iPhone 6 Plus - 2GB of RAM?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Milese3, Sep 14, 2014.

  1. Milese3 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Location:
    Southampton - United Kingdom
    #1
    Hi.

    I was on GSMArena today looking at the specs of the iPhone 6 and iPhone 6 Plus. The site went into full detail of the specifications of the new handsets and I noticed something interesting- the RAM.

    The site stated the iPhone 6 had 1GB of RAM- the same as rumours had previously suggested.

    [​IMG]

    However, under the same section in the iPhone 6 Plus specs, the site showed 2GB of RAM.

    [​IMG]


    I thought this was quite interesting as previous rumours pointed to the 5.5" iPhone 6 having a slightly better processor than the 4.7" iPhone 6. Does anyone know the credibility of these sources?

    The iPhone 6 page: http://www.gsmarena.com/apple_iphone_6-6378.php
    The iPhone 6 Plus page: http://www.gsmarena.com/apple_iphone_6_plus-6665.php
     
  2. Ayr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    #2
    Yep, other sites listing those specs too. No idea where they're all pulling the data from though.
     
  3. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    We really don't know, I suppose until people start getting the IP6+ in their hands its all conjecture at this point.
     
  4. spazma7ik macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    #4
    Yeah many sites are reporting this which is getting me very excited and hopeful. :)
     
  5. Hexiii macrumors 65816

    Hexiii

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Location:
    Prague, Czech Republic
    #5
    Will we get to know by wednesday from the media reviews or they don't conduct benchmarks?
     
  6. mtneer macrumors 68020

    mtneer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
  7. stu.h macrumors 65816

    stu.h

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Location:
    West Midlands, England.
    #7
    Is it possible to find out the RAM without pulling the device apart?

    3rd party app?
     
  8. robinp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    #8
    Or it could be the Plus uses the same version of the A8 as will be in the updated iPads. Makes sense - it has a similar resolution etc
     
  9. Milese3 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Location:
    Southampton - United Kingdom
    #9
    That's what I think, too.
     
  10. Creep89 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    #10
    Yes it's possible with an app like Geekbench 3.
     
  11. gardiboy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    #11
    See if anyone can do a geekbench 3 on the plus to juz find out..
     
  12. pmau macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    #12
    Nope. Apple has never built two versions of the same SoC.

    The iPad version has a higher clock rate because it can handle the battery demands and the increased heat. More RAM requires a different SoC.

    PS: Meaning that both iPhones could have 2GB RAM, but they will have the same amount regardless.
     
  13. gardiboy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    #13
    I really hope that is true. I went to geekbench's website and could not find any iphone 6 data there yet~
     
  14. Hexiii macrumors 65816

    Hexiii

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Location:
    Prague, Czech Republic
    #14
    Maybe because nobody has the iPhone 6 yet?
     
  15. pmau macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    #15
  16. borgqueenx macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    #16
    Gsmarena:
    Employer: "****! What do we fill in for ram about the new iphones?"
    Boss: "just fill in what you think is right and edit later if nessacary."
     
  17. Milese3 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Location:
    Southampton - United Kingdom
    #17
    Hmm. I'd hope for a higher clock rate on the Plus. Honestly, I doubt the credibility of the leaked Geekbench 3 test. I'd be really nice if the iPhone 6/6 Plus had a processor clocked at 2.0GHz or above.

    I guess we'll find out on Friday.
     
  18. robinp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    #18
    You should really do your research first.

    http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Apple_A7

    Besides, just because something hasn't happened (even though it has) before doesn't mean it won't in the future
     
  19. KenAFSPC macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    #19
    The A8 is the SoC. It doesn't have built-in memory. The memory is on a module with the A8 SoC. The 6 and 6+ could use the same module, to reduce costs, but this is by no means a technical requirement.

    The next version of the iPad Air, which will also feature the A8, reportedly has 2GB memory.
     
  20. pmau macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    #20
    The RAM is on the SoC. It's not a separate module ...
     
  21. KenAFSPC macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    #21
    No, it's not.

    Apple is now using chip on board mounting, which puts the DRAM immediately adjacent to the SoC on a module. Both are covered by a single head spreader, so it appears to be a single chip, but it is not.
     
  22. robinp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    #22
    See my link above. Again you are wrong, at least partially. The A7 in the iPad Air has separate memory
     
  23. ucfgrad93 macrumors P6

    ucfgrad93

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #23
    Agreed. We probably won't know for sure until there is a teardown of both models.
     
  24. pmau macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    #24
    Quote:
    "It is manufactured in a package on package (PoP) together with 1 GB of LPDDR3 DRAM with a 64-bit wide memory interface onto the package.[6][24]"

    This PoP packaging is done during manufacturing, it is done inside the chip.
    You are right that the SoC is above the circuit board and the RAM is "below".

    But it's all done inside the chip itself. It's all one chip, one package.
     
  25. robinp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    #25
    You're reading the wrong bit. See here:

    "Apple uses the APL5698 variant of the A7 chip in the iPad Air. Its die is identical in size and layout to that of the first A7 and is manufactured by Samsung.[25] However, unlike the first version of the A7, the A7 used in the iPad Air is not a package-on-package (PoP), having no stacked RAM. Instead it uses a chip-on-board mounting, immediately adjacent DRAM, and is covered by a metallic heat spreader, similar to the Apple A5X and A6X.[25][26]"
     

Share This Page