Mac OS X Lion *does* run on Core Duos/Core Solos.

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by iMacC2D, Mar 2, 2011.

  1. gvollant macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    #126
    On my MacMini1,1 upgraded with Core 2 Duo, I made a Lion GM install using firewire target mode.

    When I boot with verbose option, I can read:
    boot file path: \System\Library\CoreServices\boot.efi
    ..
    ***********************************************************
    This version of Mac OS X is not supported on this platform!
    ***********************************************************
    Reason: Mac-F4208EC8

    Pehaps the solution is patching the boot.efi file (or replace by boot.efi from DP1, but I don't found place to get it)
     
  2. rom828 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    #127
    Have you tried this?

    Have you tried modifying the PlatformSupport.plist? adding the '<string>Mac-F4208EC8</string>' to the list?
     
  3. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #128
    That's one of the places that contains the list of supported logicboard IDs. Modifying this list is going to be difficult. There is currently no solution.

    That hack only works on the first developer preview.
     
  4. gvollant macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    #129
    using the boot.efi from DP1 will not solves ?
    if anyone can give a link to a copy of boot.efi from DP1, I'll be happy trying
     
  5. dgozalie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    #130
    macmini

    hallo,

    i got macmini core solo upgrade into core2duo... i cannot install the lion and i did edit and add "Mac-F4208EC8" into InstallableMachines.plist, PlatformSupport.plist and still cannot install it...

    can anybody help... i am dying to install it to my mac mini and yes, i already using 10.6.8

    after that, my mbp core duo waiting to be installed if possible at all....

    Donny
     
  6. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #131
    Using the boot.efi from DP1 doesn't work. It causes the system to not start until the proper boot.efi is installed.

    Read my last few posts.
     
  7. andreas.b macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    #132
    Have you tried replacing mach_kernel, AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext, AppleIntelCPUPowerManagementClient.kext and AppleIntelIntegratedFramebuffer.kext from DP1?

    This link suggests that works for DP4, maybe it would work with GM too.

    http://osxdaily.com/2011/06/11/run-lion-dp4-core-duo-mac/

    I would try it, but I don't have the DP1 files.
     
  8. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #133
    That may work, but it'd be unstable and probably stop working with the release of 10.7.1.
     
  9. gvollant macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    #134

    The only solution is patching boot.efi ?
     
  10. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #135
    There are a few other files to patch. I don't know of all of them, but hopefully a hack is created shortly after Lion is released.
     
  11. CountBrass macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #136
    That's simply not true. As an example getting 64-bit Windows Apple drivers installed on a Mac Pro 1.1 is simply a matter of running the installer from the command line.

    No hard lock out at all.

    When Apple still sold explicit 'upgrade' versions of OSX (today it's implicit that they are all upgrades) you could still install it as a full copy with what amounted to a text file edit.

    I've given several examples to prove you're hopelessly wrong- care to provide that proves you are right- i.e. a case where some software could have run on an earlier model of Mac except for Apple hard-coding in an exclusion?
     
  12. gvollant macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    #137
    You think that even after loading boot.efi, the kernel or somes kext again check the ID to reject MacMini1,1 ?
     
  13. gvollant macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    #138
    I really don't understand why Apple does hard coding mac exclusion. Why they don't just check the "EM64T" flag on the intel processor?
     
  14. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #139
    I'm sorry, but I don't understand your question.
     
  15. andreas.b macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    #140
    He is asking if you think there are more hardware ID checks than the one in boot.efi.

    Obviously there's the one in CoreServices/PlatformSupport too.

    But other than that?
     
  16. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #141
    Oh, yes I believe there are more. Probably in the mach_kernal.
     
  17. andreas.b macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    #142
    As far as I know they always release the full kernel sources though, so when they do that for Lion it would be easy to get around.

    I'm thinking that patching boot.efi would be a good start, unfortunately that's not something I'm capable of.
     
  18. gvollant macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    #143
    it seem somes user are able to run Lion GM in hackintosh or VMWare virtual machine. So there is probably a solution for real mac!
     
  19. SideStepSociety macrumors 6502

    SideStepSociety

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #144
    Getting it to run on a 64 bit Hackintosh or VM is a lot different than finding a way to run 64 bit system apps on a 32 bit Mac.
     
  20. 0dev macrumors 68040

    0dev

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #145
    Typical of Apple to kill off support for perfectly capable systems.
     
  21. elnegas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    #146
    This link only explains the same things I have explained on this forum (page 4)
     
  22. slb macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #147
    Heaven forbid Apple refuses to officially support Macs whose owners have cracked them open and replaced their processors.
     
  23. roobarb! macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #148
    I think 0dev may be making a reference to the perfectly capable Core Duo systems, rather than ones upgraded with Core 2 Duo processors. Lion DP1 with the newly rewritten Finder did work very well indeed on the 32-bit CPUs.

    It does seem an unusually arbitrary move, IMHO.
     
  24. andreas.b macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    #149
    Yeah it does. My point was that it was probably possible to get Lion GM running the same way.

    I see this as useful on systems 32-bit EFI and 64-bit CPU upgrade. This of course won't help on systems with a 32-bit CPU.

    I'm not sure if Lion is ever going to be viable for 32-bit CPU systems, because as you say, some apps doesn't have 32-bit binaries anymore.
     
  25. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #150
    I don't know what Steve Ballmer has been saying, but there are a few examples of this.

    Back in the day, when iTunes first came out, Apple quickly restricted it to OS 9. I didn't have OS 9, so when iTunes 3 (I think it was 3) came out, it wouldn't work. I found a hack online, changed the OS check, and it worked perfectly. The next version of iTunes had a deeper lock-out that I never was able to find how to get around, though I saw many articles (from reputable sources) that said there was no reason for this; iTunes didn't have anything in it that relied on something in OS 9 that wasn't present in OS 8.5+. I may be slightly off on the exact version numbers of iTunes, but that was so many years ago, I think I was about 15 or so.

    iMovie 8 doesn't run on PPC Macs, for no reason. The only part of iMovie that requires Intel is its ability to process AVCHD video. However, the rest of iMovie has no issues running on a PPC Mac. I know this, because I acquired a copy of iLife and went to install it, and iMovie installed but wouldn't run. Did some searching around, changed a few hex bits, and it worked like a dream. No speed issues, no nothing (though, because it was hacked, it would crash if you tried to process AVCHD video). There was no reason Apple locked iMovie out from PPC Macs, it would have been easy enough to disable that one feature on PPC Macs.

    When Leopard came out, it was restricted to 867+ MHz G4s as the base requirement. While I generally agreed with it for performance standards, it has no problems running on slower hardware once you get it past the install check. I have a friend at work who installed it on some 800 MHz (or around there) dual proc G4s and, according to him, it runs great.

    Apple does lock out older hardware arbitrarily sometimes. I don't think this is the case with Lion, though, as Apple is trying to move to a wholly 64-bit OS, and that's not possible with a 32-bit processor.
     

Share This Page