Iphone 6 plus RAM limitation is annoying

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by jayroc2k, Oct 13, 2014.

  1. jayroc2k macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    #1
    I am not one to complain. I owned the Iphone 4, then 5. That jump was super fantastic, faster, better screen, similar price point

    I now have the 6 plus and to be absolutely honest. It feels a step sideways.

    why is the RAM the same???

    Huge annoying point is multiple tabs having to refresh because of the memory management, videos take a while before playing (never had this issue on the iphone 5), apps crashing etc

    I can't find one area (apart from camera and screen size) that this betters the old phone?

    Have sold so many iphones by recommendations over the years, I find myself telling all my friends and family. Get an LG or HTC

    Only if they insist on Apple that I say, sure, get one!
     
  2. gardiboy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    #2
    iOS 8 uses a lot of RAM and apps keep having to reload. Darn irritating!
     
  3. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    I guess it all depends on how you're using the phone.

    I don't have a lot of tabs open on Safari, the apps I use aren't pushing the resources and so I'm not noticing any ram issue. Maybe I'm in the minority, maybe my usage patterns echo that of a typical consumer, I really don't know. What I do know is that the 1GB of ram is a non issue for me (at least at the moment).

    Do I wish apple did go for the 2GB option - sure, and its incredulous at this time that they cut corners in this manner but so far it hasn't hampered me.
     
  4. gardiboy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    #4
    Hi Mike,

    Do you close any background apps? Able to screenshot your homepage? Thanks!
     
  5. Newtons Apple macrumors P6

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #5
    I would not mind them add ing more RAM but it has also been a non issue to me. I seldom have multiple tabs open.

    Maybe Apple will start doing this soon.:apple:
     
  6. jim.hickman.777 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    #6
    Turn it back in and get something you like, there are millions of people wanting your phone
     
  7. lk400 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    #7
    I'm having some crashing and lately some wifi issues, but no ram related issues. For me, coming from the 5, this is a huge step up. I've had original iPhone then 3G, 4, 5 and now 6+ and to me it's the biggest upgrade feeling yet. I cannot relate to your experience unfortunately, and if i didn't read people typing about it on here so much, it's not something that would ever cross my mind!
     
  8. saberz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    #8
    I think the typical consumer keeps a boat load of safari tabs open because they just keep opening new tabs . This is my experience when looking at my wife's and other family and friends usage.

    I don't mind the reload all that much, mostly on Star Wars Commander only :)
     
  9. Mr Hands macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    #9
    Yup... both of my parents do the same thing.

    I have tabs refresh now and then, but it isn't a big deal honestly. If I've got a zillion tabs open I probably need to drill down and focus on one thing at a time versus having a bunch of tabs open.

    It's a phone, not a full fledged PC.
     
  10. bmac4 macrumors 68040

    bmac4

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Location:
    Atlanta Ga
    #10
    This is another one of those things the media has made a much bigger deal out nothing. Nobody has had an issue with this before all these media people started talking about needing more RAM. My iPhone 6+ is no different than my iPhone 5s when it comes the reloading and apps having to close. Nobody had an issue before, and now is no different. Just one of those things everyone is talking about.

    If you love your phone, and the phones works. Who really cares. I have used a ton of androids. The extra RAM really does not make that much difference at all.
     
  11. Brian Y macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    #11
    This discussion has been done to death on here.

    Adding ram won't magically stop Safari tabs reloading. It's by design.
     
  12. bmac4 macrumors 68040

    bmac4

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Location:
    Atlanta Ga
    #12

    Totally agree with you. This and bendgate have been all this section has been about for a month. No one was complaining about the RAM in the 5s. It works the same here. iOS does not need more RAM. The media is just trying to make something out of nothing.
     
  13. stasha macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Location:
    Montréal
    #13
    can you pls return it back so other who really want it could have it,i sugest you to get an LG,yes LG is made for you.
     
  14. gigapocket1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #14
    It is actually really annoying..
    I've noticed when doing things like typing a phone number off a website into the phone app.. And u multi task switching between the phone and Safari. Sometimes the phone app will reload without the numbers. Never had this issue

    The issue is even worst when trying to type in an address off a website. Maps and Safari just keeps reloading
     
  15. vgamedude macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    #15
    The media? The media doesn't talk about the iphone lack of RAM are you kidding me? The only place this stuff really gets mentioned seems to be forums.

    ----------

    "It's a phone, not a full fledged PC. "

    I don't really think that's a valid excuse considering apparently many other phones on the market can do this stuff.

    Also if your name is a reference to what I think it is, wow lmao.
     
  16. sunking101 macrumors 603

    sunking101

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    #16
    It isn't just Safari. Apps reload too, and so do stock ones. The notes app reloads on me all the time. It's a system-wide lack of RAM.

    ----------

    Many, including myself, have been complaining about the lack of RAM since the iPhone 5. Do keep up.
     
  17. Traverse macrumors 603

    Traverse

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Location:
    Here
    #17
    It's a non issue for me on my phone. At most I have 3/4 tabs open and those don't reload. Non of my apps reload unless its been hours since I used them. Maybe I'm not a pro user?
     
  18. EM2013 macrumors 65816

    EM2013

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    #18

    It's not an issue for me either, I don't suffer from tab or app reloads. My iPad Mini on the other hand can't even handle two tabs open without it reloading lol.
     
  19. AndrewR23 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #19
    Its just Apple being Apple. If I remember correctly the 3G didn't have copy and paste. Pretty sure I remember my Razr from 2005 had copy and paste but the iPhone did not.
     
  20. xmichaelp macrumors 68000

    xmichaelp

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    #20
    Maybe they would change the design if there was more RAM to use.

    1GB is abysmal, there's no defending it.
     
  21. recklesslife85 macrumors 6502

    recklesslife85

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #21
    Agreed it's started to annoy me for the first time, apps reloading is the same not just tabs in Safari. Have to wait till the 6S now unfortunately.
     
  22. EdgardasB macrumors 6502a

    EdgardasB

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2014
    Location:
    Lithuania
    #22
    Yeh by "design" then why my 5S doesn't reload 3-4 tabs while on iPad Air reloads them constantly? ^^
     
  23. bmac4 macrumors 68040

    bmac4

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Location:
    Atlanta Ga
    #23

    When I say media I mean places like Engadget. They have made it a point to say that the new iPhones still only have 1 GB of RAM while the flagship Android phones have 2 plus. Most people don't even know what that means, and most it has no change on how they use the phone.

    You are right. Places like MR are the king of where this stuff gets talked about the most. Like I said most want even notice, and the other people that do understand what 1 GB RAM is. Don't really understand how it effects how they use the phone.

    ----------


    Oh I did not realize you were part of the crowd that was complaining about something that really makes no difference at all. What do you need to do on your iPhone that you need more than 1 GB of RAM? The way I used my Android phones is the same way I use my iPhones. Never once have I notice a difference between 1GB of RAM and 2GB of RAM.
     
  24. AFDoc macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Location:
    Colorado Springs USA for now
    #24
    You bitch about something you knew you didn't like yet bought the phone...... And that's apple's fault for not adding more ram? Ummmmmm OK. Maybe you need to buy the device you want..... you know the one with more ram instead of continuing to line apple's pocket as the ram tears flow.
     
  25. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #25
    Not really, When I was on a Windows phone, I found the idea of closing background apps to be a huge improvement. I've not see any difference in performance in doing this with iOS
     

Share This Page