Lost $20,000 Apple stock

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by anirudh0802, Apr 21, 2010.

1. anirudh0802 macrumors newbie

So about 4 months ago, my dad's my portfolio had about $20,000 in Apple stock. Now, I have been playing with stocks for about 4 years. A short while after he bought the stocks, he and I got into an argument about which stocks to buy. I told him that go with this one stock (which is now in pink sheets, it was Equitorian something). Just on that one stock alone, short term gain was crazy, but then it crashed and on the way downhill, my dad lost money just because I managed his stock portfolio.

We had Apple stock before that and now my dad and I do not act the same anymore. I know I lost him a lot of money and he lectured me that if we had kept the Apple stock, it would have benefitted us in the long run.

I feel really bad and do not know what to do. Does anyone have an idea on how I can mend my relationship with my dad?

Thanks

2. gibbz macrumors 68030

Honest and frank discussions often suck in the short-term, but pay untold dividends (sorry, pun really not intended) in the long-term. I'd say just get everything in the open and go from there.

3. tdream macrumors 65816

Playing.... that's the operative word. It's not a game.

Apologise to your Dad, and get on with doing good things in your life. Don't coerce people into taking chances with money that's not yours.

4. SchneiderMan macrumors G3

SchneiderMan

5. phoobo macrumors regular

Your Dad is mistaken

It probably doesn't help to say this, but your Dad cannot say for certain that he would have sold his AAPL here. If he had, then your portfolio would have been worth more today. But more likely he would have been "married" to the stock and held. You don't know where AAPL will be in a year. What if (God forbid) Jobs dies and it loses 50% of its value in 3 months? What if the whole market crashes--even bigger this time than last time?