Mac OS X Lion *does* run on Core Duos/Core Solos.

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by iMacC2D, Mar 2, 2011.

  1. Embio macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #101
    that is strange - I tried the Firewire kexts... I'll give it another go :D

    As for Finder - perhaps we should just focus on finding an alternative?
     
  2. Core5i macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
  3. elnegas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    #103
    Next week I'll do a clean install to see if I forgot another step. I'm very busy this week so I can't try anything. If you succeed, please tell us :)
     
  4. Embio macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #104
    ok so I got it booting - slowly working my way through frameworks to get DP1 Finder to run - painstaking! I thought maybe the DP2/DP3 Finders had 32bit code... Will try this tomorrow. I suspect the SysLogd problem may be our biggest hinderance mind.

    Ultimately if the retail version is 64bit beyond the kernel this work may be moot - but I'd still like the options of a Snow Leopard/Lion DPx/Ubuntu Macbook :)
     
  5. Jethryn Freyman macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #105
    OK, so it looks like Apple have disallowed Core Duos because of a technical reason, and not just to force people to upgrade. Good.
     
  6. elnegas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    #106
    Hi,

    There are not significant performance differences between core duo and first core 2 duo macbooks. In fact they share the same chipset. I think it's a decision of apple to force developers to make x64 only apps.
     
  7. Jethryn Freyman macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #107
    Soon after I posted that I actually read something saying that the Finder is now 64-bit only, so that could be it.
     
  8. Exponent macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #108
    Any summary for upgrade-to-core2duo users?

    So if the Finder is indeed 64-bit only, I imagine that's not good for coreduo users.

    However, what does this mean for those of us who upgraded the CPU on the motherboard from a CoreDuo to a Core2Duo? We now have a 64-bit capable machine, from the CPU standpoint - does it matter what's in the ROMs?
     
  9. stroked Suspended

    stroked

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #109
    No you still have a 32 bit EFI
     
  10. slb macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #110
    64-bit also brings with it the modern Objective-C runtime.
     
  11. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #111
    You'll still be limited by the logicboard's model ID not appearing in the list(s) of supported boards.

    The 32-bit EFI is not an issue. The first Mac Pro has a 32-bit EFI and 64-bit Xeon CPUs that can run Lion without problems.
     
  12. mcdermd macrumors regular

    mcdermd

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    #112
    For the record, my Core 2 Duo updated Core Solo mini is still running the latest dev preview with nothing more than the PlatformSupport.plist modification.
     
  13. dchao macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #113
    32-bit EFI is not a problem. So far (in DP4) 32-bit kernel is still there.

    32-bit kernel will have to stay, since Apple have already announced the minimum requirements to run Lion. And there are some Mac's have made to the list with EFI-32 only, example is early 2007 Mac Pro with Xeon processor (64-bit) and EFI-32.

    EDIT: Sorry I did not see Intell's reply above.
     
  14. glossywhite macrumors 65816

    glossywhite

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #114
    Who in their sane mind would still be developing *32*bit apps? It's not 1998 any more.
     
  15. stroked Suspended

    stroked

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #115
    That's good. I must be behind on my reading. I read somewhere on this forum, that my first generation imac cor 2 duo couldn't run Lion, because of the 32 bit EFI.
     
  16. Beanoir macrumors 6502a

    Beanoir

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Location:
    51 degrees North
    #116
    Thats promising...
     
  17. gvollant macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    #117
    I've also a MacMini1,1. I had removed the Core Duo and replaced by Core 2 Duo (and snow leopard run well 64 bits apps)

    I'm surprised by your message.
    I transfered DP4 dmg to an USB hard disk, I tried both modify or remove /System/Library/CoreServices/PlatformSupport.plist without success : after boot on the disk, installer say computer is not compatible
     
  18. juuuice macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    #118
    Has anyone verified in the new GM build is indeed blocked for upgraded minis from coreduo to core2duo?
     
  19. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #119
    Ever since DP2 it was not possible to get Lion working on CD Minis with only the PlatformSupport.plist modification. It'll require something more along the lines of a modified boot.efi file to get it to work.
     
  20. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #120
    ...and you'll need a replacement for the Finder which is a purely 64-bit app now. (and was before.)
     
  21. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #121
    Not unless the CD Mini has a C2D CPU upgrade.
     
  22. skier777 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
  23. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #123
    No, it only worked on DP1.
     
  24. roobarb! macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #124
    So if you had, for example, a Core 2 Duo upgraded MacMini1,1 (which originally shipped with a Core Duo), what's the procedure for getting Lion running? Does the installation need to be done on a genuine Core 2 Duo machine and then moved, or can it be done in another way?
     
  25. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #125
    Currently, Lion will not boot on a MacMini1,1. Even with a C2D upgrade. It has to do with the Mini's logicboard ID not being in the list of supported boards. There are a few places this list exists. The harder/hardest of the places is currently the boot.eif file.
     

Share This Page