How to get your free Apple remote!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by jk000, Mar 18, 2008.

  1. jk000 macrumors regular

    jk000

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    I recently bought a MacBook Pro, disappointed there's no remote included with the mac now... anyway, a few days later I was playing about on Apple.com and saw this http://www.apple.com/getamac/whichmac.html

    Scroll down to the bottom, it says "On every mac"...Front Row + Apple Remote.

    I rang up yesterday to ask about this, received my free remote this morning with apologies from Apple, they're gonna change the page, so do it quick!;)
     
  2. digitalfrog macrumors regular

    digitalfrog

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    #2
    mmmmhhh ...

    It says with every mac, not every macbook.

    I'm new to Apple, so I don't know if in their eyes a macbook is a mac ?
    If it's the same then I'm going to print it and walk to an apple shop

    Ralph



     
  3. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #3
    If you don't think a MacBook is a Mac, then which Apple computer is a "Mac"?

    Just print the ad and go get it. That, or phone them up. They may be able to serve you better over the phone.
     
  4. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
  5. dja1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
  6. Ged' macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    #6
    hmmmm

    It also says built in wireless and bluetooth. But I know i had to pay £25 for my wireless and bluetooth card in my mac pro.

    Ok I see the wireless remote is in the actual macbook description rather than in the "On Every Mac" section.
     
  7. digitalfrog macrumors regular

    digitalfrog

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    #7
    It worked for me too ! Thanks jk000 !

    I bought a new airport express N and asked about the remote - they told me it was not sold anymore with the new macbooks.

    Drove them to the webpage, no discussion: they sold me the remote for ....



    .... 1 cent !
     
  8. mrat93 macrumors 65816

    mrat93

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    #8
    I actually feel like buying a Mini, then showing them where it says "Built in iSight camera."
    However, it does list the compatible Macs in the description, but above it says "On Every Mac."
     
  9. nintendude macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    MD
    #9
    on the phone being transferred to another CS person..............

    they said that there was nothing they could do but file a complaint:mad:
     
  10. pugple macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
  11. Fundillo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Location:
    Arizona
  12. digitalnicotine macrumors 65816

    digitalnicotine

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #12
    Good luck with this. I'm sure the site will soon be updated to say "Available with every Mac*", or something similar. They stopped including them for a reason, so I'm sure they will prefer fixing a website glitch over supplying remotes to everyone who complains. Hope it works out for those who try this, though. :)
     
  13. jlanuez macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Location:
    USA
  14. jk000 thread starter macrumors regular

    jk000

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    Call AppleCare


    Well, I'm in the UK so I called the standard AppleCare telephone number (by the way if you are in the UK call Apple regent Street and select option two, it bypasses the '0845' prefix, making the call a standard charge, which is included in your free minutes on most mobile phone calling plans!)

    When connected to an AppleCare agent I just took it from there, if they argue, be persistent.:)
     
  15. zeesa macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    #15
    Thanks for the tip!

    I am on the phone with the guy right now and he just so happens to be a "product specialist" (he said I was lucky that I got him) and he's replacing it!

    Thanks so much for the info!!!!

    Julie
     
  16. zeesa macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
  17. chas0001 macrumors 6502a

    chas0001

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Alicante, SPAIN
    #17
    You can get a USB one that works with the apple remote. I have one and it works really well.

    http://twistedmelon.com/mira/
     
  18. brn2ski00 macrumors 68020

    brn2ski00

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
  19. FakeWozniak macrumors 6502

    FakeWozniak

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    #19
    The web page is apparently updated in the US.
     
  20. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #20
    no it isnt...
     
  21. FakeWozniak macrumors 6502

    FakeWozniak

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    #21
    Mea Culpa

    I thought it used to say something explicit like "the remote comes with every mac". Apparently, it never did, so I am WRONG.

    Just because the box says "on every mac" and the remote is mentioned. I guess that only applies to the newest machines that were purchased most recently and didn't include one.
     
  22. Sayer macrumors 6502a

    Sayer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #22
    It also says iLive '08 is included with every Mac, but the Mac Pro page on the Apple Store doesn't list it, either.

    Might want to call back and get that too before Steve realizes he's giving away free stuff.
     
  23. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #23
    iLife 08 is included with every Mac.
     
  24. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #24
    but iLive isn't :eek:
     
  25. MacDanielG macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Location:
    FLA
    #25
    so what is the # everyone is calling????????!
     

Share This Page