Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jagooch

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jul 17, 2009
Denver, co
How does the heat output compare between the Macbook Pro and the Macbook 12"? for hear, noise, typing, and performance? My 13" Macbook Pro is easy to do web development on and very portable, but it burns my lap after working for 30 minutes. I'm stuck working that way sometimes when the conference table in the meeting room s full and I have to worm from a chair off along with the wall.

I have a personal 15" Macbook Pro that works great but it's too bulky to carry around the airport when I travel on flights. I'm looking at laptops because I cannot do ruby on rails development on my iPad Air.

I'm open to older models and returns as long as the laptop gets the job done.

sunapple

macrumors 68030
Jul 16, 2013
The Netherlands
As for Pros the newer the better I guess, although I have no first hand experience with the 13" model.

I have used the 12" MacBook and as you may know these things have no fans. Push them to the limited and they will heat up and throttle which results in less performance. That said I can't recall it ever getting too hot on my lap.

I'd usually recommend the non-touch bar 13" over the 12" for overall performance and features. I'd think it's also better at keeping it cool because it has a fan, but you could also say that the 12" is quieter.

What year 13" MBP do you currently use?

csurfr

macrumors 68020
Dec 7, 2016
Seattle, WA
As for Pros the newer the better I guess, although I have no first hand experience with the 13" model.

I have used the 12" MacBook and as you may know these things have no fans. Push them to the limited and they will heat up and throttle which results in less performance. That said I can't recall it ever getting too hot on my lap.