I'm on my third iPad (3rdgen)

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Tmurray315, Mar 20, 2012.

1. Tmurray315 macrumors regular

So I pre ordered the iPad 3 I got it on the 16th with apple care +. The day I got it I noticed it had backlight bleeding I'm very anal about things like this so I went to a apple retail store and swapped it out with another one. Now the one I got has the same light bleeding so I called apple and they said they will send me a replacement. I love this iPad I just don't want it to have any problems. Are the new iPads known to have light bleeding? This is my first time owning an iPad is this normal? I hope the next one I get doesn't have this issue

2. MacAttacka macrumors 6502

Looking so hard for stuff like that would just ruin your enjoyment so I mean I dod a few basic checks to make sure the panel isnt faulty but then thats it. What if tyour third panel doesnt meet your expectations? Are you just going to keep returning it or settle on one? You could decide to do that and end up with a worse panel than you originally had.

3. Trepex macrumors 6502a

Trepex

^^^ This. Looked at the screen when it was booting (black, apple logo) and decided it looked great. Loaded a white page in Safari and decided the colour was even, not horribly yellow, and there were no glowing red dots (those are the only stuck pixels that annoy me!) and then I called it a day. I know if I go hunting, I'm just asking for trouble.

4. chemistry76 macrumors member

For the price of these objects, don't settle until you are satisfied.

That being said, I did have screen bleed on my iPad 2 that I got a week after release. I waited until January to replace it though - just before I sold it for a higher premium than I would have gotten for the one I'd been toting around for a year.

If you find a flaw you can live with, keep it until just before the warranty expires, then replace it and sell it for more $$ to get the new one coming out.