IMAC internal hard drive cant partition

Discussion in 'macOS' started by jwlayug, Mar 23, 2017.

  1. jwlayug macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    #1
    I'm planning to reformat my imac but my pc's telling me that I can't partition it. Can someone help me fix this issue? Here is the screenshot of my error. Thanks.[​IMG]
     
  2. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #2
    When you erase your Macintosh HD volume, ensure the format is Mac OS Extended (Journaled) and the Scheme is set for GUID. It should look similar to the below.

    Once that's done, it'll reinstall fine from there.

    EDIT: I noticed the Erase tab is greyed out for you. You'll need to:

    1) Hold CMD+R on startup to boot into macOS Utilities
    2) Select Disk Utility
    3) Erase Macintosh HD (don't select Partition, just erase) with the below Format/Scheme
    4) Reinstall macOS

    If you need to completely wipe your entire drive, BootCamp including, then:

    1) hold CMD+ALT+R on startup to boot into Internet Recovery.
    2) select the APPLE HDD 1000 instead and completely erase that, again with the below Format/Scheme.
    3)Then reinstall MacOS.

    Once that's installed, you can set up a new BootCamp partition.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. jwlayug thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    #3
    Yes, but the erase and partition button in my mac hdd is unclickable. :(
     
  4. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #4
    Sorry just noticed that, please see the edit :)
     
  5. jwlayug thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    #5
    I'll try this out. Btw, I don't want to delete my bootcamp. Thanks.
    --- Post Merged, Mar 23, 2017 ---
    Btw, do I need to prepare a bootable usb drive in reinstalling imac?
     
  6. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #6
    Nope, you can just do it through the CMD+R partition. You shouldn't run into many issues, it's pretty reliable.
     
  7. jwlayug thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    #7
    Hello, i try your solution but when i delete the hdd, it gives me this error.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #8
    That looks like it's booted into a 10.8 or 10.9 recovery partition. Did you do CMD+ALT+R on startup?

    If you did, try CMD+R on startup instead and attempt the erase again. If the Macintosh HD volume is greyed out, right-click it, select Unlock, then enter your user password. And then try to erase.
     
  9. jwlayug thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    #9
    Ok, i'll try this. Thank you btw.
     
  10. jwlayug thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    #10
    Both are not working. :(
    --- Post Merged, Mar 23, 2017 ---
    both are not working :(
     
  11. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #11
    Can you take a photograph? Is it the same error?
     
  12. jwlayug thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    #12
    I'ts the same at the top img error. Before when my hdd is still fine, i delete something inside disk utility, i forgot it now. After deleting that extra partitions that i forgot, i got this issue :(
     
  13. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #13
    Hmm OK. But you still have your macOS partition right (as in you can boot into the OS)? If so, login and run SMART Utility: https://cloudfront.volitans-software.com/smartutility323.zip

    If that passes, that will at least isolate that the problem isn't related to a failing hard-drive.

    If you don't have your macOS partition any more, or if it won't boot into it, boot into BootCamp and install HD Tune Pro: http://www.hdtune.com/files/hdtunepro_560_trial.exe

    Then click the 'Health' tab once installed and check the status at the bottom left. Any warnings or does it show as OK? (note: if you can boot into macOS, you don't need to worry about doing this through Windows)
     
  14. jwlayug thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    #14
    Yes, I can still boot. Thanks, I'll try this one. Hope it works. In any case, Thank you so much.
     
  15. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #15
    Hey no worries, we're here to help. There's still a nuclear option to get this fixed but it would mean losing the BootCamp partition. However we'll exhaust the other possibilities first and hopefully a few others can chime in with some ideas too.
     
  16. jwlayug thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    #16
    Thanks, here is the image when i open smart utility.
    Thanks, After opening smart utility, I got this result.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #17
    Jolly good, the hard-drive is OK so no worries there. Unsure why there's an EFI partition listed in there, though... that's certainly not right. It shouldn't be visible.

    Honestly I think it may be best to go the nuclear option. May I have a second opinion @Weaselboy? Best to completely wipe through Internet Recovery on this occasion and start again, unless you have any other ideas? I'm a little lost. :confused:
     
  18. jwlayug thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    #18
    I'm afraid to use the nuclear option. haha. This error is about half a year already. To be honest, i give up this issue long time ago but I really want to clean my pc and I can't do anything about it. :( Sad Story.
     
  19. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #19
    Yep... I agree. Somehow messing around there the normally hidden EFI partition has become visible and the Macintosh HD volume is no longer GUID.
     
  20. jwlayug thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
  21. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #21
    1. Boot from an external drive or installer USB.

    2. Reinitialize internal drive

    Problem solved.
     
  22. jwlayug thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    #22
    You mean, I'll install macOsx inside usb drive? How to reinitialize the internal drive? Thanks.
    --- Post Merged, Mar 23, 2017 ---
    I'm installing osx inside my flash drive. Can someone give me the next step?
     

    Attached Files:

  23. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #23
    "I'm installing osx inside my flash drive. Can someone give me the next step?"

    From the looks of the pic, you'll have to wait about an hour and 59 minutes...
     

Share This Page