Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

tsialex

macrumors G4
Jun 13, 2016
11,473
11,931
Any idea what improved with the firmware beta?
Already spent too much time checking DMI/ACPI/etc and found nothing that justify the version number jump, so, it's probably deep in the codebase and will probably need to extract the modules and bindiff between the two versions to track where the changes are, but this can also be unsuccessful since the compiler changed.

Anyway, it's a project for a rainy weekend.
 
  • Like
Reactions: loby

tsialex

macrumors G4
Jun 13, 2016
11,473
11,931
No new EFI firmware update with Monterey 12.6.2 beta1 (21G309), still 470.0.0.0.0.
 
  • Like
Reactions: loby

allehoop

macrumors newbie
Dec 1, 2022
4
0
Hi all,

I bought a Mac Pro 2013 few days ago, and planing to stay on Mojave just to have the 32 bit support for audio plugins.
But I don't know if to update to 470.0.0.0.0 or stay on my 428.140.7.0.0 version.

there is any advantage upgrading the EFI ROM version?

there is any user here in Mojave with the 470 version ROM?

thanks guys!
 

drbill

macrumors member
Sep 25, 2020
61
578
Hi all,

I bought a Mac Pro 2013 few days ago, and planing to stay on Mojave just to have the 32 bit support for audio plugins.
But I don't know if to update to 470.0.0.0.0 or stay on my 428.140.7.0.0 version.

there is any advantage upgrading the EFI ROM version?

there is any user here in Mojave with the 470 version ROM?

thanks guys!
Yes, I'm running Mojave on my Trashcan with 470 firmware, no problems
 

allehoop

macrumors newbie
Dec 1, 2022
4
0
Another question guys
It is possible to do a back-up of the Boot ROM just in case i'm not happy with the new one and want restore the old one?

hope there is the possibility
 

allehoop

macrumors newbie
Dec 1, 2022
4
0
Yes, I'm running Mojave on my Trashcan with 470 firmware, no problems
Thanks!! nice to know it. That answer brings me some comfort...

Same performance? have you do any Geekbench comparison?

I'm afraid Apple tends to slow down the old machines so people gets inspired to buy the new machines 😅😅
 
Last edited:

arw

macrumors 6502a
Aug 31, 2010
584
347
It is possible to do a back-up of the Boot ROM just in case i'm not happy with the new one and want restore the old one?
#444
Firmware downgrades were never allowed with Apple EFI flashing tools and the workarounds that permitted it were totally closed after Thunderstrike exploits were discovered back in Yosemite days.

The efiflasher will read the SPI flash and check the version, OC spoofing is useless for that.

The only way to downgrade a late-2013 Mac Pro is flashing a previous saved dump with an external programmer and you need to completely teardown the Mac Pro to do it.
 

allehoop

macrumors newbie
Dec 1, 2022
4
0
Thanks for your reply!

I was thinking that maybe from the hackintosh world there would be some tool easy and fast to use. These guys can tune any computer to the bits.

So i was asking just in case any person knew the how to.

Ok, finally i upgraded to 470.0.0.0.0 with Monterey, then i will downgrade back to Mojave.

After the update my Mac doesn't wanted to wake up, i had to unplug and plug the HDMI cable in order to awake the system. I hope that will not be an issue repeatedly.

I was thinking to do the same Geekbench to see how the processor performs in Monterey, but unfortunately, Geekbench 4 doesn't opens in Monterey, some how has been broke. I made the test in Geekbench 5 but they change the scale on the scores and now i cannot compare both results.
 

tsialex

macrumors G4
Jun 13, 2016
11,473
11,931
Still EFI firmware 470.0.0.0.0 with with Monterey 12.6.2 beta3 (21G317).
 

controsol

macrumors newbie
Mar 23, 2011
15
0

Mac 2013 don’t startup in recovery mode​

hello

I am trying to replace my Samsung 970 pro 1tb drive with a Samsung 980 pro 2tb on my larely 2013 mac

There is a strange problem:

- with 970 and mojave: no problem booting the mac, with a mojave usb drive, ready to install (keyboard mini bluetooh logitech and usb cable connect to usb mac port) appear firmware password enter my root password and appear recovery functions with not issues

- with 980 prepare into the mac without formatting already: CMD+R or any other key combination does not work: option, c, shift option cmd r, option cdm PR for reset PRAM etc.

I am suspecting that the battery of the mac 2013 BR2032 may be dead.

I can't find an explanation

095F6D8E-950D-4329-95E7-57F9765A7E0C.jpeg



thanks in advance
 

tsialex

macrumors G4
Jun 13, 2016
11,473
11,931

Mac 2013 don’t startup in recovery mode​

hello

I am trying to replace my Samsung 970 pro 1tb drive with a Samsung 980 pro 2tb on my larely 2013 mac

There is a strange problem:

- with 970 and mojave: no problem booting the mac, with a mojave usb drive, ready to install (keyboard mini bluetooh logitech and usb cable connect to usb mac port) appear firmware password enter my root password and appear recovery functions with not issues

- with 980 prepare into the mac without formatting already: CMD+R or any other key combination does not work: option, c, shift option cmd r, option cdm PR for reset PRAM etc.

I am suspecting that the battery of the mac 2013 BR2032 may be dead.

I can't find an explanation

View attachment 2138675


thanks in advance
Samsung 980 series is a PCIe v4.0 NVMe 1.4 blade that is not backwards compatible with Macs that have PCIe 2.0 NVMe 1.3, like MacPro5,1/6,1.

Samsung 970 series work fine with MacPro5,1/6,1.

There are RTC battery test points, easy to check:

Screen Shot 2023-01-07 at 19.19.05.png
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: controsol

controsol

macrumors newbie
Mar 23, 2011
15
0
Thanks so much tsialex

I need to instal a 2tb unit, 970 pro 2tb is impossible to get

Can you recomend a 2tb for the mac 2013?

Thanks in advance
 

tsialex

macrumors G4
Jun 13, 2016
11,473
11,931
Will the performance be similar?

Thanks
Even if the performance is not similar, why it would matter since it's bottlenecked by the MacPro6,1 PCIe v2.0 connection?!?

It's limited to ~1450MB/s of the real life x4 PCIe v2.0 throughput and any modern blade is capable of at least the double.
 
  • Like
Reactions: controsol

Spacedust

macrumors 6502a
May 24, 2009
994
160
I also got it post repair and it's quite easy to fix with Blank Board Serializer. Just make sure you have wired keyboard + USB Superdrive.
 

chrfr

macrumors G5
Jul 11, 2009
12,252
5,699
Do you change CPU or your Mac Pro had repair ?
In the past I have had Mac Pro 6,1s that lost their stored serial number, without having been repaired. It was able to be restored with the serializer as mentioned in the post previous to this one.
 

controsol

macrumors newbie
Mar 23, 2011
15
0
I have news from a studio engineer

The 880 pro is working in his mac 2013, i aware from info about his adaptor

Thanks
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.