In a Huge Mess With This MPB & My Torn Spinal Cord

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by KJTMS, Aug 9, 2008.

1. KJTMS macrumors newbie

It said the title should be descriptive, so I hope I is. Please be gentle on me since I am using a voice-activated, straw-type speech recognizer and I am a new paraplegic. I was in a car accident about 2 months ago and it has changed my life forever. Still everything I do is like I have never done it before (except dealing with Apple's Reps) but I know you are not into the details about so I will go on. (they are important in helping me, so I will leave them here).

I asked my bro. to bring my MBP 2.4, C2D, 4gb RAM computer to the hospital once I was out of ICU. He went into my apt which was exactly the way it was last left the night I went out to head for the mountains to attend a campfire. he put it in the neoprene sleeve and laptop backpack and brought to to me into my new room at the hospital. The next day, I had the nurse help me et set-up (I was no unable to use my arms, neck but could turn m head, and had a ventilator to assist me in breathing.)

After 1 hour getting me set-up she opened the notebook and turned it on. I could tell something was wrong just the way it booted up but when it as fully booted up the display screen was cracked!. It was like a hammer mark as in the right corner and a large area of all whiteness with some color streaks 3/4 of the way down and a "normal" looking 1/4 (lower part) of the display was up. I was instantly totally freaked out but to the questions.

I did purchase the extended applecare. I had a brother call applecare but they had to talk to me and since I still have a tube in my neck in case I have a breathing emergency, I am not easily understood. The guy at applecare sounded like he thought the whole call was a joke. I asked my brother to call back and ask the next person what can be done.