How To Clear RAM on iPhone X

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by alexberry, Nov 3, 2017.

  1. alexberry macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    #1
    something I did from time to time was clear RAM on previous iPhones as a way to ensure closed apps were properly closed and RAM freed up. It was done by holding down the power button until the swipe to power off prompt appears, and then pressing the home button.

    Anyone know how to do this on the iPX?
     
  2. specik macrumors 6502

    specik

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
  3. iModFrenzy macrumors 6502a

    iModFrenzy

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Location:
    Lead The Way!
    #3
    You mean force-restarting/powering off the device? I would be Power + Volume down for that, however when I did those force resets the iPhone lost some of my text message data(however this was during iOS 11 Beta time) so I'm scared to do that unless I need to(for example, frozen iPhone).
     
  4. Steve121178 macrumors 68040

    Steve121178

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, UK
    #4
    'Parked' apps use virtually nothing. I don't know why you are even worried about this.
     
  5. alexberry thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    #5
  6. Ries macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    #6
    Rebooting the phone is certainly something that exists. It usually fixes apps/ios gone awry over time. I.e. currently (facebook) Messenger sometimes looses the keyboard for input fields and you need to kill it to fix it.

    Restart your iPhone X
    1. Press and hold the Side button and either volume button until the slider appears.
    2. Drag the slider to turn your iPhone X completely off. *
    3. After your iPhone X turns off, press and hold the Side button again until you see the Apple logo.
     
  7. Givmeabrek macrumors 68040

    Givmeabrek

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Location:
    NY
    #7
    Empty Ram is wasted Ram. You are not talking Windows here. Clearing Ram does not improve performance. :)
     
  8. mazdamiata210 Suspended

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014
    #8
    It is a real thing
     
  9. alexberry thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    #9
    OK, maybe this is one of those things I should just stop thinking about... At least I don’t clear every app from background after each use like some folk do!
     
  10. Moi Ici macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    #10
    I’ve used this on my iPad when things slow down. It works. I see the internal ram cleared up as I have a utility that show ram etc in use and idle. iPad 10.5 pro.
     
  11. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #11
    That is correct.
    The user does not need to worry about clearing ram.
    The iOS automatically handles it.
    Its not Android or windows 98:D
     
  12. Moi Ici macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    #12
    To add; my iPad has slowed down to “freeze” not moving until I clear the ram. Nothing to do with the programs running, I have to do it to get things moving again.
     
  13. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #13
    If your ipad freezes with nothing moving then you should consider a restore with itunes and setup as new.
    I never had that happen with my ipad.
     
  14. icw70 macrumors newbie

    icw70

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    #14
  15. mazdamiata210 Suspended

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014
    #15
  16. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #16
    Craig Federighi is still at Apple.
     
  17. Seth Matthews macrumors regular

    Seth Matthews

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    #17
    Uh, no, they did not fire him. What the hell are you talking about? :confused:
     
  18. mazdamiata210 Suspended

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014
    #18
    Mixed up names, I was thinking of Forstall... Either way, clearing the ram has helped me before when something was acting wonky. Let's face it, iOS is wonky sometimes.
     
  19. alexberry thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    #19
    Whether or not the operation performs a useful function on occasion or not is clearly up for debate. However, the bottom line is that it seems this is no longer possible with the iPhone X, which would suggest that Apple, at least, don't view this as something ever of use...
     
  20. firewire9000 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
  21. Reant macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2017
    #21
    I have also been trying to find a way to do this without any luck.

    As to those who think it is pointless or stupid, try thinking of it this way. Do you occasionally have an app that stops working and you need to force close it and relaunch? This is much the same thing. When you have a system process that isn’t working right, clearing ram often gets things going again. Would rebooting the phone also fix it? Sure, but rebooting the phone would also fix a stuck app yet no one claims you don’t need the option to force quit an app.

    I support hundreds of users, many with iPhones. There have been many times I’ve cleared ram to get WiFi or email connections going again.

    Moral of the story is that you don’t need to get defensive just because you didn’t know a feature of your phone existed. Responding to someone looking for answers without an answer or something useful to add is not helpful to anyone.
     
  22. Hustler macrumors 6502

    Hustler

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    #22
    To all those saying it’s not needed, while I’m waiting for my iPhone x to arrive, I’m using my iPhone 6 which acts like it’s powered by molasses. I just did the hold sleep button, then when slide to unlock comes on, just hold the home button that I saw in the link below. Believe me when you phone is that slow, it makes it noticeably faster to use!!
     
  23. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #23
    So, getting back to the original question--is it still doable on iPhone X (given that it exists on other iPhone models)?

    Whether or not it's needed or wanted or anything like that is a separate item.
     
  24. Hustler macrumors 6502

    Hustler

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    #24
    Well as I stated above, I don’t have the x. But something I would try if I did was to enable assistive touch. Then use the home button from there when trying the reset.
     
  25. lah macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    #25
    To force close an app. Long press on the apps when in the card view and a red circle will pop up on the corner of the apps. This is how you close them. So far this is the only thing I hate about the X. I wish I could just swipe up...
     

Share This Page