I hit the master reset button on jailbroken phonEe.

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by nojokews6, Jul 22, 2010.

  1. nojokews6 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #1
    Now it's showing the apple logo for over two hours ??
     
  2. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
  3. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
  4. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    DFU is the only way to fix it.

    Hitting any of the reset buttons on a jailbroken iDevice is not a good thing to do. It will always lock it and cause you to restore via DFU mode.
     
  5. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #5
    Well, Reset Network Settings, Keyboard Dictionary, Home Screen Layout, and Location Warnings are fine. It's really only Reset All Settings and especially Erase All Content and Settings that you have to avoid.
     
  6. nojokews6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
  7. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #8
    Here you go.
     
  8. nojokews6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #9
    Ok thanks guys. I'll try when I get home. What software will be on it when I dfu it. Right now it has 3.12
     
  9. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #10
    What ever firmware version you restore it to. It could be 3.1.2, 3.1.3, or 4.0.
     
  10. nojokews6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #11
    What's involved in that? Do I have to download the firmware to install back on it? Right now I have 4.01 on my iTunes from my new phone.
     
  11. pixelated macrumors 6502a

    pixelated

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #12
    You can restore it to any FW you have SHSH saved for & the most recent that has been released.
     
  12. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #13
    When you plug your iPod into iTunes when it's in DFU mode, iTunes will tell you it has detected an iPod in Recovery Mode. At that screen click the Restore button. It will download iOS 4.0 and put it onto your iPod.
     
  13. nojokews6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
  14. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #15
    If you have a 2G iPod Touch or an 8Gb iPod Touch 3G. All you have to do is download the 3.1.2 firmware (not allowed to tell you where) and while holding Shift (Windows) or Option (Mac) click the Restore button and select the 3.1.2 IPSW file to restore to it.

    If you have a 3G iPod touch you'll have to mod your hosts file to point iTunes to Cydia and hope you have your SHSH blobs saved there. Then get the 3.1.2 firmware and follow the instructions above.
     
  15. nojokews6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #16
    I have a 3GS iphone
     
  16. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #17
    Opps, my bad for not fully reading.

    Then you can download the 3.1.2 firmware from here. Mod your hosts file to point iTunes to Cydia. Then with your iPhone in DFU mode plug it into iTunes. iTunes will tell you that it found an iPhone in Recovery Mode and it needs to be restored. While holding Shift (Windows) or Option (Mac) click the Restore button and select the 3.1.2 IPSW file to restore to it.

    NOTE: You can only restore to 3.1.2 if Cydia has your SHSH blobs on file. If not, you MUST go to 4.0.1.
     
  17. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #19
    Thanks, I guess. If that comment was directed towards me.
     
  18. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #20
    Mostly to the OP:D
     
  19. nojokews6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #21
    How do I know if Cydia has my shsh on file?
     
  20. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #22
  21. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #23
    Do you remember if you ever tapped the "Make my life easier" button in Cydia? Or if Cyida ever said "This device has SHSHs on file for iPhone OS: 3.1.2" at the top in green text?
     
  22. nojokews6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #24
    No. I guess I'm **** out of luck. Any unlocks for 4.0 yet ?
     
  23. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.

Share This Page