iOS 8 GM battery life

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by doublex14, Sep 10, 2014.

1. doublex14 macrumors regular

doublex14

Alright so I recently got the GM (I am a registered developer) and my battery life has been absolutely horrible. You see, I was on every beta and from 1-3 my battery and everything was fine, then I got beta 4 and my device took a turn for the worst. Battery went down 2-3% every 5 minutes and I was charging it almost 3-4 times A DAY. The phone would get very hot and I would just have to set it down and not use it. I had to go back to iOS 7 and when I did the battery issue persisted so I had to set up the device like new and download my contacts and photos and stuff manually. This issue has came back and it's giving me stress! I've come to the conclusion that there is something either wrong with my phones' battery, or I should just give it time to re-adjust. Any suggestions? My friend told me to backup, and then wipe, and then restore from backup but I'm not sure

2. Ballis macrumors 6502a

Yep. its crap. My phone sais Safari is the offender. I find that hard to believe though.

3. C DM macrumors Westmere

Seems about the same as it was in iOS 7 on my iPhone 5.

4. FreeState macrumors 68000

FreeState

Im on ATT iPhone 5s. I am getting better battery life than I ever did on iOS7. (I installed as a new phone on the last beta and my battery has been great ever sense.)

5. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

Jessica Lares

I saw that to begin with, but then it got better after another charge...

6. doublex14 thread starter macrumors regular

doublex14

7. Mabus51 macrumors 6502a

I'm getting terrible battery life on iOS 8 GM as well. iPhone 5S draining about 15 to 20% every hour. According to Usage the offender is the lock screen :eek: not sure what's going on with it. I only noticed because the phone has been in my pocket all day and it vibrated to alert me that the power level was at 20% left.

8. thomaskc macrumors 6502