iPad iPad Air 2 use very slow TLC nand

Discussion in 'iPad' started by From0toHero, Nov 27, 2014.

  1. From0toHero, Nov 27, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2014

    From0toHero macrumors regular

    From0toHero

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #1
    After i got the iPad Air 2 i was very happy with my new device. Its the 128GB with sim card. I still own my iPad Air 1 so i started to make some experiments.
    After i saw that the iPhone 6 Plus with 128Gb use inferior TLC nand i told myself check your new pad and i was shocked to see its also TLC. At first i told myself its sure not a big diffrence. So i took a video file that is 1700MB big and installed it via itunes. The iPad Air one transfered the file in 47 Seconds. The iPad Air 2 use 58 Seconds. Than i used a file that is 450MB big. This one took one the Air 14 seconds. On the Air 2 18 Seconds. So without any doubt the used nand is slower. Im very very disapointet by Apple. And the most ridiculous thing is that the ones that have buyed the 16gb version of the iPad Air 2 got the better MLC nand. We that payed a premium price are the loosers. And the best is Apple is planning to put in future I pads the better MLC again. We the early buyers are the loosers. Since the iPhone 3GS I bought every apple product. I'm guessing it's time to quit.
     
  2. Rodster macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #2
    I believe it only affects the 128GB models. Apple stopped using TLC in their iPhone's. I would hope they did the same with the iPad's. If so you can exchange it during the warranty period.
     
  3. From0toHero thread starter macrumors regular

    From0toHero

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #3
    I considered this

    Yeah it went true my mind. How can they use such ****** nand. I'm hopping they will change them in both, because I have the 6plus and iPad Air 2 and both with the TLc nand. The only problem is I'm not sure if Apple realy will abandon the TLC NAND.
     
  4. jjk454ss macrumors 601

    jjk454ss

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #4
    I know there's a way using Terminal and OpenSSH, or MobileTerminal, but has anyone come up with a simpler way to check the memory type? I have a 128GB iPhone amd a 128GB iPad and now I'm curious as to what they have in them.
     
  5. Rodster macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #5
    They will make the switch over to either a different TLC Nand or back to MLC. The questions are:

    1) How many 128GB iDevices did Apple mfg?

    2) When will the new Nand iDevices enter production?

    3) Will they honor the design flaw and swap those devices in question?
     
  6. From0toHero, Nov 27, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2014

    From0toHero thread starter macrumors regular

    From0toHero

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #6
    If its the ipad air 2 and iphone 6 they are TLC. But there is simple tool on pyger that tells you

    ----------

    I mean all 128gb are TLC

    ----------

    Imagine a ipad Air 2 with MLC WOULD BE A AWESOME DEVICE
     
  7. jjk454ss macrumors 601

    jjk454ss

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #7


    Where at? What's pyger?
     
  8. thadoggfather macrumors G3

    thadoggfather

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #8
    I don't know that this is conclusive, though it appears they seem to be doing something about it.

    I guarantee :apple: is still as of today selling new in box devices with TLC. And replacements as well.

    and as aforementioned, I believe all 128 of current gen air and iPhone are TLC, subject to change to a mix.

    64 is a mix, my 6+ is MLC, and 16 I think is all MLC
     
  9. From0toHero thread starter macrumors regular

    From0toHero

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #9
    Check this site


    http://www.techgravy.net/check-iphone-6-mlc-tlc-nand-flash-memory/
     
  10. mcdj macrumors G3

    mcdj

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #10
    A 12 second difference? Very disappoint! The nerve of Apple to steal precious seconds from our lives!
     
  11. From0toHero thread starter macrumors regular

    From0toHero

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #11
    Im not sure if they can change the tlc nand cause it uses 33% less room. Maybe that how they achieved to make the ipad that thinn. Its crazy

    ----------

    Its Not just much slower, it have a much shorter lifespan.
     
  12. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern California
    #12
    Have u used the tools to check what NAND type you have?
     
  13. From0toHero thread starter macrumors regular

    From0toHero

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #13
    Yes i did seem to be ok. The tool is telling me TLC ON BOTH IPHONE AND IPAD
     
  14. jjk454ss macrumors 601

    jjk454ss

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
  15. From0toHero thread starter macrumors regular

    From0toHero

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Location:
    Switzerland
  16. jjk454ss macrumors 601

    jjk454ss

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #16
    TLC in the iPad, I'll have to check my iPhone later.
     
  17. From0toHero thread starter macrumors regular

    From0toHero

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Location:
    Switzerland
  18. Rodster macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #18
    When I receive my 64 Air 2 from Best Buy i'll check it. Can you run the test without JB'ing the iPad? :confused:
     
  19. From0toHero thread starter macrumors regular

    From0toHero

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #19
    You can be sure to 100% it's TLC and no I have posted a link where you can check it without jailbreak

    ----------

    I never hade so many issues like with the iPhone 6 plus and the iPad Air 2.
    Apps crash more often. It resprings quite often. I have only 96 apps installed, so it's not the problem where guys installed 600-1000 apps. I don't even think they used TLC because it's cheaper. One MLC GB costs 90cents while TLC costs 70 cents. I guess the sole reason for using TLC was that it uses 33% less room and as bonus cost less. They where thinking nobody will ever even notice.
     
  20. tarasis macrumors 6502a

    tarasis

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    Here, there and everywhere
    #20
    Mine has TLC as well (uses the now Jailbreak test). Irritating.
     
  21. From0toHero thread starter macrumors regular

    From0toHero

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #21
    Anyone with more than 16GB don't even have to bother testing. All 64GB plus are TLC.
    I MEAN ALL IPAD AIR 2 ARE TLC that have more than 16GB
     
  22. Rodster macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #22
    Well thanks for the info. I guess it's going back. I will run the test anyway but no way am I keeping a device with faulty components. I lived thru the Nvidia GPU fiasco awhile back.
     
  23. From0toHero thread starter macrumors regular

    From0toHero

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #23
    I'M sorry to give you such bad information. I wish somebody would have told me before I went to buy the air 2
     
  24. thadoggfather macrumors G3

    thadoggfather

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #24
    This is not true. I have a 6+ 64 MLC
     
  25. Rodster macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #25
    Whew so there IS hope? :eek:
     

Share This Page