limera1n out for Mac

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by antsh, Oct 14, 2010.

  1. antsh macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #1
    limera1n.com now has a Mac version for download. Didn't see it mentioned so I thought I'd bring it up.
     
  2. maril1111 macrumors 68000

    maril1111

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Location:
    Denmark
    #2
    thanks have you tested it any bugs?
     
  3. nukiduz macrumors 6502

    nukiduz

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
  4. bmms8 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    #5
    nice, ill try this in an hour, hope it works well!
     
  5. antsh thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #6
    I have not tested it, I don't own a Mac :p. Thought most of you guys here might like to know though haha.
     
  6. cleaver macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    #7
    Worked very quickly and easily on a 3GS, using an iMac. Now to see if it keeps working...
     
  7. sidewinder macrumors 68020

    sidewinder

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northern California
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    Geohot Releases Limera1n Jailbreak for Mac

    Geohot has just released his Limera1n jailbreak for Mac OS X. Limera1n supports the iPhone 4, iPhone 3GS, iPod Touch 4G, iPod Touch 3G, iPad, and AppleTV (limited).

    Remember if you require an unlock do not upgrade to iOS 4.1, you will need to wait for the next PwnageTool release. The only exception is the iPhone 4 which could be upgraded to iOS 4.1 without updating the baseband.
    Go grab it Mac lovers:D
    http://www.limera1n.com/
     
  9. ansabakhan macrumors 65816

    ansabakhan

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    #10
    yahooooooooooo!
     
  10. maturola macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #11
    I think someone beat you to it by almost 1 hour :eek:

    Still good news (If it works)
     
  11. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  12. elephant10 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    #13
    Applejuiced- notice you in a lot of threads so maybe you can help resolve my issue. 3gs 4.1, i jailbroke it temporarily over a year ago, dowloaded a few apps, wound up restoring it and getting rid of most. However, after the restore the phone retained remnants of make it mine app, specifically header changes that i cannot get back to default now. I dealt with it all this time bc wasnt an issue, but recently have been having problems with reception and service but apple wont look at it bc they know its been jb. any suggestions as to how to get rid of it without just restoring as new and being unable to keep all my data?
     
  13. maturola macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #14
    I can't wait for Funday to start Messing with my AppleTV (and Restoring maybe once an hour :D :D :D)
     
  14. maturola macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #15
    Restore and DO NOT restore your backup, just set it up as new phone and Take it to the Apple store, Can't do it any other way, you can restore all your crap back after you get it fix/replace.
     
  15. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #16
    Thats because you restored from your JB backup so some things did carry over.
    If you restore again and setup as new you wont have any of that.
    I dont think you'll be able to save any of your user data though, sorry.

     
  16. elephant10 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    #17
    if i do that i either A) lose data not restored or B) restore after apple store visit and put the problem right back into phone (im kind of assuming whatever is still in there from the make it mine is whats affecting phone as i have restored it without immediately restoring backup into it afterwards and it seems to work better)
     
  17. maturola macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #18
    If your "problem" is on your user data, them yes you got no other way but to lose it all. There is no way to narrow down and separate what you want from what you don't want. however I doubt anything on your "user data" could generate "Receptions and service" issues.
     
  18. nicroma macrumors 6502a

    nicroma

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    Midwest, USA
  19. elephant10 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    #20
    ok thanks. One more stupid question. If i restore as new what 'user data' will i be losing exactly? also, does this include contacts or will i get that back with sync?
     
  20. RobinHo0d macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
  21. ryguy2303 macrumors 6502

    ryguy2303

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
  22. bmms8 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    #23
    +1..

    hopefully all the rude people who feel like geo owes them their life can shut up for once.
     
  23. fsck-y dingo macrumors 65816

    fsck-y dingo

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #24
    Cool! I hope this means the new PwnageTool will be released earlier than expected. Although, if there are still some bugs to iron out I'll be happy to wait until Funday.

    Here's to hoping. :)
     
  24. bw1128 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #25
    i thought you had to tinyumbrella to preserve your baseband for the iphone4 too.
     

Share This Page