Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

coso

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Feb 9, 2012
I have a 13 Pro and almost instantly I had a feeling that my old iPhone 8 was sharper. I did some tests and indeed it is. I also read of others noticing it, so it's not a problem of my unit. Do you have an older iPhone to compare? Images look slightly out of focus. The RAW image taken with apps like Halide are even softer. It's better in terms of HDR and noise levels, but not sharpness. Am I alone? I attach one of many samples. This could also be seen on the macrumors articles (looking at rocks for example). I did many tests, it's not a DOF problem, images are steady and on the same plane of focus (I'm a photographer). There's a lot of post processing in the 13 images, that almost makes them look sharper, but in some areas it's clear that in my case the 8 captures more detail

Attachments

• comp.jpg
    comp.jpg
    238.1 KB · Views: 673

RRC

macrumors 68000
Nov 3, 2020
Think we are going to need more comparisons than that…

But either you’ve got a faulty iPhone 13 or something is wrong as there’s no way the iPhone 8 should be sharper.

coso

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Feb 9, 2012
I can give you as many as you want

More samples here https://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/65514319 of another user with a 12 mini and 13 pro

Sometimes they are on par, sometimes the 13 is better, but in close range the 8 is almost always sharper. It would be interesting to see what others think, which have an older but not too old iPhone on hands. A simple picture of a written piece of paper at 50cm distance is enough

Or there’s a batch of faulty camera modules or they’re all like this

now i see it

macrumors G4
Jan 2, 2002