Mac Pro 2009 - 660Ti ?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by EirikStrand1996, May 3, 2017.

  1. EirikStrand1996 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    #1
    Can i put my 660ti in a mac pro 2009 with no complacations ? or do i need to run hackintosh if i want to switch that part?
     
  2. daneedwards9 macrumors newbie

    daneedwards9

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Location:
    Woodland Hills
    #2
    You can run that card. You have to go to the Nvidia website and download the proper drivers for the Nvidia GT-120 video card that comes with the computer and set it to run on "Nvidia Web Driver". It sounds harder than it is, but in order to do this process you have to start with your old Nvidia Gt-120 video card in the machine. Also look for the driver that will enable you to run Cuda Cores on your video card. That will give you a little performance enhancement also. Hope this helps.
     
  3. EirikStrand1996 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    #3
    --- Post Merged, May 3, 2017 ---
    so the problem is, am gonna buy the mac from an IT guy i know and he told me the Gpu is broken / not working or something like that, is that gonna be a problem
     
  4. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #4
    The 660Ti should work perfectly fine with Apple's stock drivers, so you won't have to do anything. Only requirement is a OS containing Kepler drivers (Mountain Lion or newer).
     
  5. ActionableMango macrumors G3

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #5
    You won't have boot screens. I don't know if you consider that a complication or not.
     

Share This Page