Mac Mini G4 RAM upgrade issue

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by 2784155, Apr 8, 2017.

  1. 2784155 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    #1
    Recently, I bought a 1 GB standard DDR ram stick for my old Mac mini G4, looking to re-purpose it. Everything seemed to be going fine when I began to install it, until I restarted the mac to find that only half of it (512 MB) is working. I found this very strange, considering the previous RAM stick was 512 MB by itself, and it worked just fine. I looked up a video guide to compare my results to, and it seems that I did everything in the installation process like I should have. I also re-installed 10.5.8 just to be sure it wasn't a software issue, but it didn't help.

    Is my new RAM stick defective? Did I not install it correctly? Maybe I skipped a step?

    What can I do to fix this issue? All responses are appericiated.
     
  2. amagichnich macrumors regular

    amagichnich

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    #2
    Your should at least tell us the specs of the RAM bar (written on the stickers). Does it have ECC? Is it registered RAM?
     
  3. 2784155 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    #3
    Looking at the sticker, it says it's non ECC and LD Unbuffered, if that helps at all.
     
  4. ziggy29 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    You have one, 1 GB stick, and half of it is working? Just trying to make sure I understand.
     
  5. 2784155 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    #5
    It certainly seems that way, but my 512 stick works just fine. Both sticks allow me 512 MB of ram even though one should give me double that.
     
  6. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #6
    Yes, you may have installed it incorrectly (not completely seated), or the memory could be defective, or could just be the wrong type.
    Can you tell us what is on the memory stick's label:
    Brand, memory type, exactly as is showing on that label. The most relevant would be the speed, which should be PC-2700 DDR333. PC-3200 would work, but would clock down to 333 MHz.
     
  7. 2784155 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    #7
    All right, here's everything on the label:

    Brand is Computer Bay
    Memory type is PC3200, DDR 400MHz
    Non-ECC
    LD Unbuffered

    Hopefully some of this helps clear things up
     
  8. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #8
    I guess you mean "KomputerBay" (Not that I am being pedantic about spelling, but... )

    Appears to be right, and should work.
    Reseat the RAM in the slot, do that a couple of times.
    Reset PRAM. Do THAT a couple of times, too.

    If you still have the original restore DVD (grey disk) that came with your mini, it would have the Hardware Test listed on the disk label. You can boot to that (insert the DVD, restart holding the letter D), and see what happens with an extended test.

    Finally, if you only see 512MB (and the mini seems to work without problems), and the label says that it is 1GB size, then I suspect that the label is wrong. (KomputerBay might not be the most detail-oriented company in the world)
    Call the KomputerBay support number, or the shop that sold you that RAM. You should be able to return it, no probs.
     
  9. 2784155 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    #9
    All right, I'll see if doing those two will help this. Although, I haven't ever needed to reset a RAM slot on a Mac before. Is there a guide or set of instructions here or elsewhere on how do to that? PRAM, however, I'll be able to do myself just fine.
     
  10. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #10
    Not reset - reseat!
    All that I mean by that is popping the stick out of the slot, and re-inserting. The RAM slot contacts are designed to be self-cleaning on each insertion, so that's why I would suggest doing that reseat a couple of times. Just takes a couple of seconds to do (other than the "fun" of getting the case open so you can get at the slot :D )
    (Notice that I edited my last post, adding some info about the Hardware test, if you have that original DVD)
     
  11. 2784155 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    #11
    I tried reseating and resetting the PRAM several times, but nothing has changed so far. As far as I know, the reset DVD has also been gone for ages. Is it possible that a burnable ISO of it is on the Apple support website?
     
  12. AmazingHenry macrumors 65816

    AmazingHenry

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Central Michigan
    #12
    This is a hardware problem, so reinstalling the OS wouldn't help.

    Have you noticed a performance difference with the new RAM? Sometimes the computer can use all of the RAM but it registers as lower.

    The only other possibility (besides not seated correctly or incorrect RAM, both of which we have ruled out above) is that the RAM is simply bad. If nobody has any other suggestions, try new RAM.
     
  13. 2784155 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    #13
    If there was a performance boost, it's a very slight one. Regardless, I'll see if I can get my hands on some new RAM and see if that helps. Thanks for responding
     
  14. AmazingHenry macrumors 65816

    AmazingHenry

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Central Michigan
    #14
    You won't notice a difference unless you are doing stuff like web browsing. So try using the machine for a little bit.

    Also, where does your username come from? :D
     
  15. 2784155 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    #15
    To be honest, I just typed in a bunch of numbers at random, no real significance in them!
    Also, I'm still curious about that restore DVD idea from earlier. Are there any copies of those on Apple's websites somewhere?
     
  16. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #16
    I looked for the Hardware Test for your G4 mini

    I think this link will give you what you want. The image should be burned to a CD-R.
     
  17. 2784155 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    #17
    Thanks for the link, the new CD works just fine.
    Now, when I went to go test with it, it came back with errors in the RAM. The error code it gave me was

    "2STF/8/3:ATA-100 ata-6 - Master post/0/2048"

    It also seems to recognize that my RAM stick is 1028 MB, and also recognizes that only 512 MB is useable. What should I do here?
     
  18. AmazingHenry macrumors 65816

    AmazingHenry

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Central Michigan
    #18
    Try the test with your old stick of RAM, and if there's no errors, then the RAM you bought is bad. If there are errors with the old RAM, then it's probably a problem with the mini.
     
  19. 2784155 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    #19
    I'm afraid you were right, the RAM was defective. I'm returning it, and buying a new stick. Thanks for all the help
     
  20. AmazingHenry macrumors 65816

    AmazingHenry

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Central Michigan
    #20
    Glad we found the problem! :) Nice to see another PowerPC Mac put to use!
     
  21. ziggy29 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Location:
    Texas
    #21
    Don't be afraid, be glad! Far better a defective RAM stick than a problem on the Mini's logic board itself. Apart from solving the problem and getting it to work entirely, this is the next best outcome!
     
  22. 2784155 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    #22
    Out of curiousity, what would the symptoms of a bad logic board be? I don't think I have any, but I'd like to know just for future reference
     
  23. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
  24. AmazingHenry macrumors 65816

    AmazingHenry

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Central Michigan
    #24
    http://bfy.tw/B7j2 ;)
     
  25. CooperBox macrumors 6502a

    CooperBox

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    France - between Ricard & Absinthe
    #25
    Just for info, I have purchased several different types of 'KomputerBay' RAM memory sticks frm Amazon. Often one associates cheap with 'nasty', but I've never found this to be the case with that brand of memory. Quite the opposite, they've always performed to spec, and I've been very satisfied. Never used with a Mac Mini, but with G4 iMacs that brand generally require to be 'paired' in the user accessible and so-called 'factory accessible' (innermost) slots.
     

Share This Page