#LTEGate / iPhone 6/6 Plus

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by sillywabbit, Oct 8, 2014.

  1. sillywabbit macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    #1
    Anyone notice that their new iPhone 6/6 Plus NOT being able to hold an LTE signal?

    I would notice that my iPhone 6 Plus would often switch to 3G.

    My old iPhone 5 rarely, if ever, would switch to 3G. It almost always holds an LTE signal.

    I am assuming this is a iPhone 6/6 Plus issue as the carrier and the locations I am in are constant and the only variable is the iPhone.

    I have Verizon btw.

    #LTEGate ?
     
  2. pullfocus macrumors 65816

    pullfocus

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    LA, CA
  3. TRC-WA macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
  4. that be me macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    #4
    No LTE issues here.

    I will say that I used to get a consistant 3 (circles) with my 5s, though that was a different phone on a different version of iOS.
     
  5. juanrp macrumors 6502a

    juanrp

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #5
    Not everything is a 'gate'. If that was the case, we'd have:
    #camerastickoutsgate
    #spacegrayistoolightgate
    #scratchesoutoftheboxgate
    #brokendreamsgate
    #warpedgate
    #ismyphonebentgate
    #nofaithinapplegate
    #eyebrowsnotonpointgate

    Like stop.
     
  6. sillywabbit thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    #6

    Holy "cwap", 93 down!!!!

    I barley get 5 down if I am lucky!
     
  7. malevolant macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    Boston, MA
  8. Trek2100 macrumors 6502a

    Trek2100

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    Sevierville, TN
    #8
    No problems on AT&T with my iP6. My friend sometimes has problems with Verizon and can barely get 3G on his iP5 standing next to my (no longer have) iP5 with full LTE. Go figure. Do you always have the problem in the same location? Could be due to a cell tower having issues?
     
  9. sillywabbit thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    #9

    Yes, I am in the same location. Only my i6 Plus exhibits this issue.

    I have even swapped SIMs back to my old i5 in the same location and I am to maintain an LTE signal with that phone.
     
  10. 12vElectronics macrumors 68040

    12vElectronics

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013
    Location:
    California
  11. 53kyle macrumors 65816

    53kyle

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Location:
    Sebastopol, CA
  12. Learylvr. macrumors regular

    Learylvr.

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    #12
    Another Bleeping Gate?? Don't people have anything better to do?? No one (IMO) is going to pay much attention to anything with a #Gate attached. It's way too much, stop already. Rant over.. If you just post something about LTE issues on new iPhone, I think more people will be willing to read and help.
     
  13. Jordan921 macrumors 68040

    Jordan921

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    Bay Area
  14. b1gted macrumors regular

    b1gted

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    Bartlesville, OK
  15. Krevnik macrumors 68040

    Krevnik

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    #15
    What about eyebrows?

    [​IMG]
     
  16. jvette macrumors 6502

    jvette

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #16
    I'm moving to Seattle! That's unbelievable, I travel a lot and have never gotten that any where.
     
  17. stuffradio macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #17
    #commentgate

    It depends on what the LTE signal is like in your area from your carrier.
     
  18. recoil80 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    #18
    So far I didn't notice any differences, LTE on my iPhone 6 has the same signal strength and speed as on my old iPhone 5. More bands are supported, but with my carrier I always connect to the same band I guess
     
  19. ayobonus macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    #19
    I live in NJ but work in NYC. I actually do see my LTE on my iPhone 6 Plus to drop occasionally where it shouldn't. When I turn Airplane Mode on, and then turn it off, my iPhone will reconnect to LTE. It's weird. My girlfriend has a 6, and sometimes when she has LTE, I have 3G, but when I activate Airplane Mode and deactivate it, it'll connect to LTE. Not sure if it's a hardware issue or a software issue.
     
  20. aajeevlin macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    #20
    Where do you live? That speed. Fastest I ever got was in Nashville TN while visiting a friend, and that was only 65.

    Where I'm at I average any where from 5-10....
     
  21. TRC-WA macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    #21
    I live in Renton, WA about 10 miles south of Seattle. That was an LTE signal right down the street from my house.
     
  22. oneofthenine macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2014
    #22
    lots of people complaining about #***gate

    could this be the start of #gategate ?
     
  23. iphonedude2008 macrumors 65816

    iphonedude2008

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #23
    Same thing with me

    LTE frequently drops on me too. However, this is more to do with single stregth and battery life. Going on LTE but low signal will drain your battery fast. Also, with Verizon you have VOLTE. If your LTE drops, so does your call. That's why it switches to 3G. You don't want dropped calls so it goes to a more reliable connection. If you really need LTE, just go to settings and turn off LTE so it's on 3G and then turn it back on. It'll reconnect to LTE.
     
  24. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #24
    Do you even have a clue of what the gate suffix means? You are suggesting that because your phone does not get good LTE reception that it is a scandal so it pretty safe to say that you are using the word without having a clue of what it means or even what a scandal is.
     
  25. bozzykid macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #25
    To be fair, what you posted has nothing to do with the original post. Being able to run a quick speed test has nothing to do with holding a LTE signal.
     

Share This Page