Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

faby GT

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 28, 2017
Hi
I've an iPad retina 2, and I'm on iOS 10.3.3.
Is there a way to update it to 11?
Please don't think I'm a noob if I ask this question (because I'm not).
Thanks in advance

Last edited:

Sharkoneau

macrumors 6502a
Jan 13, 2017
Michigan
Hi
Thanks in advance
Sadly there is not a way to get the iPad 4 onto iOS 11. The earliest supported iPad is the fifth-generation model. Honestly though, despite the feature set (which would be gimped a bit on iPad 4, as it is on older compatible iPads), I would not advise you to put it on that device if it were possible.

Reactions: ACST and faby GT

ACST

Suspended
Sep 5, 2016
Even if you could (which you can't without jailbreaking the device) you shouldn't want it because it would be slow as hell (there's a reason Apple's not supporting it anymore).

Last edited by a moderator:

faby GT

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 28, 2017
Sadly there is not a way to get the iPad 4 onto iOS 11. The earliest supported iPad is the fifth-generation model. Honestly though, despite the feature set (which would be gimped a bit on iPad 4, as it is on older compatible iPads), I would not advise you to put it on that device if it were possible.
Thanks. So Is there a way to have iOS 11 theme, features or something similar?
Thanks again

faby GT

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 28, 2017
Even if you could (which you can't without jailbreaking the device) you shouldn't want it because it would be slow as hell (there's a reason Apple's not supporting it anymore).

On android devices you can upgrade with custom roms without losing performance, and I didn't know if there was a way to update on iOS without losing performance.

Reactions: Paddle1 and tkukoc

redheeler

macrumors G3
Oct 17, 2014
Colorado, USA
Hi
Thanks in advance