iPhone 7 Screen Repairs not possible?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by jpbknirr, Feb 21, 2017.

  1. jpbknirr, Feb 21, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 21, 2017

    jpbknirr macrumors newbie

    jpbknirr

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    #1
    I run a repair shop. I have worked on 2 iPhone 7's. Each time the original home button will not work on the replacement screen, HOWEVER, if I put the original button back on the original "broken" screen the home button begins to work again. Some how the phone is recognizing that a replacement screen has been installed and disables the original home button. On all previous iPhone the original home button will work on new screens, but not in the case of iPhone 7's.

    I have suspended all iPhone 7 repairs at my shop until I can get a clear answer to this problem.

    Anyone else experience this? Maybe this is something Mac-rumors should investigate. Could be this be another variation on error 53?

    John K
     
  2. Newtons Apple macrumors P6

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #2
    Yep it is all part of the security system/finger ID. There are some threads about it in this forum.
     
  3. jpbknirr thread starter macrumors newbie

    jpbknirr

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    #3
    Is it a new chip on the LCD assembly? Does anyone have any details? You make it sound like the security chip has been moved to somewhere on the LCD.

    If true that a Diabolical move by Apple!
     
  4. Newtons Apple macrumors P6

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #4
    I do not know but many have found that 3rd party repair places can not just switch out the screens anymore. From what I understand, I think Apple changes out the entire assembly.

    Someone else will chime in soon.
     
  5. Relentless Power macrumors P6

    Relentless Power

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    #5
    My understanding, Error 53 still plays a major role in replacing or tampering with the touch ID. I believe Apple has officially make the repair themselves for security purposes. I do know there was another thread where a forum member recently tried to have a third-party retailer make a repair on the home button, and received the Error 53 message.

    https://techcrunch.com/2016/02/18/a...-ios-to-restore-iphones-disabled-by-error-53/
     
  6. jpbknirr thread starter macrumors newbie

    jpbknirr

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
  7. Newtons Apple macrumors P6

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #7
    It looks like it is due to Apple and security. Right or wrong, it is now the way it is.
     
  8. akash.nu macrumors 68030

    akash.nu

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    #8
    When it comes down to data security I'll never take a chance. I understand it may have an impact on your business, but in that case I think sourcing originals is a better option if possible.
     
  9. nox5 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    #9
    Apple doesn't want to lose all the potential income to repair shops. I would not worry about it as aftermarket lcds have issues anyway.
     
  10. Jimmyss macrumors member

    Jimmyss

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2017
    #10
    I never tried to change the display myself. But I had a similar problem with an iPhone 5S. Finally the home button didn't worked. I mean it worked but the finger reading was unavailable.
     
  11. tubeexperience macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    #11
    Out of curiosity, where do you buy your replacement displays?
     

Share This Page