i5 vs i7?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by hotelfive, Apr 14, 2010.

  1. hotelfive macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    #1
    Can anyone please explain to me in idiot terms (I'm referring to myself here) the main differences between the i5 and i7 processors? I am getting a new MBP in the near future and am wondering if it is worth the upgrade to the i7? I will be mainly using Aperture 3...I plan on upgrading to the 7200RPM HD as well as 8gig of RAM. I just want to make sure that Aperture runs as smoothly as possible (I've read that it can make a system very sluggish).

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    i5

    believe me, in the 1156 front, an i5 is the better choice
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    i7 has 130MHz faster clock speed and 1MB more cache.

    I recommend you getting the base 15" (or 17" if you're getting that) as the CPU upgrade is very small and I doubt you'll notice it. Save the money towards RAM and SSD
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    What does the 1156 has to do with this :confused:

    All Arrandales and Clarksfields use mPGA-989 socket, LGA 1156 and 1366 are for desktop only.
     
  5. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    Same deal. mPGA 989 is just a shrunk of 1156. In other words, the laptop version.
     
  6. hotelfive thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    #6
    I'm looking at getting the 17inch (main use for photo editing). Is the max amount of RAM you can put in these 8 gig?
     
  7. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    Yeah but all mobile i7s use it as well, actually all Nehalem based mobile CPUs use it. There is no laptop LGA 1366 AFAIK. Just don't get what you meant with that "believe me, in the 1156 front, an i5 is the better choice"

    Yes
     
  8. Naxul macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    #8
    The SSD price in combination with how many GB you get for it is too high for me. And it costs 360€ extra if I want 8GB of RAM.

    But Im still getting the 15inch i7 version, only question for me is; does it run hot fast? Im gonna use it almost the whole day long.. I dont want to damage my battery.. this is the only thing which can change my mind of buying a i7.

    [offtopic]Grats on choosing one of the best drummers as nickname[/offtopic]
     
  9. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #9
    Because of the QPI requirements there is no mobile 1366 equivalent. Everything is done thru DMI
     
  10. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #10
    You can buy SSD and RAM from 3rd party. No need for SSD but it's nice extra of course, same thing with 8GB RAM. 2x4GB costs around 300€ from aftermarket and then install it yourself (doesn't void warranty). SSDs are getting bigger and faster all the time so if you can wait, it's worth it.

    i5 and i7 have same TDP so they use about the same amount of power so battery won't drain faster with i7 and it won't be hotter.

    Yeah, but I still don't get what you meant by that :confused: Sure the i5 is better bang for your buck as i7 is pretty small upgrade as you only get 1MB more cache and few hundred MHz
     
  11. hotelfive thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    #11
    What's a decent brand of RAM to add to the 4gig (to bring it up to 8gig total)?
     
  12. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #12
    Kingston and OCZ are pretty popular but also expensive. This should be fine, three reviews, all 100% and lifetime warranty
     
  13. apw100 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    #13
    For photo editing and i5 should be more than enough. Spend the extra cash on upgrading to 8GB of RAM(not through Apple though, that will cost you) and a 7200rpm Firewire external hard drive.Keep your photo collections there and use it as the "scratch drive", it will improve performance.
    Upgrading to the high-res matte screen would also be a good idea if you are doing a lot of photo editing.
     
  14. hotelfive thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    #14
    Thanks for all the quick replies...Again sorry with the stupid questions...One more here though :) Can I simply add a 4 gig stick to the existing pre-installed ram or do I have to get two of the same, 4 gig sticks?
     
  15. arachn1d macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    #15
    ??? It'll cost you the same amount to upgrade to 8gb aftermarket. 400+ (newegg) and low quality ones mind you.
     
  16. wirelessmacuser macrumors 68000

    wirelessmacuser

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Location:
    Planet.Earth
    #16
    I cannot speak from experience (yet) as I just ordered mine yesterday.

    Yet that said I have identical T510 ThinkPads, the only difference being one has an i5 and the other i7. In the two month period I've used and compared these the pleasant surprise is the i7 runs just as cool as the i5, with virtually no difference.

    Thus I chose the i7 for my new MBP, but I still have concerns as my mid 2009 MBP displays poor thermal management and runs quite warm, sometimes even hot.

    Time will tell....:)
     
  17. frunkis54 macrumors 65816

    frunkis54

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    #17
    depends if they put 1 4gig ram or 2 2gig ram. i wouldn't be suprised if they use 2 2gig.
     
  18. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #18
    You need 2x4GB as MBPs come with 2x2GB pre-installed
     
  19. apw100 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    #19
    Yeah, but you can sell the 4GB of RAM that came with your MBP on Craigslist/ebay to help offset the cost of the 8GB you buy from NewEgg... ;)
     
  20. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #20
    Faster clock means a bit, 1MB cache not enough to pay more for a CPU. Stick with i5.
     
  21. DesmoPilot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #21
    i7s have hyperthreading, i5s don't, that's the real difference between the two. i5s are just i7s without hyperthreading basically (though according to Apples site these i5s do have HT, which I don't know to believe or not).
     
  22. hotelfive thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    #22
    There's almost too many options! lol....so confused...haha
     
  23. DesmoPilot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #23
    Not that many options really as per usual with Apple hardware (not complaining). If you want the i5 go for the low end 15" (153MHz isn't worth the extra $$ if you ask me), if you want i7 go for the high end 15 or 17. Though I do not know how OS X acts with hyperthreading (does it need to be coded for, does it do as big a job as it does on the windows platform?). Though as a side note, I can say hyperthreading increases temperatures by about 10-15c and power drain, don't know what it does to the mobile i7s.
     
  24. ebika macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    #24
    According to everything I can find (including http://www.apple.com/macbookpro/performance.html), both the i5 and i7 have hyper-threading. The biggest difference I've seen, other than the 130MHz clockspeed and 1MB cache difference is that the i5 is artificially capped to 3.06GHz turbo, whereas the i7 can reach 3.33GHz. I'm pondering which I want too. **edited the i5 turbo speed, thanks irrational, in your spazzy "there is something wrong on the intarwebs" way ;) **
     
  25. irrªtiºnal macrumors member

    irrªtiºnal

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
    #25
    Arrrrrrggggggh!
    Arrrrrrggggggh!
    Arrrrrrggggggh!!!!

    OK, enough!!!! I've been listening (reading) too much BS and speculation in the course of this thread... I've listened to how the only difference is the 1MB extra of L3 cache and the 130MHz clock speed. This is right. I've heard so much preposterous nonsense that I am gonna break it down for you babies:

    Code:
    Name			Intel® Core™ i5-540M	Intel® Core™ i7-620M
    ====================================================================
    Code Name		Arrandale		Arrandale
    Status			Launched		Launched
    Launch Date		Q1'10			Q1'10
    Processor #		i5-540M			i7-620M
    # of Cores		2			2
    # of Threads		4			4
    Clock Speed		2.53 GHz		2.66 GHz
    Max Turbo 		3.066 GHz		3.333 GHz
    Intel® Smart Cache	3 MB 			4 MB
    Bus/Core Ratio		19			20
    Bus Type		DMI			DMI
    System Bus		2.5 GT/s		2.5 GT/s
    Instruction Set		64-bit			64-bit
    Instruction Set Ext.	SSE4.1, SSE4.2		SSE4.1, SSE4.2
    Embedded		No			Yes
    Suppl. SKU		No			No
    Lithography		32 nm			32 nm
    Max TDP			35 W			35 W
    Budgetary Price		$257.00			$332.00
    
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Memory Specifications
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    
    Max Memory Size		8 GB			8 GB
    Memory Types		DDR3-800/1066		DDR3-800/1066
    # of Memory Channels	2			2
    Max Memory Bandwidth	17.1 GB/s		17.1 GB/s
    Physical Address Ext	36-bit			36-bit
    ECC Memory Supported	No			No
    
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Graphics Specifications
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    
    Integrated Graphics		Yes		Yes
    Intel® HD Graphics		Yes		Yes
    Intel® HD Graphics 
        Dynamic Frequency		Yes		Yes
    Graphics Base Frequency		500 MHz		500 MHz
    Graphics Max Dyn Freq.		766 MHz		766 MHz
    Intel® Flexible 
        Display Interface		Yes		Yes
    Intel® Clear Video 
        Technology			Yes		Yes
    Intel® Clear Video 
        HD Technology		Yes		Yes
    Dual Display Capable		Yes		Yes
    Macrovision* License 
        Required			No		No
    
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Advanced Technologies
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    
    Intel® Turbo Boost		Yes		Yes
    Intel® Hyper-Threading		Yes		Yes
    Intel® Virtualization		Yes		Yes
    Intel® Virtualization 
        for Directed I/O (VT-d)	Yes		Yes
    Intel® Trusted Execution	Yes		Yes
    AES New Instructions		Yes		Yes
    Intel® 64			Yes		Yes
    Idle States			Yes		Yes
    Enhanced Intel® Speedstep 	Yes		Yes
    Thermal Monitoring 		Yes		Yes
    Intel® Fast Memory Access	Yes		Yes
    Intel® Flex Memory Access	Yes		Yes
    Execute Disable Bit		Yes		Yes
    
    As you can see, appart from the Processor Number, the Clock Speed and the L3 Level Cache Size, other differences are Max Turbo Frequency, Bus/Core Ratio and intriguingly the fact that the i7 version is Embedded.

    :cool:
     

Share This Page