Kernel Panic , audio fw, 10.5.2 early 08

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Ploki, Mar 24, 2008.

  1. Ploki macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #1
    Code:
    Mon Mar 24 15:43:23 2008
    panic(cpu 7 caller 0x001A8C8A): Kernel trap at 0x5eb6f98c, type 14=page fault, registers:
    CR0: 0x8001003b, CR2: 0x5eb6f98c, CR3: 0x013c6000, CR4: 0x00000660
    EAX: 0x0765e100, EBX: 0x00000000, ECX: 0x00000000, EDX: 0x0766bc40
    CR2: 0x5eb6f98c, EBP: 0x6a53fa88, ESI: 0x09d00e80, EDI: 0x08270000
    EFL: 0x00010202, EIP: 0x5eb6f98c, CS:  0x00000008, DS:  0x07100010
    Error code: 0x00000010
    
    Backtrace, Format - Frame : Return Address (4 potential args on stack) 
    0x6a53f848 : 0x12b0e1 (0x457024 0x6a53f87c 0x13321a 0x0) 
    0x6a53f898 : 0x1a8c8a (0x460550 0x5eb6f98c 0xe 0x45fd00) 
    0x6a53f978 : 0x19eb67 (0x6a53f990 0x80 0x6a53fa88 0x5eb6f98c) 
    0x6a53f988 : 0x5eb6f98c (0xe 0x48 0x6a530010 0x420010) 
    0x6a53fa88 : 0x8f7b03 (0x8270000 0x5eb6e000 0x0 0xffffffc1) 
    0x6a53faf8 : 0x8fc31a (0x8270000 0x0 0x0 0x6a53fb8c) 
    0x6a53fba8 : 0x8e8f72 (0x8270000 0x8fa156 0x6a53fc18 0x46fad000) 
    0x6a53fbc8 : 0x8d2196 (0x9cef880 0x1 0x6a53fc18 0x84c2d00) 
    0x6a53fbf8 : 0x8d1f77 (0x46fad000 0x1 0x6a53fc38 0x46fad000) 
    0x6a53fc18 : 0x8cf6a5 (0x46fad000 0x7fe1300 0x0 0x6a53fd24) 
    0x6a53fda8 : 0x8ebb98 (0x46fad000 0x7fe3c00 0x0 0x46fad000) 
    0x6a53fdc8 : 0x829c3e (0x46fad000 0x7fe3c00 0x6a53fdf8 0x3e97b5) 
    0x6a53fdf8 : 0x8d8ccd (0x46fad000 0x7fe3c00 0x6a53fe28 0x0) 
    0x6a53fe48 : 0x40ece2 (0x46fad000 0x7fe3c00 0x1 0x3e96a0) 
    0x6a53fea8 : 0x410b77 (0x7fe3c00 0x46fad000 0x9cccd80 0x8280920) 
    0x6a53ff28 : 0x4103db (0x7fe3c00 0x9d2ea80 0x0 0xffffffff) 
    	Backtrace continues...
          Kernel loadable modules in backtrace (with dependencies):
             com.apple.driver.AppleFWAudio(2.4.0fc8)@0x8c7000->0x915fff
                dependency: com.apple.iokit.IOFireWireFamily(3.4.0)@0x713000
                dependency: com.apple.iokit.IOFireWireAVC(2.2.1)@0x8b7000
                dependency: com.apple.iokit.IOAudioFamily(1.6.4b7)@0x826000
             com.apple.iokit.IOAudioFamily(1.6.4b7)@0x826000->0x83cfff
                dependency: com.apple.kext.OSvKernDSPLib(1.1)@0x823000
    
    BSD process name corresponding to current thread: kernel_task
    
    Mac OS version:
    9C31
    
    Kernel version:
    Darwin Kernel Version 9.2.0: Tue Feb  5 16:13:22 PST 2008; root:xnu-1228.3.13~1/RELEASE_I386
    System model name: MacPro3,1 (Mac-F42C88C8)

    im getting nervous, this happens more than 5 times a day, i cannot work like this
     
  2. kittiyut macrumors regular

    kittiyut

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #2
    In order for people here to help you, you might want to give more details of your problem, eg. your machine configuration, what were you doing, how to reproduce the panic (was it random?), what software were you running, etc.
     
  3. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #3
    Anything attached to one of your firewire ports?
     
  4. Virtuoso macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #4
    Firewire audio interfaces causing kernel panics seems to be an annoyingly common issue with 10.5 - I've seen a lot of posts on audio forums about this but as yet no solutions.

    Some people are reporting that it happens on machines with over 4Gb of RAM - some say it happens on machines with the Agere firewire chipset.

    All I know is, on my machine (2008 Mac Pro, 16Gb memory, TI chipset) I can trigger a kernel panic every time simply by changing the sample rate in Logic from 44.1KHz to 48KHz.
     
  5. rockinrocker macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #5
    yeah, mine often happens when turning my interface (echo audiofire 12) on or off.
     
  6. Ploki thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #6
    yeah, firewire audio interface.. :)
    Echo Audiofire8
    well. yeah. exactly.

    or changing sample rate, OR doing waking it from sleep with audiofire turned on.
    it happens completely random actually


    my config: Early2008 MP 2,8, gt8800,4gb ram, 2xhd, 10.5.2, everything up to date, but it obviously doesnt matter
     
  7. rockinrocker macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #7
    well, glad to see another echo user on here, to bad it's not under more felicitous circumstances....

    so it sounds like this is a common problem with firewire devices in general, rather than specific to echo? any other firewire users w/ different interfaces care to weigh in here?
     
  8. phjo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #8
    For some other user experiences, you can read this thread :
    http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?messageID=6694353

    The nasty fw bug is there and present for almost every fw audio device...

    According to someone in this thread, apple has a fix for this bug, but it didn't make it in 10.5.2... Maybe 10.5.3 ?

    phjo
     
  9. Reach macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Norway
    #9
    I've had issues with Presonus Firebox and that kind of Mac too.. Issues as in kernel panics.
     
  10. treehorn macrumors 6502

    treehorn

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    #10
    Count me among the number having problems. Thought it was the Sonnet Firewire card at first because it was a combo Firewire/USB card which isn't compatible with the Firebox. Since it was still happening when I connected the Firebox to the MP Firewire port, I thought it was a defective card and returned it to Amazon and got a Firewire only Sonnet cart (which had a TI Chipset...another requirement for Firebox).

    Still happening. And from what I read on Apple Discussions it's happening to far too many people who rely on Macs and Firewire accessories to do audio editing (I've had panic attacks this week using Amadeus and T-Rack)
     
  11. mgsarch macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    #11
    I feel everyone's pain.

    This is definitely an actual issue, it's not defective hardware. I've had it with my Saffire for ages (not to mention the damn thing blew my logic board and got me a new MBP from applecare.) Everyone I know that uses Leopard and a Audio Interface (FW) is affected.

    Apple has stuck to firewire but I swear, it so problematic ....

    I guess we just wait for 10.5.3 ......... eta?
     
  12. fernmeister macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    #12
    It's a huge problem. I have an apogee duet and it occasionally panics when switching users and ALWAYS when trying to switch sample rates.

    Apogee's feedback is 'known issue' and fix is 'coming soon.'
     
  13. treehorn macrumors 6502

    treehorn

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    #13
    What is really pissing me off about this (aside from the fact that it, oh, impacts my livelihood more than a little) is that Apple barely acknowledges it even exists. I had several calls to Applecare about it and not one person there ever mentioned it as a possibility. They were/are very quick to blame the peripherals for every problem but recognizing and fixing a bug in their software...not so much.
     
  14. Virtuoso macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #14
    I had it with a Presonus Firepod - kernel panic every time I either switched the device on, changed sample rate or switched from Logic to Cubase. I assumed the device had developed some kind of fault so I bought an Apogee Duet instead. It does exactly the same. My Mac Pro has the TI chipset, so that rules out any Agere incompatibility issues.

    This is a huge issue for anyone involved in pro audio where, apart from Digidesign, pretty much all the pro cards are firewire-based. I can't believe this hasn't been caught already.

    Grr... I switched from PCs to leave **** like this behind. :mad:
     
  15. Ploki thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #15
    where do you check which fw chipset do you have?

    anyway, ive recieved response from echo, they say its apple's fault and that theyre gonna forward the problem to Apple :S
     
  16. Virtuoso macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #16
    Boot with command S - the blurb will tell you the firewire chipset (Lucent/TI etc)

    I had a response from Apogee too today although it's too vague to be any use...

    "Hello,

    I apologize that you are having problems. This is a known issue that some users are experiencing. Most often, it is happening to users with large amounts of RAM installed. We are working hard on a fix and there should be a release that addresses this problem. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience and I appreciate your patience."
     
  17. Reach macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Norway
    #17
    Wow, if so that's the first "con" on going high on RAM I've heard of.. hehe I have 10gb, don't know it that's "high" by this guys standards.
     
  18. fernmeister macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    #18
    So if I take lots of memory sticks out I might have a stable interface but won't be able to run any projects?

    :rolleyes:

    I'm loving this!
     
  19. treehorn macrumors 6502

    treehorn

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    #19
    I found out through support at Sonnet which cards used what chipset (and when I removed the other card I could see one set of chips with TI and two with NEC so that made it easy)

    What I 'loved' was that PreSonus didn't make that information too readily available/discoverable. I had to do some variations in searches to find out that there was compatibility problems certain types of cards (that knowledge would have been good to have front and center in any 'about this product' page and in the manual)
     
  20. fernmeister macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    #20
    This morning I installed the Firmware update and I'm now switching sampling rate with joy.
    :)
     
  21. mgsarch macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    #21
    me tooooooooooooo, sooooo happy!!! :)
     
  22. Virtuoso macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
  23. Ploki thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
  24. rockinrocker macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #24
    well, this update seems to have helped the problem, but maybe not cured it totally.

    i'm not getting the KP's if i turn my interface on after the machine is freshly booted, but if i turn the interface off, sleep the MP, wake it up and turn the interface on again it'll KP....

    no biggie, it's an improvement at least.
     
  25. silicon1138 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    #25
    imac 4 gig of ram, FW audio interface Kernel Panic

    I've been happily using my intel imac 2.4ghz with 2gig of Ram and a Terratec Phase 24 FW audio interface, happily until i upped the Ram to 4gig this week.
    If i plug the phase 24 in while the imac is booted up i get a KP every time.
    If i plug it in while it's all off, it works fine.

    Annoying to say the least.
     

Share This Page