iMac. Not loading Snow Leopard.

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Frensen1001, Feb 15, 2017.

  1. Frensen1001, Feb 15, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2017

    Frensen1001 macrumors newbie

    Frensen1001

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    #1
    I have a imac Intel i3 single core, 8gbs ram,
    Im having issue installing Snow Leopard....
    I can't get the install disc to boot up...
    I've tried with the original hardware.
    And no luck.
    I replaced the hard drive with a new crucial 250gb ssd. And 2- 4gb ram new
    I have also tried using a clean unformatted hdd
    I've tried booting off a usb stick.
    If I start from the cd, if I try running the disk it just does the same thin 12 hours straight every time.
    Nothing. No beach ball.
    I also have 2 copies of snow Leopard.
     
  2. T'hain Esh Kelch macrumors 601

    T'hain Esh Kelch

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Location:
    Denmark
    #2
    Does your hardware support Snow Leopard at all?
     
  3. Frensen1001 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Frensen1001

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    #3
    Apple states the following basic Snow Leopard system requirements are:
    • Mac computer with an Intel processor (IA-32). ...
    • 1 GB of RAM.
    • 5 GB of free disk space.
    • DVD drive (also accessible via Remote Disc) or external USB or FireWire DVD drive for installation.
    My computer:
    I3.
    8 Gb ram.
    250 free disk space.
    And as I stated in my post.
    I've tried 2 new copies of Snow Leopard.
    I've tried installing from the disk.
    Both from the desktop icon. And from the command. I've tried an 8gb usb drive, and a 32 gb.
    The computer runs great no issue on the old os.
    I've even tried 2 different hard drives, a hdd, and a ssd.
     
  4. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #4
    I know this isn't much of a solution but it is a workaround if you have another Mac.

    You can try install Snow Leopard directly onto your SSD through a USB>SATA dock and then fit it to your iMac once it's installed.
     
  5. Frensen1001 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Frensen1001

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    #5

    Great idea. I don't have access to a second mac right now. ......but still it's a great idea...
     
  6. wordsworth macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #6
  7. Frensen1001 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Frensen1001

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    #7
    Lol.... that website was my second goto for this.
    It's like the DVD player won't read the disk.
    Except that installs dmg. On to the stick but after I shut down and restart holding options key.
    The computer boots up the chime rings, I push and hold options key it brings up, Mac HD 1, Mac OS X Install disk, and the usb. The usb stick formatted Mac osx extended (journals) then installs Snow Leopard install disk as a bootable media.

    But after I select the default desktop install.
    It says it is installing (about 40 minutes) then it restarts and just hangs with the apple logo no beach ball..... nothing for 12 hours.
    If I boot from utilities via the Snow Leopard
    Install disk. It restarts. Then it hangs 12 hours nothing.....

    I've replace the hdd with a new sdd.
    And upgraded the ram to 12 gbs.
    It's a 2010 iMac 3.06GHz processor, Intel i3 dual core, with 12Gbs of 1333MHz DDR3.
     
  8. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #8
    What discs are you trying to install it from? You cannot use the white retail discs, you must use the grey restore discs that came with your model iMac.
     
  9. Frensen1001 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Frensen1001

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    #9

    Basically it never finishes. I can't get into disk utilities from the DVD install disk
    --- Post Merged, Feb 15, 2017 ---
    That's not what I was told.... I'm doing a clean install.
    My first disk was purchased overy the phone with apple customer support.
    And they said the grey disk won't install with the new ssd.
    Am I wrong?
    Should I install grey disk first then upgade?
     
  10. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #10
    Use the grey disc that came with your iMac. Only that disc will work with that model iMac. Also, I strongly suggest upgrading to a newer version of Mac OS X. 10.6 is extremely insecure and outdated.
     
  11. vkd Suspended

    vkd

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    #11
    When the installation wizard starts, after selecting language, click on Utilities, Disk Utility and format your drive. Give it a simple, one-word name (you can change it afterwards if you like, once the system is running properly). When you have a cleanly formatted drive to Apple standards, then close Disk Utility and continue with the installation process.
     
  12. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #12
    This computer may have received a firmware update which would enable internet recovery to work. You can try this by holding Command-option-R as you turn on the computer. This would get you an operating system that will boot the computer– it will probably be 10.7.5 Lion, but you wouldn't need discs if that update has been applied.
     
  13. Frensen1001 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Frensen1001

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    #13
    I have 2 Snow Leopard install disks.
    After double clicking the install disk it open another window.
    Left (utilities) and on the right it's (go back) and (continue) I click utilities and then restart. It restarts and just hangs with apple logo... nothing else after that.
    I've let it go like that for 12 hours.
    --- Post Merged, Feb 15, 2017 ---
    I did purchase a copy of lion last night and I'm going to try that ...... thanks chrfr
     
  14. nambuccaheadsau macrumors 6502a

    nambuccaheadsau

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    Nambucca Heads Australia
    #14
    Snow Leopard is getting on in years, but from memory Frenson it has to be version OS X.6.3 or X.6.4 to work on later iMacs such as yours, depending on the precise of release.
     
  15. Frensen1001 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Frensen1001

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    #15
    So I ended up installing lion then Sierra.

    I removed the new ssd a reinstalled the original hhd.
    I wasn't able to do a clean install.
     

Share This Page