Is glossy in the lead?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by RustyMac, Feb 12, 2009.

1. RustyMac macrumors member

I had posted this in someone's thread and thought it needed its own thread. I am a designer, fabricator and restorer. I always used matted or anti-glared screens when doing my work.

I have been noticing that the majority of displays that are being sold today are switching to glossy or glass. Even your modern televisions (LCD or Plasma) have shifted this way. Look at Samsung's televisions, the leader and manufacturer of LCDs, it seems that they started to switch to glossy.

It is interesting how everything has gone to glossy? Almost all of Apple's products have gone to glossy.

iMac = Glossy
    24in Cinema Display = Glossy
    iPhone = Glossy
    iPod = Glossy
    MacBook = Glossy
    MacBook Pro 15.4 = Glossy

The only one that has a anti-glare option is the new 17" MacBook Pro and if you listen to what they said at Mac World 2009, "they provided this option for the people who will complain about a glossy screen." We all know that the anti-glared option is only offered in one of their computers now (17" MacBook). Is everything eventually going to go to a glossy screen? Well, look at the list above, everything else did!

Maybe glossy is a smarter choice? I know that blacks in a glossy screen stand out more and are richer compared to matted screens. I know that LCD can't perform blacks like the way Plasmas do. Is the glossy screen the solution for deeper colors? Can you sacrifice glare for deeper colors? I also heard that the 17" MBP will have a glass screen just like the 15.4" MBP but the glass will be treated to take the gloss out of it. Almost like etching the glass. Will this take away the clarity and sharpness of what is displayed?

Why has everything else has gone Glossy? And it is not just Apple products. There has to be a reason behind this.:confused:

2. UTclassof89 macrumors 6502

UTclassof89