I'm a teacher, I cannot afford a new mac

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by hiorgos, Oct 3, 2018.

1. hiorgos macrumors newbie

Just out of frustration, let me share that I cannot afford a new mac.

I'm a teacher, and I use a 10 years old macbook pro in a daily basis, from preparing lessons to book designing. This old mac is getting old and slow, but I have kids now and my income is tied to the family budget. To buy a new mac just doesn't fit into it.

Oh, and I live in a top ten GDP country, I wonder how difficult is to buy a mac for a teacher in other places.

Apple is making millions in profits every year. Yet their computers keep the same expensive price tag they always had. At some point I'd like to see Apple considering their clients as people, not as milking cows.

Sorry for the rant.

2. keysofanxiety macrumors G3

keysofanxiety

Which new Mac model are you looking for? Not every MacBook is $6000.

A new MacBook or even MBA with your student discount would again be massively faster than your current model. You don’t have to go for the MacBook Pro.

Worst case, a cheap 2012 13” (very good price used due to market saturation) with an SSD & 8/16GB RAM will be a huge step up from your current one.

3. jerryk, Oct 3, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2018

jerryk macrumors 601

4. Howard2k macrumors 68020

Howard2k

Not an economics teacher right? :)

5. Audit13 macrumors 601

Audit13

What do you need the MacBook for? Can you not use a Windows laptop?

6. niji Contributor

niji

i hear you.
    especially because you are a teacher, i really empathize with you.
    i haven't looked up in which countries teachers are considered highly skilled and are therefore paid appropriately, but i am sure they are few. its a world wide social problem i think. whether it be in india, china, spain, or the usa.

fortunately, apple is selling some great devices that do meet teacher's needs.