How to install OS with keyboard

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Lschneds, Sep 1, 2016.

  1. Lschneds macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    #1
    I'm needing to wipe my computer and basically get it ready to sell, and so I've managed to wipe the disc. However I've had to do so with the keyboard as my tap or click won't work (seems to be a common issue in Disk Utility). Now I'm trying to reinstall OS X, and I make it to the window where I chose the disc to install it on and there is the two arrows that turn blue on the bottom, back and install. I cannot for the life of me figure out how to click install! I'm able to highlight the disc I want but I cant figure out what keys will actually get me to the installation as I can't click the install arrow. Help!
     
  2. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
  3. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #3
    A lot of the time, Space will activate fields or buttons that have been selected.

    But the simpler solution is to use a mouse.
     
  4. Lschneds thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    #4
    I don't have a mouse handy that I can use, and I've tried all the cmd + every button, an, space etc. They have worked until this point so I'm hoping there is one that will click me that last button :/
     
  5. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #5
    If you can't get any keys to work to help you out, find a mouse somewhere. Most any cheap USB mouse will do the job. (hint: it doesn't need to have an apple on the mouse :D )
    A USB mouse is nice in an emergency when you can't get the keyboard to respond properly.

    So, you are in the MacBook Pro section - Is the trackpad dead?
     
  6. Lschneds thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    #6
    No, the trackpad works fine, just not in the disk utility for whatever reason. It did the same thing when I got the computer and was setting it up, but I had managed to find a sweet spot that would register clicks. The arrow moves, I just can't tap or click, I've been clicking and tapping like a madman for like an hour but it won't register in the computer. Normally it works fine with no issues.
     
  7. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #7
    - If it's purely in Disk Utility, just use the Terminal version.
     
  8. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #8
    Seems more like a hardware issue, then a software one. I'd opt for a cheap mouse myself
     

Share This Page