MacBook Pro horizontal and vertical lines

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by car-a-col, Jul 19, 2017.

  1. car-a-col macrumors newbie

    car-a-col

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Location:
    Spain
    #1
    I recently bought a new MacBook Pro (Retina screen) from Apple. It is less than 2 months old. It is the old version without the touchbar.

    I have just returned to my hotel to find that the dock is flickering so badly that I can't use it at the bottom of the screen but have had to move it to the side where I can access it. Currently, where the dock should be is an intermittent flickering of the menu bar about 1 inch deep. (see the pic and vid)

    To compound the problem the right hand side of the screen is covered with vertical lines to the depth of about 1 inch in thereby obscuring all the icons on the right.

    I tried to take a screen shot and a Quicktime screen grab but it doesn't show up on those. So I videoed the screen with the phone and took a screen shot with the phone. Sorry about the quality.


    I have reset the PRAM as suggested in one online article. Nothing. A second article seems to imply it's the video card and that Apple know of this issue? One really doesn't expect this on a $2000+ computer.

    As I'm currently in India writing a travel blog this couldn't have come at a more inconvenient time. If anyone has a fix for this issue without resorting to an Apple Store it would be most appreciated as I have no proof of purchase with me.

    [​IMG]
    --- Post Merged, Jul 19, 2017 ---
    Sorry folks: I did search and found nothing but I seem to have reposted a similar query.
    The mac was fine until I returned today. It's not been dropped, twisted, sat on or anything else. It is quite comfy on a desk in a hotel room and has been for 3 days. Prior to that it was on a desk at home. This problem "came upon it" when waking from sleep this afternoon.
     
  2. psynnott macrumors 6502

    psynnott

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    #2
    Graphics card without a doubt. It'll need a new logic board. Get it to apple.
     
  3. car-a-col thread starter macrumors newbie

    car-a-col

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Location:
    Spain
    #3
    Thanks psynnott
    My problem is that I'm traveling in India at the moment. Do you have any knowledge of if the laptop will be recognised as new some 7000 miles from home?
    It's less than 2 months old and it's necessary to write the travel blog.
     
  4. psynnott macrumors 6502

    psynnott

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    #4
    Of course it will be recognised as a new machine if you take it to an Apple Store.
    I assume there is an Apple Store somewhere in India ?
    You could maybe phone them and ask if you can ship it to them if they aren't close to you ?
     
  5. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #5
    Warranty coverage is world-wide. Your system serial number will show the (approximate) purchase date.

    The article that you linked has really current info - from 2008.
    Apple laptops have had at least two repair programs since then involving some problems with either the graphics chips, or the screen - affecting some (not all) MBPros, particularly during 2010 to 2012 period fpr failing graphics chips, then the infamous "staingate" involving the deterioration of the screen coating. Neither are related to what you see.

    You have one or more of these:
    a bad video connection inside.
    failed LCD panel
    The vertical rainbow stripes along the right edge, with other issues showing horizontal distorted line, may even be evidence of a pressure crack in the LCD.
    Faulty graphics card.

    It's no fun to go out looking for a repair shop, particularly while traveling. You will need to find one that will provide warranty support from Apple, either an Authorized servicer provider, or an Apple-owned retail store.
    Hopefully, the video issue won't get worse while you are traveling, but there's no way to predict what will happen with that kind of issue. Good luck!
     
  6. car-a-col thread starter macrumors newbie

    car-a-col

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Location:
    Spain
    #6
    Thanks DeltaMac.
    I've googled. First results don't throw up a GENIUS shop anywhere. There are a few authorised dealers listed in Delhi. Let's hope they recognise it as a new, under warranty machine for which I have no documentation with me. :mad:
     
  7. project_2501 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2017
    #7
    I have a brand new MacBook Pro 13 2017 nonTB and am seeing occasional horizontal noise on screen like on an old CRT
     
  8. psynnott macrumors 6502

    psynnott

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    #8
    Apple Shops near New Delhi, Delhi, India
    New search


    • 1
      CROMA @ CONNAUGHT PLACE
      ODEAN CINE COMPLEX, D BLOCK, CONNAUGHT PLACE,

      NEW DELHI 110001
      • Mac
      • iPad
      • iPhone
      • Watch
      • iPod
      • Apple Shop
    • 2
      CROMA @ CROWN MALL
      CROWN MALL, MAIN MATHURA ROAD, NATIONAL HIGHWAY 2,

      FARIDABAD 121003
      • Mac
      • iPad
      • iPhone
      • Watch
      • Apple Shop
    • 3
      RELIANCE DIGITAL @ SHIPRA MALL, INDIRAPURAM
      1ST FLOOR, SHIPRA MALL, 9 VAIBHAV KHAND, INDIRAPURAM,

      GHAZIABAD 201012
    --- Post Merged, Jul 19, 2017 ---
    https://locate.apple.com/in/en/storetype/?s=2&a=delhi&f=lllll2l
     
  9. ZapNZs macrumors 68000

    ZapNZs

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    #9
    Is this a dGPU or iGPU-only model? If it is a dGPU model, you can try forcing the graphics to run integrated and then forcing the graphics to run discrete, and see if one of these settings temporarily stops the flickering until you have time to get it serviced. However, if the issue is the LCD panel itself, the display cable, or something else, obviously switching between GPUs will make no difference if the GPU isn't the cause of the core issue.

    If the dGPU is indeed the cause of the issue and going to the iGPU-only confirms this, you may want to avoid shutting the computer down or putting it to sleep as it might not start back up again (on dGPU models the system boots using the dGPU.) Certainly, considering your SSD uses a proprietary connector meaning you cannot easily pop it in an enclosure, you will want to have all data backed up if you do not already.

    I've seen those vertical lines on several occasions and in all instances I have seen where: A) they are immediately visible the moment the LCD turns on, 2) they are constant & do not disappear, it turned out the LCD panel itself had a crack in it.
     
  10. car-a-col thread starter macrumors newbie

    car-a-col

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Location:
    Spain
    #10
    Hi ZapNZs
    I'm fairly Mac savvy but I don't know what dGPU or iGPU is. Nor do I know or how to determine it. System Profile? As for the below, maybe you'd be kind enough to give me a quick lesson :)?

    --- Post Merged, Jul 20, 2017 ---
    You sir, are a prince. I googled and found only retailers. Many thanks.

     
  11. ZapNZs macrumors 68000

    ZapNZs

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    #11
    I'm far from an expert here so if I make a mistake hopefully someone will correct me!

    Some MacBook Pro 15-inch models have dual-graphics capability, in that they have both an iGPU and dGPU and can switch between GPUs to provide either more graphics power or more power efficiency.

    A dGPU is a discrete GPU that has its own standalone memory and it is generally the more powerful in terms of graphics processing capability, tends to generate a lot of heat (requiring more cooling), and tends to consume more battery.

    A iGPU is an integrated GPU generally located next to or on the CPU that shares memory with the CPU, and it is generally the more power efficient. For most usage, a modern iGPU is plenty capable to meet most needs. The MacBook and MacBook Pro 13 (and formally all base model 2015 15-inch + some 2.5IG/2.8IG models) had only iGPUs and no dGPU.

    To determine if your 2015 has a dual graphics model, go to 'about this mac' -->graphics/displays and see if the graphics show 'Iris Pro' only or if it also shows 'AMD Radeon R9 M390X'. If it shows both, it is a dual model. If it shows Iris Pro only, it is an IG model.

    With the way the MBP is designed, during the initial boot phase, dual graphics models must use the dGPU (and upon completing the boot, it switches to the iGPU unless you have configured a startup program to launch that activates the dGPU, or configured the dGPU to always run using OS X power settings menu). Consequently, if something happens to the dGPU, it may not be able to complete the entire startup cycle.

    Most MBP GPU issues occur with the dGPU. Using a program like gfxCardStatus, you can see which GPU is being used (it will display either 'i' or 'd') - for a long time, you could 'lock' the system to use one of the two GPUs, but this feature does not work very well with newer versions of OS X. If you have an iGPU-only, obviously there is no need for this program since you would not have a secondary graphics option to switch to!
     
  12. car-a-col thread starter macrumors newbie

    car-a-col

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Location:
    Spain
    #12
    --- Post Merged, Jul 20, 2017 ---
    ZapNZs
    Thanks for that explanation, clear and concise, to me any way.
    Having looked I see it is iGPU so no chance of trying out your workround.
    I have a friend here that is going to take me to an accredited Apple tec on Monday, let's hope they can fix this so that I can keep on blogging the travel.
    Many thanks again.
     
  13. car-a-col thread starter macrumors newbie

    car-a-col

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Location:
    Spain
    #13
    Continuing story.

    To all of you who helped out I write this.

    I took the MacBook to an authorised Apple Repair Centre here in Delhi. They claim that the screen is cracked, and in all honesty, when pointed out, I can see it is. (See the photos below.)

    They claim it is a pressure crack.

    I bought this Mac from Apple and had it shipped by Apple (all documents are in my possession). It arrived at my place where it was put on a desk until the day I left for India when it was placed in a good solid laptop case with reinforced sides.

    I carried the laptop onto the plane and stowed it under the seat thinking that it would be safer there than in the luggage bins above.

    I then carried the Mac to the hotel where I put it on a table. It hasn’t moved since (except yesterday). It has not been dropped, sat on, banged, thrown across the room. Some 5 days later the problem occurred.

    I would like to point out that the pressure crack is NOT in the glass, it is underneath in the screen. The glass remains undamaged as is the rest of the computer as you can see by the details in the photo.

    My contention is that the screen was probably never seated quite properly at manufacture (as happens with many mobile telephone screens) and that the slight movement this computer has had has caused this pressure crack.

    This computer is a laptop, it is designed to be portable. Indeed in spanish it is called UN PORTÁTIL.

    The service centre claim that I will have to pay for a new screen. A whopping 70,000/- INR (or £830, €928, $1091).

    To my way of thinking this is Apple trying to weasel out of its contractual obligations by blaming me and not repairing a faulty, substandard machine.

    One does not expect to minutely examine every square inch of a brand new machine on delivery. But I suggest that for those of you buying any Apple Mac product, you do so!

    I have a feeling that legal advice will need to be sought.[​IMG]
     
  14. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #14
    The better picture really brings it all in to "focus".
    That area near the hinge, and at either corner is a common point of damage on laptops.
    Remember that the clearance between the lid and your laptop is really very tight (the keycaps are very close to the screen, which causes issues from some users with transfer of skin oils from keys to screen. Doesn't take much for that to happen)
    Some object (which could be quite thin, like a comb, or even a coin) gets caught against the screen when you close the lid, quite near the hinge, which, in turn, puts a tremendous pressure at that point (think of a nutcracker!). The cover glass on the screen may or may not crack, but the internal layers may.
    When you next open the screen, the object (which could even be the power cord) is loosened, falls away, now unnoticed.
    Not enough to distort the metal housing or other parts, but simply too much pressure against the LCD panel.
    Good luck, but I expect that you won't like the outcome, as screens are actually quite fragile when the wrong object gets caught up in the hinge area. I worked in a service shop for several years, and saw that exact damage more often than you might think.
     
  15. project_2501 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2017
    #15
    I did a return as I was within 14 days if purchase and the new macbook pro has no screen glitches after 2weeks of regular use.
     
  16. jerryk macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #16
    I doubt the break occurred spontaneously.

    Perhaps when you had it under the airplane seat a foot was placed on the bag or tubulence bounced it. Or when in your hotel room a maid or other person knocked it off the table and put it back where it was.

    With the multiple layers of glass in a modern display it does not take much to break a layer. And the cracks grow over time. My daughter borrowed my car and a rock hit to the windshield. Left a minor chip 1/4 inch wide, barely noticeable. In 2 days it grew to a circle bigger than your fist. New windshield is $2100 installed.
     
  17. PBG4 Dude macrumors 68020

    PBG4 Dude

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #17
    You don't have comprehensive on your auto policy?
     
  18. jerryk macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #18
    Yes, the insurance will cover everything but the deductible ($400). But they sure let you know just what it costs and complain about HUD, vision system cameras, rain sensors, etc. that make the windshield more expensive.
     
  19. car-a-col thread starter macrumors newbie

    car-a-col

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Location:
    Spain
    #19
    To end the story of the MacBook Pro.

    I am away for one year - there was no insurer that would insure (in my country) the computer for a year without a return to my country at least once and in many cases every 3 months, or if there was, it was cheaper to buy a new Mac. The same goes for my cameras.

    The computer was fixed under warranty in New Delhi. Result!

    Thanks to all you who have offered help it was really appreciated.
     

Share This Page