iPhone 3G- how to use no data plan

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by snake101st, Aug 14, 2008.

  1. snake101st macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #1
    I found a good deal from a friend on a 3G Iphone and was wondering if it was possible to use the SIM from my AT&t Razr and unlock/jailbreak it to work with that, because I cant afford the data plan.

    Is there any way of doing this? Basically just staying on AT&T and using my sim card, but having no data plan?

    Im just confused because everyone says the 3G hasnt been unlocked- I dont know if it has to be in order to do this. Thanks.
     
  2. auburnfan24 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #2
    yes it will work....only until at&t find out. plus your iphone will be using minimal data during some activities in the processes of the phone. that's what apple told me about the phone. but, yes it will work.
     
  3. California King macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #3
    Doesn't the 2 year contract require you to stay on a specific plan? If you do get a different SIM card, how will you cancel the other one? Or is the contract just to stay with ATT for 2 years?
     
  4. snake101st thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #4
    Im not buying it from att/apple, and Im using my RAZRs sim card. I wont activate it with itunes, since he did it already, so I should be able to just jailbreak it and use it... I hope.
     
  5. snake101st thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #5
    Oh yeah, I forgot to ask... I should be able to use the iphone 3G with my RAzrs sim right? Its not a 3G razr. Since Im jailbreaking and not using data (other than wifi) I should be ok, right? Or do I need to get a 3G Sim?
     
  6. mreddys10 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    #6
    if u r jailbreaking it, then download Boss Prefs from cydia, and it has options to completely turn off EDGE and 3G data transmission. I have done the same with my 2G iphone. I did this because my EDGE services were automatically activated. And no, u dont need a '3G sim' :D no such thing. U should not have any problem using ur fone after that.
     
  7. HiFiGuy528 macrumors 68000

    HiFiGuy528

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #7
    The purpose of an iphone is being able to use all its features. That is the reason why ATT makes you get the unlimited data plan so you don't have to worry about data charges. If you don't have the data plan on your iphone, what is the point of getting one?
     
  8. snake101st thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #8
    I know alot of people that did the same as I want to do with the 1st gen... simply use all of its features on wifi since the college I go to has wifi, as well as my house and many other areas, so theres no need for expensive data. Also, I need a new ipod (mine is a first gen 4gb nano) and phone, so I figure getting one thing would be best. ;)
     
  9. mreddys10 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    #9
    I agree with snake101st.....data transfer is not the only reason to buy the iphone. That is like saying u have a cam in ur phone, y buy a digi cam? anyway, u wont be saying the same thing when u take a look at the stupid data plans they have in canada...lol. And im sorry if i sound rude or anything, dont mean to :) I just use wifi wherever i go, and if i dont have wifi to surf, i just listen to music on my iphone :p
     
  10. Knolly macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    #10
    People who tell him that there's no point in having an iPhone without data plan:

    Apparently he thinks there is, so let him be happy with it.

    @snake:
    I essentially did the same thing as you. I believe you will have to unlock the phone as well.

    Also, because the phone can use data doing various things without you deliberately doing anything, call AT&T and add WIX Blocking to your account, it will stop you from using ANY data, and thus potentially being accidentally charged for it.
     
  11. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #11
    yep

    He wants to look cool. Unfortunately, many Apple products have become status symbols.

    I agree with you. If I wasn't able to use my iPhone to its fullest extent, I'd be better off with a smaller, slimmer phone for voice call and text.
     
  12. TechIsCool macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #12
    Yes Very simple and here is a tutorial made it my self since people keep asking :)

    [​IMG]
     
  13. snake101st thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #13
    Nice, techiscool, thanks for that!

    That will only block cell data and not wifi, right? Just making sure, as I said, Im still a noob with iphone stuff.
     
  14. excalibur313 macrumors 6502a

    excalibur313

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    #14
    Remember that you can still use it just like a normal iphone when in a wifi network. So if you spend the majority of your time on a campus, at work, at your home, etc then it might actually make a lot of sense I think. (I'm probably biased because I want to do the exact same thing with my razr)
     
  15. Arisian macrumors 68000

    Arisian

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Location:
    China
    #15
    just to verify. This process works PERFECTLY. Ive been checking my at&t account for the last 3 days to see if its sending data at all and its not. its great.

    Im starting to think that maybe I should move to a carrier that has a cheaper, 3g data plan.

    Nonetheless, i almost feel like this should be a sticky esp. since about 5 people have messaged me asking if this works.
     
  16. question fear macrumors 68020

    question fear

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    The "Garden" state
    #16
    Slightly OT, but if you switch carriers you are leaving the iPhone behind. T-Mobile 3G is not supported by the chip in the iPhone and Sprint/Verizon are a different cellular frequency.

    FWIW, T-Mobile is probably the cheapest for data but their 3G network is tiny. Next best would be Sprint.
     
  17. cWeems macrumors 6502a

    cWeems

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Location:
    FLORIDA, USA
    #17
    damn people r cheap, jus pay 30 a month and use all the features of the iphone.
     
  18. Knolly macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    #18
    Seriously people, drop it. If he doesn't want the data plan he doesn't want it.

    I didn't have the data plan for a long time because I'm on a WiFi college campus 9 months out of the year. Guess what? I still used all of the features of the phone. As a matter of fact, I used them and they were FASTER than 3G. Shazam!
     
  19. snake101st thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #19
    Maybe not all of us have our parents to pay $30 a month for something that is absolutely unnecessary?

    And yeah, thanks for the support/help guys, at least some people understand what Im going for... now the wait for my iphone continues.
     
  20. NeoMayhem macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    #20
    That comes out to over $360/year with taxes. I think I will spend my money on something that I will use more then once a month at the most.
     
  21. macnewbie13 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #21
    this works internationally too right? I'm going abroad to Spain for semester and I will not be using my iPhone cuz it is too expensive but I still want to be able to use the ipod and wifi without hidden data network being used so hopefully this will work!
     
  22. cWeems macrumors 6502a

    cWeems

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Location:
    FLORIDA, USA
    #22
    cell phone has been in my name since i turned 18 (now 22), and i have had a data plan since then ;)

    beat it
     
  23. Arisian macrumors 68000

    Arisian

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Location:
    China
    #23
    was this... somehow.. a rebuttal? plus, how the hell are you supposed to prove that?

    All this to say most people are always around wifi. I got an original iphone for $100 bucks, I had 500 minutes i month (i seriously end up using 150 minutes a month). Here was my thought process. I already own a dang ipod touch and I keep thinking to myself it would be great to take calls on it, who cares about the data plan, I dont use it because there are about 4 minutes a day that Im not around high speed wifi.

    I live in China and i can use the china mobile sim there, but would destroy my minutes if edge wasnt disabled.

    There are alot of reasons not to use the data plan that you jokers are having a hard time coming up with :-D

    JK, you guys are nice...
     
  24. superknoppix macrumors member

    superknoppix

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #24
    I live in canada and work at wendys and can afford an iphone for $85 a month.
    I have tried the phone with a pay as you go sim card in it and it works fine, there is not data service but the phone still works. I personaly got the phone for data but if you dont need it any sim with a voice plan will still work.
     
  25. ivan1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    #25
    Ok so im from Montreal and I want to use Fido as a provider will that unlockit program really lock my data ?
     

Share This Page