Mac OS X Lion *does* run on Core Duos/Core Solos.

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by iMacC2D, Mar 2, 2011.

  1. thecrevis, Mar 7, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2011

    thecrevis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #26
    can someone please tell me how to remove the PlatformSupport.plist file? The file is not in snow leopard in that directory!!! I have even shown hidden files in finder...I have installed the lion dmg file onto a usb drive....so what next? The file "PlatformSupport.plist" is not on my 2007 white macbook anywhere... sorry im a real noob
     
  2. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #27
    its on the installer file directory. you have to view with hidden files shown as you have or use the Terminal.
     
  3. thecrevis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #28

    Brilliant i found it and deleted the file. Thank you. However i am still getting the same error message that Lion won't install on my computer. Any ideas?
     
  4. Embio macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #29
    thecrevis - best option is to install it on a C2D and move the drive to your machine
     
  5. mcdermd macrumors regular

    mcdermd

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    #30
    If you install on C2D then move the drive, you still have to remove PlatformSupport.plist from the newly installed drive or else it will refuse to boot on the CD machine.

    Also, for the record, I booted from a prepped Lion USB stick (with /System/Library/CoreServices/PlatformSupport.plist removed) on my upgraded mini (originally a Core Solo) to do a clean install. I did not run the installer from Snow Leopard.
     
  6. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #31
    You can also find the board-id via

    Code:
    ioreg -lp IOService | grep board-id
    and then add it to PlatformSupport.plist with Apples Property List Editor:

    Code:
    sudo /Developer/Applications/Utilities/Property\ List\ Editor.app/Contents/MacOS/Property\ List\ Editor
    ;)
     
  7. AuroraProject macrumors 65816

    AuroraProject

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    Right there
    #32
    Good that means my 2.16 Core Duo MBP can last just a bit longer!
     
  8. Casey01 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #33
    How big is OSX Lion because I want to run it via Flash Drive or CD. But if I do will it do anything to my current Hard Drive? Will it delete files, or mess up anything?
     
  9. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #34
    so do you need a supported Mac to do this? to complete the install, as the installer while in OS X just extracts packages to disk and then boots into an image to complete the install, and then remove the plist? i cant get the booted installer to install when removing the plist either.

    i only have a Core Duo Mac. anyone done this on just an unsupported Mac?
     
  10. joeexp22 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    #35
    Get hold of a LION VMWare disk image > mount this image > then copy disk to USB stick etc ...
    Don't forget to edit/delete PlatformSupport.plist
     
  11. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #36
    tried that of course "i cant get the booted installer to install when removing the plist either". i removed the plist, booted into the installer and it says it cant be installed on this unsupported Mac :(
     
  12. joeexp22, Mar 13, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2011

    joeexp22 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    #37
    You won't be able to install it on a Core Duo nor run it in VMware! However you can boot Lion from an USB stick. The VMware disk images floating around have the system installed already. So all you need is to copy the VMWare Image to an USB stick (Disk Utility > Restore ) and deal with PlatformSupport.plist.
    And you won't have the "Four Finger Multitouch" on Older Macbook Pros which is kind of good to have in LION :-(
     
  13. Embio macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #38
    It does run on a Core Duo, thats what I'm currently using. However it won't run in VMware - the Core Duo does not support the generation of VTx that OS X on VMware requires. Get your facts right...
     
  14. easy4lif macrumors regular

    easy4lif

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Location:
    Southbay CA
    #39
    OMG, I gonna bookmark this. looks like my macbook 2006 CD won't be hand-me-down after all


    WOOP WOOP!
     
  15. ivnj macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    #40
    So does this somehow indicate lion might be dropping 32 bit support for retail also? Or is this just developer and final version might be 32 bit also and not just limited to 2 duo and 64 bits?
     
  16. jeanlain macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #41
    That Lion requires a Core 2 Duo is listed in the "known issues" section of the seed notes.
    If that's a known issue, it should be fixed before release. :rolleyes:
     
  17. ivnj macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    #42
    Yes but eventually 32 bit has to be outdated. Everyone has to move on to 64 bit.
     
  18. Embio macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #43
    Sure but why does that have to be with lion? ;)

    There's not much software that gets a big benefits from 64bit. In fact there is a school of thought that says 32bit can be faster under certain circumstances.

    OT: I need to try a clean install of Snow against lion to see if there is a spppeed increase.
     
  19. ivnj macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
  20. kioshi macrumors member

    kioshi

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Location:
    Brazil
    #45
    I think there's a tendency to move to 64-bit. For example, I saw a program, a simple photo uploader for facebook/etc with a very pretty interface, but not supported by 32-bit macs, I tried, no go, then I saw in the macupdate page it required 64-bit. I don't remember the name but it may be a tendency.
     
  21. Joshuarocks macrumors 6502

    Joshuarocks

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere in Cyberspace
    #46
    Nice find, but..

    What about a hack to get Rosetta to install?? Is there a way to copy the rosetta package from Snow Leopard and hack the installer to bring rosetta to Lion?
     
  22. WardC macrumors 68030

    WardC

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #47
    Please help -- Rosetta functionality is a must. Around here, we rely on AppleWorks for 95% of our stuff, most of our legal documents and client files are in AppleWorks, if we upgrade to Lion, AppleWorks will not even RUN!!! Hello, Apple?!?!?
     
  23. ivnj macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    #48
    Don't they have an intel version of apple works.
     
  24. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #49
    You're new hear aren't you? I'm sure a lot of people know how to hack around a Tiger install to get 10.4 working on their machines without a firewire drive.

    I'd actually be shocked if it doesn't run on 32 bit hardware. See, the original core duo macs, and the 2nd generation core 2 duo macs, have identical hardware, sans the CPU. To make a Core 2 Duo model from late 2006 work reliably with Lion means that the system is still 32 bit (the first C2D models have a 32bit FSB), and since there's no other hardware differences, the original Core Duo macs should run just fine.

    Once the 2nd gen intel macs aren't supported - the ATI x1600 graphics card for example - I wouldn't expect the older core duo models to work either, unless Apple never removes the old driver support.
     
  25. pjarvi macrumors 65816

    pjarvi

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Location:
    Round Lake, IL
    #50
    How about when Blu-ray support is added. That would be perfect timing. :p
     

Share This Page