How to sell an iPod Touch?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Kodachrome, Sep 3, 2008.

1. Kodachrome macrumors member

Okay, so I got a free iPod Touch 8GB from Apple's 'Back to school" promotion. I already have a perfectly fine older iPod and 8GB isn't enough for me, so I'm trying to sell the Touch. Its harder then you'd think. I've tried craigslist, but there are so many of them being sold there the going price is really low. A new one goes for $299, craigslist has people selling them for 200. I'm hoping to get more than that, possibly around the ~250+ range. And before you tell me I should just take $200 - I cant. I'm a poor college student and I need a good deal on the iPod to help alleviate the shock of buying a MacBook Pro.

SO, considering craigslist's market is flooded (and ebay is similar, plus I dont like dealing with ebay), I have a different idea. I will stand outside of an apple store with a sign: "Buy my new iPod touch 8GB for $50 less than what the Apple Store charges". I should be able to find at least one person willing to do it, right? Considering this is a brand new, in plastic, genuine iPod.

edit: and I know new iPods are coming soon, which is another reason why I want to do this soooon (next few days)

Any thoughts/ideas on this?

2. Ivan P macrumors 68030

Ivan P

1) I wouldn't be surprised if people at the Apple Store try to get you removed, because you're certainly going to affect their business even if it is one iPod.

2) I'm stumped as to why you're using the sympathy thing of "I'm poor and just paid all this money on a MBP..."; that was your choice to buy, there are cheaper notebooks out there, so don't complain to us.

3. veganskier macrumors newbie

veganskier

Not sure if you want to stand outside the Apple store- they'd probably kick you out for trespassing. Also consider that if someone buys from Apple they can return it if there are problems, whereas if they buy from you...