
    If hardware is your thing, I'd suggest a G4. The G4's have a lot of stuff that can be plugged in to them to make them better. From video/SATA/USB 2.0 cards and processor cards to Bluetooth adapters and audio/video equipment.

    The G5's are pretty much cooked in the sense that you don't want to be messing too much with stuff inside the case. G5s run hot and Apple designed the thermal environment inside the case specifically to cool them. Messing with that can have a bad effect.

    A G4 MDD (Mirrored Drive Door) would probably give you the best enjoyment. Thermally, they are a better design and they are easier to upgrade. Max of 2GB ram though.

    Can't really help you with anything that's Intel based. My only Intel Mac is a Core Solo MBP and is Snow Leopard max.

    Your budget though is pretty much in line with PowerPC. Except for some collectble/rare models most PowerPC Macs should ring in at under $200. A maxed out stock MDD shouldn't be more than $50.

    Video cards that cost hundreds of dollars new can be had usually for less than $50. Flashing is also an option. My first SATA PCI card was a $10 card for a PC that I flashed.

    Then we get into making the software work with the hardware and getting the most out of it that you can.
     
  16. Septembersrain Contributor

    Septembersrain

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Location:
    Texas
    #17
    I'll have to think long and hard and read a bit more here before I make a choice. I hope you don't mind in the future if I ask you for some advice. Thank you so much!
     
  17. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
  18. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #19
    Depends what Mac Pro you are looking at, I got a maxed out 1,1 for $200 excluding shipping. The 1,1 and 2,1 max out at El Capitan (10.11), but are still really powerful computers. The 3,1 can run Sierra, but it is difficult running upgraded graphics cards in those. A 4,1 Mac Pro is probably the most stable bet. These can be upgraded to a 12 core system, and when flashed to the 5,1 firmware, can run Sierra with no issues.
     
  19. macmee, Jan 16, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2017

    macmee thread starter Suspended

    macmee

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #20
    Ha, if I end up getting the second one too I'll let you know!

    I was pursuing a 4,1 on ebay but I was reading about the 12 core upgrade. Two things I learned to be aware of with the 4,1 were:

    1. make sure to buy a dual CPU right from the start if you want to upgrade to 12 cores, or else you will need a new CPU tray

    2. its the only mac pro apple made that has lidless CPUs, so it might be more expensive to buy CPUs, or you might have to get abit hacky with fitting everything in it

    Fortunately the quad G5 is my dream computer from when I was younger so I'm not too upset at losing out on the 4,1 I was looking at :D
     
  20. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #21
    Ack! I have had a few horror stories with GSP. The problem is that eBay routes this through the cheapest courier routing possible so you have to factor in extremely rough handling during transit. No other way to undercut the normal shippers. It can also take a bit longer. Most of the GSP parcels I get from the US are sent via Paris before hitting the UK. This can add a week to the shipping. Also, the more couriers involved, the more your parcel is subject to knocks, bumps and squashes on reloading/unloading.

    As long as the seller packages this properly, there won't be a problem, however, once it leaves eBay's GSP depot, it is all in the hands of third party shippers chosen by eBay, over which the seller has no control. I had a couple of software packages totally destroyed when delivered. Once you put a claim in, it all goes against the seller even if the fault is with the courier that eBay selected (in one case, the packages were left out in the rain on a palette somewhere and arrived sopping wet). You will get your money back, however, and pretty much immediately.
     
  21. iModFrenzy macrumors 6502a

    iModFrenzy

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Location:
    Lead The Way!
    #22
    If I'm getting something , for example my MBP 2006, I always find it good to shoot the seller a message saying to package the item well to avoid issues. By all means, they could just ignore it but I just send it anyway this way ,hopefully, they aren't careless.

    But nice , I'd love to have a Quad. I'm jealous . Max it out! :D
     
  22. dustinschings macrumors 6502

    dustinschings

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    #23
    Don't scare me guys! I just won an eBay auction for a 20" iMac G4 for $31, free shipping. While I did message the seller who stated the free shipping was an accident, he said he will honor it. I asked him to package it well and if it arrives safely, I would send him some cash to help out on the shipping. He is only 3h25m away, but that's a bit of a drive, and he wouldn't meet half way.

    Time will tell if it arrives safe or not...
     
  23. Eriamjh1138@DAN macrumors 6502

    Eriamjh1138@DAN

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    BFE, MI
    #24
    I recently purchased a quad and the seller said he spent 4 hours packing it.

    He put it in a garbage bag to protect against moisture, stuffed firm Styrofoam between the handles and the body along with a layer at the top and bottom to make it even all the way around, then used firm thick-board foam insulation as an internal box, taped it all together, then surrounded it by a double-corrugated cardboard and taped the literal f*ck out of it all.

    It took me 15 minutes to extract it from this cocoon.

    It arrived... undamaged. Shipped from about 200 miles away ground fedex. Shipping was $50.
     
  24. macmee thread starter Suspended

    macmee

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #25
    mine is being shipped over 3728 miles and shipping cost $25

    I think this poor mac is about to go on quite the adventure, here's hoping it survives.
     

Share This Page